We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time to the Carribean.......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Save Saved
You added Grand Paradise Playa Dorada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 hotels in Puerto Plata
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“1st time to the Carribean.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was my 1st trip to the Caribbean and I had a great time.
The staff at the Grand Paradise were extremely helpful and it felt like being in the company of friends, especially the entertainment staff. They were there morning noon and night and were always full of energy.
I feel bad about giving this hotel a 4, it does deserve so much more, but the food really let it down, the Italian restaurant was poor, defiantly quantity over quality, The main buffet restaurant was average food. By our 2nd week we got very bored of eating the pretty much the same thing day in day out. They tried with the theme evenings but somehow it didn't work. I think what let it down for me was that there was no Caribbean food, and surely when going to foreign climbs you want to try the local food or is that just me?
Also my boyfriend went a few years back and he noticed a big difference with the food (back then he was eating lobsters on the beach), someone told us that it was because they just weren't getting enough visitors so they had to make cut backs.. shame it was on the food!!
Anyway it has an amazing beach, and the rooms are pure luxury ours over looked the sea and it was a little slice of paradise...
We did 6 trips and they were excellent value for money ( we used Morgan on the shopping mall, such a lovely guy and truly went out of his way for us, he took us out to see the true Dominican.. it is a beautiful island)
The evening entrainment was a laugh and as a young couple we really enjoyed it!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,876 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    541
    572
    370
    206
    187
See reviews for
395
549
76
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Resort was clean, good location, weather was okay had 2 days where it rained, the excursions were good got to see things that I never thought i would see n changed the way I saw things... The staff was fun n friendly tried to include the ppl visiting... Specially donkey he always went out of his way to make us have fun... He treated us like family... Meet couple fun ppl... Aka team alcoholics, we would defiantly go back only cuz of donkey.

Team alcoholics Dominican 13 t.d

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Travdacosta413,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We are thankful for your sharing your comments regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that you have had a delightful stay and that you have enjoyed with our friendly staff. We will congratulate Donkey for his marvelous work.

We look forward your next vacations at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada.

Best regards from all of us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The food was terrible. Majority of the people in our group got sick and couldn't enjoy our holiday. Other than that the activities were fine, the hotel amenities were fine and the staff were nice. Happy Man and Many were great at getting the guests involved in activities. The cleaning staff could have been a bit more consistent, there were some days we didn't receive any bottled waters, some days we received replacement pops and only one bottle of water and some days we received two bottles of water. If the first day I arrive and see two bottles of pop and two bottles of water, this should be consistently replaced every day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Grand Paradise from January 17th to the 24th. Although there was a problem with our room the first night, our hotel rep and front desk were very helpful the next day. Our room was comfortable and clean. The meals were good at both the a la carte restaurants and the Buffett. A special thank you to Osvaldo and Eduardo at the Buffett restaurant, and to Franklin and his crew at the Grill. The bartenders were great and attentive. A special thank you to Roberto and Jose David and Julien for keeping the drinks fliwing. The activity staff were always happy and mingling with all the guests. Thanks to Happy Boy, Happy Man, Many and Donkey.
We had a great time and look forward to many more visits to Grand Paradise in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very friendly and playful staff willing to have a good time with the guests. Guzman & Jose were the bartenders of the week. Donkey was very good at getting people moving out of their lazy beach chairs.

The only "difficult" part was booking excursions. This was always a long painful process that could be improved. This feature is not looked after by the resort but the travel companies that work with them.

Overall very good resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

me and my partner and 2 kids aged 15 and 7 came to this hotel there is nothing to do for the kids apart from naggin me that they are bored stiff and hungry cause the food was utter vile they had most of their food in pizza hut in the mall round the corner which of course cost more money for us the best part of holiday was meeting a nice english man called phil in the english bar top man

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

we were in puerto plata week of january 19th to 26th 2013. the weather was superb.... and near the beach -which is always windy- we could support very well the hot days (34 c).

we have to let the world know that we were all 4 of us very happy. 1) food was ok -buffet and drinks too. we have to highlight the very good work of yohni ferreras (the happy happy guy) working in the buffet area. always smiling and so friendly. we also want to let you know that BON BON (girl working at the towel center) was so very nice each time we would see her.

room service was to our satisfaction and our room was sometimes even cleaner than others we have seen in other traveled country. hotel is somewhat old but it has a 'cachet'....if it is still standing there must be a good reason....bref, we has a terrific time...oh I was almost forgetting to let people know that the Dominicans we have met, are all very honest people. Again, we want to say thank you for the souvenirs we will cherish for a very long time....
Lisette Elaine Pierre Andre et Rene
room 4105

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Address: Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.