We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Trip to Dominican” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Paradise Playa Dorada to your Saves list
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Group Trip to Dominican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very friendly and playful staff willing to have a good time with the guests. Guzman & Jose were the bartenders of the week. Donkey was very good at getting people moving out of their lazy beach chairs.

The only "difficult" part was booking excursions. This was always a long painful process that could be improved. This feature is not looked after by the resort but the travel companies that work with them.

Overall very good resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    706
    440
    230
    211
See reviews for
481
674
93
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

me and my partner and 2 kids aged 15 and 7 came to this hotel there is nothing to do for the kids apart from naggin me that they are bored stiff and hungry cause the food was utter vile they had most of their food in pizza hut in the mall round the corner which of course cost more money for us the best part of holiday was meeting a nice english man called phil in the english bar top man

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

we were in puerto plata week of january 19th to 26th 2013. the weather was superb.... and near the beach -which is always windy- we could support very well the hot days (34 c).

we have to let the world know that we were all 4 of us very happy. 1) food was ok -buffet and drinks too. we have to highlight the very good work of yohni ferreras (the happy happy guy) working in the buffet area. always smiling and so friendly. we also want to let you know that BON BON (girl working at the towel center) was so very nice each time we would see her.

room service was to our satisfaction and our room was sometimes even cleaner than others we have seen in other traveled country. hotel is somewhat old but it has a 'cachet'....if it is still standing there must be a good reason....bref, we has a terrific time...oh I was almost forgetting to let people know that the Dominicans we have met, are all very honest people. Again, we want to say thank you for the souvenirs we will cherish for a very long time....
Lisette Elaine Pierre Andre et Rene
room 4105

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I visited Grand Paradise the week of Jan 17-24th and had a great time. It had been 17 years since my last vacation there and realized how much I missed this country and its wonderful people. The hotel is a little run down but many improvements have been made over the years. There are not many places you can sit and gaze at the ocean for all your meals. The rooms were comfortable and very clean, drinks were just right and bar service was great. Honorable mention to Roberto, Jose David, Stephanie and Julian (he should be hired permanently). We loved the beach bar!!! The waiter staff in the restaurants were very attentive and accomodating. Special thanks to Osvaldo, and Franklin and the crew at the Grill restaurant. No complaints about the food. there was plenty to choose from and some very good al la carte meals too.
The beach was lovely but as others have said before, way too many beach vendors but a simple "no thank-you" would send them on their way.
The activities staff were alot of fun. They mingled with all the hotel guests, not just the ones in bikinis...lol. I enjoyed the daily water aerobics and poolside games. Loved the crazy anitcs of Many, Donkey, Happy-man, and Happy-boy. They could always make me laugh.
This definitely isn't a stuffy 5 star resort or a VIP vacation club, but if you are looking for a party you can certainly have one there. We definitiely will be back with family and friends. A great vacation spot for the price !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and i were at the resort last jan/feb for 2 weeks. we can not say enough about the entertainment staff they were fantastic. the beach was great swimming fantastic. our hotel room was ok. we require ground floor as my wife has ms and the stairs are very difficult for her. when we arrived we were taken care of very quickly and had a ground floor gardenview room we were across from the disco so it was a little loud at nite but oh well we were on holidays and wiped out by the time we went ot bed. the time sharing people were a bit of a pain but they left us alone after we went to the seminar and told them we were not interested at all. the beach vendors were all over but did leave you alone with a firm no.we are going back to the resort for 2 weeks again this feb 1 cant wait to see everyone again this year we upgraded to a gardenview suite and hopefully we are on the first floor again.

David and Lisa Whittaker

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our first and last trip to DR, at least Puerto Plata. Have been to many third world countries and was not expecting the Ritz Carlton. The resort definitely was older and in need of a good exterior paint job, but room and pool was acceptable. Some updates to the room fixtures and furniture would have made a huge improvement. Our mattress was hard, and could have been replaced.

The staff at the bars, restaurants and pools were very friendly and helpful. The housekeeping staff very pleasant and did good job. The front desk staff didn't care how long you waited for service, nor did the "customer service" desk.

The beach was pretty, but sand sharks selling their wares or services were thick. They, at least, understood "no thank you" and went on their way.

I believe what made this trip bad was: 1) the timeshare sharks on the property hounded us repeatedly! We had VIP bracelets since we traded through RCI. It certainly appeared that we were their targets. Since we evidently had purchased before, they believed we were sucker enough to do it again. They would not take a "no thank you". We had to get rude and just walk by them or dodge them by going out of our way and refusing to recognize them. Holiday Lifestyles should be removed from the hotel and not allowed to hound customers; 2) Food and drink was horrible. Beef so tough you could not chew it; chicken either over cooked and leathery or undercooked; fish was mushy. Seafood consisted of squid, calamari and octopus. No shrimp, no lobster, not even available at the premium restaurants on the property. Had to go off resort to get this. Buffet food was put out an hour or more before restaurant opened and not properly kept at safe temperatures for consumption, hot or cold food. The wine was unfit for human consumption, both white and red smelled like vinegar and tasted worse. You could purchase a bottle of cheap wine for a ridiculous high price or a good bottle for a small fortune. All other drinks watered down. The Italian restaurant smelled like the toilet. If you sat there long enough, you got used to it and didn't notice it as much. My husband was asked to leave the second time we went to it to put long pants on. Yet the week before when he wore long pants, men were wearing shorts. The women could wear anything and did. 3) reported to front desk at least 6 times that our room phone did not work, but gave up on that. Fourteen days and no phone to call anywhere even to have our bags picked up upon leaving, but bellmen still held hand out for tip to put our bags into taxi.

There is no on-site diving as resort lists. You take a bus to another town which is at least 30 minutes drive.

Room Tip: Do not get a room by the pool. Music at night very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Moved ourselves to this hotel after eight days in another hotel where we were bitten to death and could not suffer any more this hotel is not in the first choice book and our ref did not recommend it but we went anyway best thing we ever did, The beds were so good and comfy and we never had any more bites and nobody at the hotel had any bites either, they were shocked at the amount of bites we had,We paid the hotel for the last six days of our holiday,and it was well worth it should have gone here in the first place.l would just like to say l have been to the dominican for the last ten years in December and never had any bites, but then again l have never stayed in San Juan and will never go there again, very pleased we moved ourselves at our cost as the rep where we was would not do anything for us.Be warned read trip adviser first before you book it is very helpful

Room Tip: Always worth asking for what you want ie Ground Floor if stairs are a problem as you can be on the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Susan Leahy S,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, It is truly a pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed your vacations at our resort. We are thankful for your kind comments regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that we were able to provide you with a great stay and that you choose us for your vacations.

We are thankful for writing your experience. We look forward your next visit in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Address: Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.