We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time with staff that make you feel like Family!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Save Saved
You added Grand Paradise Playa Dorada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great time with staff that make you feel like Family!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Grand Paradise from January 17th to the 24th. Although there was a problem with our room the first night, our hotel rep and front desk were very helpful the next day. Our room was comfortable and clean. The meals were good at both the a la carte restaurants and the Buffett. A special thank you to Osvaldo and Eduardo at the Buffett restaurant, and to Franklin and his crew at the Grill. The bartenders were great and attentive. A special thank you to Roberto and Jose David and Julien for keeping the drinks fliwing. The activity staff were always happy and mingling with all the guests. Thanks to Happy Boy, Happy Man, Many and Donkey.
We had a great time and look forward to many more visits to Grand Paradise in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    580
    370
    207
    191
See reviews for
405
560
77
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very friendly and playful staff willing to have a good time with the guests. Guzman & Jose were the bartenders of the week. Donkey was very good at getting people moving out of their lazy beach chairs.

The only "difficult" part was booking excursions. This was always a long painful process that could be improved. This feature is not looked after by the resort but the travel companies that work with them.

Overall very good resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

me and my partner and 2 kids aged 15 and 7 came to this hotel there is nothing to do for the kids apart from naggin me that they are bored stiff and hungry cause the food was utter vile they had most of their food in pizza hut in the mall round the corner which of course cost more money for us the best part of holiday was meeting a nice english man called phil in the english bar top man

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

we were in puerto plata week of january 19th to 26th 2013. the weather was superb.... and near the beach -which is always windy- we could support very well the hot days (34 c).

we have to let the world know that we were all 4 of us very happy. 1) food was ok -buffet and drinks too. we have to highlight the very good work of yohni ferreras (the happy happy guy) working in the buffet area. always smiling and so friendly. we also want to let you know that BON BON (girl working at the towel center) was so very nice each time we would see her.

room service was to our satisfaction and our room was sometimes even cleaner than others we have seen in other traveled country. hotel is somewhat old but it has a 'cachet'....if it is still standing there must be a good reason....bref, we has a terrific time...oh I was almost forgetting to let people know that the Dominicans we have met, are all very honest people. Again, we want to say thank you for the souvenirs we will cherish for a very long time....
Lisette Elaine Pierre Andre et Rene
room 4105

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

this was booked from jaunt.ca, for a bit under $800 per person, double occupancy...this price dropped last minute to under $700 a person all in, but oh well.

this is a great all inclusive for a great value -- this is not a 5* hotel. but it is clean enough, you will food find to eat, there is always beer to drink, and the beach is right there in front of you.

check in - quick drive from the airport. quick check in but i made sure to be front of the line. they are not super friendly and welcoming, they just check you in and get the job done. rented a safe for $20USD.

rooms - bed is comfy, room is just the basics, a/c worked very very well. balcony door locked, quiet room. showers no problem, lots of hot water every day. toilets were great too. was worried with all the room complaints -- but we had no major issues at all. tv did not turn on one day, but went to front desk, they fixed this immediately and left a remote control (no remote control unless you ask). only minor complaints -- dusty closet shutters and lights, alarm clock was not working, one of the lamps was not working, very lumpy pillows (they should get new ones). but you'll be fine. one room key per room. you will get a big bottle of water and pop in your fridge, no beer.

pool - coooooold. clean but cold. not sure if they can control the heating...but it was too cold! spent most of the time at the beach instead.

entertainment - they work hard but they are amateur. do not expect anything super entertaining. you get 1 hour of free internet a week.

buffet - the staff work very hard and are very busy, there is something for everyone on the menu. not amazing food, but not super terrible like other reviews say. i am not an adventurous eater, so there was always carrots, broccoli, rice, pasta, that i could eat. the fresher breads are good. the men who cleaned up the plates & filled the water were very friendly as well and smiling. i was the most worried about all the food complaints on tripadvisor, but i had no issues.

snack playa - service here is great. prompt, always welcoming you and offering you drinks quickly. luis was always there and efficient to everyone and anyone.

a la cartes - they are nothing special, i preferred the buffet. big portions at edens. i did not like michelangelo (italian) at all. policy is men need to wear pants. they sent my bf back because he was wearing cargo shorts with a rolled up button up shirt. he went back to change into jeans...which was much less formal looking. service did not feel too welcoming or anything special. but the cake was good.

bars - thank you hugo & sandy, bartenders are always friendly

beach - yes, the sellers are there, give a firm no gracias and they will leave you alone. beach is RIGHT THERE, you pretty much eat on the beach for lunch. walk along the whole thing, it's much nicer/not rocky in the part outside of gran ventana & another resort to the right. to the left gets a bit murkier/dirtier but so does the far right of the beach too. this is not a white sand beach with turquoise waters.

monkey jungle & ziplining excursion - highly recommend this! booked tours through james at the playa dorada complex (search tripadvisor). was a bit sketched out at how dead this plaza was when we went on a cloudy day, but do not worry, it's safe and friendly. TOURS BY JAMES was very reliable for both tours booked and I HIGHLY recommend using him -- might be like 15min past pick up time but they are on dominican time :) MUCH cheaper than what the hotel offered the same excursions for.

set your expectations for a 4* and you will be happy. if you are a person who really needs a high level of customer service (wait staff carrying your plates to your table, prompt service, constant friendly greetings by all staff, beach drink service, pool drink service, 24 hour food, top shelf alcohol,lots of a la cartes and great food, room service, unlimited fluffy towels), then I would recommend going to a higher star resort.

if you want friendly service, beer, sun, beach, clean no frills room, this place is great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I visited Grand Paradise the week of Jan 17-24th and had a great time. It had been 17 years since my last vacation there and realized how much I missed this country and its wonderful people. The hotel is a little run down but many improvements have been made over the years. There are not many places you can sit and gaze at the ocean for all your meals. The rooms were comfortable and very clean, drinks were just right and bar service was great. Honorable mention to Roberto, Jose David, Stephanie and Julian (he should be hired permanently). We loved the beach bar!!! The waiter staff in the restaurants were very attentive and accomodating. Special thanks to Osvaldo, and Franklin and the crew at the Grill restaurant. No complaints about the food. there was plenty to choose from and some very good al la carte meals too.
The beach was lovely but as others have said before, way too many beach vendors but a simple "no thank-you" would send them on their way.
The activities staff were alot of fun. They mingled with all the hotel guests, not just the ones in bikinis...lol. I enjoyed the daily water aerobics and poolside games. Loved the crazy anitcs of Many, Donkey, Happy-man, and Happy-boy. They could always make me laugh.
This definitely isn't a stuffy 5 star resort or a VIP vacation club, but if you are looking for a party you can certainly have one there. We definitiely will be back with family and friends. A great vacation spot for the price !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and i were at the resort last jan/feb for 2 weeks. we can not say enough about the entertainment staff they were fantastic. the beach was great swimming fantastic. our hotel room was ok. we require ground floor as my wife has ms and the stairs are very difficult for her. when we arrived we were taken care of very quickly and had a ground floor gardenview room we were across from the disco so it was a little loud at nite but oh well we were on holidays and wiped out by the time we went ot bed. the time sharing people were a bit of a pain but they left us alone after we went to the seminar and told them we were not interested at all. the beach vendors were all over but did leave you alone with a firm no.we are going back to the resort for 2 weeks again this feb 1 cant wait to see everyone again this year we upgraded to a gardenview suite and hopefully we are on the first floor again.

David and Lisa Whittaker

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Address: Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.