We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How did this place get 4 stars!?!?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Save Saved
You added Grand Paradise Playa Dorada to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 41 hotels in Puerto Plata
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“How did this place get 4 stars!?!?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The beach was beautiful! The "resort" was out of date. They "upgraded" us (4 women) to an "apartment". Which was 2 rooms, with 2 beds (total), 1 bathroom, and a small kitchenette. 1 bathroom and 4 women! 2 of whom got sick from the food and occupied the 1 bathroom. There was little selection for food. We had 2 a la cartes, they were terrible. It smelled. The resorts along the beach are absolutely worth their ratings. The phone didn't work in the room. We had to keep going down to front desk. Staff randomly walked into our room. Housekeeping came twice in one day. They are very unorganized and nobody knows what another person has told you. The people on the beach selling stuff are extremely pushy. Our "apartment" was right in front of the nightly karaoke, music, dancing, etc. Overall: spend the extra money and go to a nicer resort. NOT WORTH 4 STARS!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,878 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    545
    570
    368
    206
    189
See reviews for
397
552
76
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We returned from Grand Paradise on March 5th after a wonderful week of sun, sand and surf and relaxation.

We knew when we booked that we would not be staying in the lap of luxury and that we should not expect all the fancy things that very high end, 5+ star resorts offer - NO ONE SHOULD at the price that this resort is offered at.

What we received was a nice and comfortable room (the bed was truly very comfortable- often resort beds are no better than a plank of wood with a little bit of stuffing over top and dated bed linens) with decent food (the buffet was quite good - better than the a la cartes), ample alcohol (not premium brands but certainly it does what alcohol is meant to do), warm water (the pool was just fine and the ocean was lovely) and sunshine (6 of 7 days were AMAZING, 1 day of rain).

Each of us has our own preferences but we were very pleased and feel that the resort and all of its offerings was exceptional value for our money and that the vacation was exactly what it was intended to be.

We'd go back, if asked, but we really do plan on doing a bit more exploring of other tropical destinations so it won't be our next trip.

Happy holidays to all.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view suite - room 1616.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have always read reviews and have always been skeptical, but this resort has definitely caused me to write a review, as honestly as possible.

There were some very unfortunate instances. For example, our room was supposed to be OCEANVIEW. However, the only view we received was of the trees that lay before the ocean. That wasn't as bad as the other things to follow. We had NO AIR CONDITIONING for two nights, it was irreparable, so we had to wait for the second night or move to another SUPERIOR OCEANVIEW room. We went to check out the room and it was smaller than the one that we had, we tried to rationalize with them that it didn't make sense for us to move to a smaller room, and their rationale was "ITS LABELLED AS OCEANVIEW". Nonetheless, we slept in that room that one night until our air conditioner was fixed.

When we were staying there we noticed BUGS, very tiny bugs that collected in the bathroom, particularly around the sink. I hadn't noticed them at first because once the light is on they scurry. One our third day we received a notice under the door for fumigation within the next couple of days. However, there was NO FUMIGATION because the bugs multiplied, and by our last day, I was finding 20-30 every morning and evening. They were out of rooms for the majority of the time, it was so extreme that people who had booked this resort had been moved to a two star because of the over capacity. Nonetheless we had to stay in our room.

Food was terrible, a la carte service was terrible. We had to ask for our soup during a la carte 3 times and we waited for our plates to be collected for maybe one hour after we were done. The Buffet always had the same food, SAME PASTA, SAME SAUCE, EVERYDAY! There was supposed to be a theme in the buffet but the food rarely changed, and the quality was not average, it was certainly below.

The Beach was good though, the pool was sometimes dirty, but tolerable. Some staff was very helpful and nice but others not so much. Certainly NOT a FOUR STAR. I would say it is a two. I am not usually picky but this has certainly left a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I found every single worker to be so helpful and friendly, you would even get "hola's" and smiles from even the gardeners and maids. The entertainment/bartenders were also constantly energetic and fun. The resort itself was well-maintained and clean. A particular worker that stood out was Many, who was a bartender/entertainment, and seemed very friendly, energetic, and willing to converse with the guests. Overall i had a FANTASTIC time, and owe it to the amazing services of this resort. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at this resort with my 2 teenage boys from Mar 1-8/13. Its a great resort, the entire staff is very friendly, and not in an overbearing way. From the moment we got there when our bellman Diomidee took our luggage to our room, showing us where everything was on the resort. And he was so helpfull every time we ran into him which was everyday. The food is good, and is what you should expect from a resort, much of the same foods every day, but they do try to do something different on the grill every day. Its not what we are used to here, but neither is their culture. The rooms were kept clean everyday, and our fridge was re-stocked as needed. The entertainment staff is like none other that I have seen. This group of guys are hilarious, and so friendly...and entertaining! Happy Man kept us laughing constantly, and Manny is one of the nicest guys I've ever met, always smiling and never too busy to stop to say hello. Hope to see them both again when we visit next year.
Had a great time! - Sonia

Room Tip: Being friendly with the staff, and handing out tips periodically will always go a long way for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaranth ,Ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our 14th time at this resort since 1997. Over the years it has improved w/each visit , we have made many friends over the years other repeat guest that keep coming back,you will never go hungry w/so many food choices, Our room was over looking the pool, which was great to watch either after noon entertainment or the nightly entertaiment from. Service in the buffett restraunt was excellent , Edens is a very good restraunt to eat at( need reservations for this one)
the beach is very clean. Our mornings on the beach started w/a greeting from Chispa always had a smile on his face, every meeting w/Chispa were from the heart what a great friend he became . Osvaldo (Obie) and Jose & their team at pool bar or the beach bar service was great , and they really made it special as we became part of the family. Ruth a greeter at the buffett made our visits each just like coming home to a family dinner. Janet at reservations was fantastic she helped us w/all our questions . Even upon check in this year was a good experience as it was a late night check in. All the bell hops out front service was great,not just getting to your room but always a smile and conversation each meeting. Vendores on the beach were very curtious we could have conversations w/out buying something they also have become a friend. We travelled w/my sister and brother inlaw who came down last year for the first time ,they enjoyed it so much they came back again this year. Our room was cleaned every day our maid was excellent. over the years we have learned do not over indulge on the food,drink lots of water and we have never been sick. My husband who is a diebetic even has derserts and they do not effect his blood sugars. It is a fantastic beach to walk all round the compound. Looking forward to next years visit. and here his another shout out to Chispa see ya next year. We travelled Feb 28-Mar 14/2013

Room Tip: if you want quiet get a room over looking tenis courts,if you like the entertainment a room over loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I am so please of choosing this resort couldn't ask for a better one, everything was as expected... Thanks to the manager Roberto Ramos for running this place in such an oder looking foward to go back again.....Juan Hernandez

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Address: Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;