We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Activities and Amenities, but avoid the food!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Paradise Playa Dorada to your Saves list
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Activities and Amenities, but avoid the food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The food was terrible. Majority of the people in our group got sick and couldn't enjoy our holiday. Other than that the activities were fine, the hotel amenities were fine and the staff were nice. Happy Man and Many were great at getting the guests involved in activities. The cleaning staff could have been a bit more consistent, there were some days we didn't receive any bottled waters, some days we received replacement pops and only one bottle of water and some days we received two bottles of water. If the first day I arrive and see two bottles of pop and two bottles of water, this should be consistently replaced every day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    599
    379
    210
    196
See reviews for
414
576
80
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Grand Paradise from January 17th to the 24th. Although there was a problem with our room the first night, our hotel rep and front desk were very helpful the next day. Our room was comfortable and clean. The meals were good at both the a la carte restaurants and the Buffett. A special thank you to Osvaldo and Eduardo at the Buffett restaurant, and to Franklin and his crew at the Grill. The bartenders were great and attentive. A special thank you to Roberto and Jose David and Julien for keeping the drinks fliwing. The activity staff were always happy and mingling with all the guests. Thanks to Happy Boy, Happy Man, Many and Donkey.
We had a great time and look forward to many more visits to Grand Paradise in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very friendly and playful staff willing to have a good time with the guests. Guzman & Jose were the bartenders of the week. Donkey was very good at getting people moving out of their lazy beach chairs.

The only "difficult" part was booking excursions. This was always a long painful process that could be improved. This feature is not looked after by the resort but the travel companies that work with them.

Overall very good resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

me and my partner and 2 kids aged 15 and 7 came to this hotel there is nothing to do for the kids apart from naggin me that they are bored stiff and hungry cause the food was utter vile they had most of their food in pizza hut in the mall round the corner which of course cost more money for us the best part of holiday was meeting a nice english man called phil in the english bar top man

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

we were in puerto plata week of january 19th to 26th 2013. the weather was superb.... and near the beach -which is always windy- we could support very well the hot days (34 c).

we have to let the world know that we were all 4 of us very happy. 1) food was ok -buffet and drinks too. we have to highlight the very good work of yohni ferreras (the happy happy guy) working in the buffet area. always smiling and so friendly. we also want to let you know that BON BON (girl working at the towel center) was so very nice each time we would see her.

room service was to our satisfaction and our room was sometimes even cleaner than others we have seen in other traveled country. hotel is somewhat old but it has a 'cachet'....if it is still standing there must be a good reason....bref, we has a terrific time...oh I was almost forgetting to let people know that the Dominicans we have met, are all very honest people. Again, we want to say thank you for the souvenirs we will cherish for a very long time....
Lisette Elaine Pierre Andre et Rene
room 4105

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I visited Grand Paradise the week of Jan 17-24th and had a great time. It had been 17 years since my last vacation there and realized how much I missed this country and its wonderful people. The hotel is a little run down but many improvements have been made over the years. There are not many places you can sit and gaze at the ocean for all your meals. The rooms were comfortable and very clean, drinks were just right and bar service was great. Honorable mention to Roberto, Jose David, Stephanie and Julian (he should be hired permanently). We loved the beach bar!!! The waiter staff in the restaurants were very attentive and accomodating. Special thanks to Osvaldo, and Franklin and the crew at the Grill restaurant. No complaints about the food. there was plenty to choose from and some very good al la carte meals too.
The beach was lovely but as others have said before, way too many beach vendors but a simple "no thank-you" would send them on their way.
The activities staff were alot of fun. They mingled with all the hotel guests, not just the ones in bikinis...lol. I enjoyed the daily water aerobics and poolside games. Loved the crazy anitcs of Many, Donkey, Happy-man, and Happy-boy. They could always make me laugh.
This definitely isn't a stuffy 5 star resort or a VIP vacation club, but if you are looking for a party you can certainly have one there. We definitiely will be back with family and friends. A great vacation spot for the price !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and i were at the resort last jan/feb for 2 weeks. we can not say enough about the entertainment staff they were fantastic. the beach was great swimming fantastic. our hotel room was ok. we require ground floor as my wife has ms and the stairs are very difficult for her. when we arrived we were taken care of very quickly and had a ground floor gardenview room we were across from the disco so it was a little loud at nite but oh well we were on holidays and wiped out by the time we went ot bed. the time sharing people were a bit of a pain but they left us alone after we went to the seminar and told them we were not interested at all. the beach vendors were all over but did leave you alone with a firm no.we are going back to the resort for 2 weeks again this feb 1 cant wait to see everyone again this year we upgraded to a gardenview suite and hopefully we are on the first floor again.

David and Lisa Whittaker

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Address: Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.