We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Most fun I've had in a long time"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Save Saved
You added Grand Paradise Playa Dorada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"Most fun I've had in a long time"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I visited Grand Paradise the week of Jan 17-24th and had a great time. It had been 17 years since my last vacation there and realized how much I missed this country and its wonderful people. The hotel is a little run down but many improvements have been made over the years. There are not many places you can sit and gaze at the ocean for all your meals. The rooms were comfortable and very clean, drinks were just right and bar service was great. Honorable mention to Roberto, Jose David, Stephanie and Julian (he should be hired permanently). We loved the beach bar!!! The waiter staff in the restaurants were very attentive and accomodating. Special thanks to Osvaldo, and Franklin and the crew at the Grill restaurant. No complaints about the food. there was plenty to choose from and some very good al la carte meals too.
The beach was lovely but as others have said before, way too many beach vendors but a simple "no thank-you" would send them on their way.
The activities staff were alot of fun. They mingled with all the hotel guests, not just the ones in bikinis...lol. I enjoyed the daily water aerobics and poolside games. Loved the crazy anitcs of Many, Donkey, Happy-man, and Happy-boy. They could always make me laugh.
This definitely isn't a stuffy 5 star resort or a VIP vacation club, but if you are looking for a party you can certainly have one there. We definitiely will be back with family and friends. A great vacation spot for the price !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    579
    370
    207
    190
See reviews for
403
559
77
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and i were at the resort last jan/feb for 2 weeks. we can not say enough about the entertainment staff they were fantastic. the beach was great swimming fantastic. our hotel room was ok. we require ground floor as my wife has ms and the stairs are very difficult for her. when we arrived we were taken care of very quickly and had a ground floor gardenview room we were across from the disco so it was a little loud at nite but oh well we were on holidays and wiped out by the time we went ot bed. the time sharing people were a bit of a pain but they left us alone after we went to the seminar and told them we were not interested at all. the beach vendors were all over but did leave you alone with a firm no.we are going back to the resort for 2 weeks again this feb 1 cant wait to see everyone again this year we upgraded to a gardenview suite and hopefully we are on the first floor again.

David and Lisa Whittaker

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our first and last trip to DR, at least Puerto Plata. Have been to many third world countries and was not expecting the Ritz Carlton. The resort definitely was older and in need of a good exterior paint job, but room and pool was acceptable. Some updates to the room fixtures and furniture would have made a huge improvement. Our mattress was hard, and could have been replaced.

The staff at the bars, restaurants and pools were very friendly and helpful. The housekeeping staff very pleasant and did good job. The front desk staff didn't care how long you waited for service, nor did the "customer service" desk.

The beach was pretty, but sand sharks selling their wares or services were thick. They, at least, understood "no thank you" and went on their way.

I believe what made this trip bad was: 1) the timeshare sharks on the property hounded us repeatedly! We had VIP bracelets since we traded through RCI. It certainly appeared that we were their targets. Since we evidently had purchased before, they believed we were sucker enough to do it again. They would not take a "no thank you". We had to get rude and just walk by them or dodge them by going out of our way and refusing to recognize them. Holiday Lifestyles should be removed from the hotel and not allowed to hound customers; 2) Food and drink was horrible. Beef so tough you could not chew it; chicken either over cooked and leathery or undercooked; fish was mushy. Seafood consisted of squid, calamari and octopus. No shrimp, no lobster, not even available at the premium restaurants on the property. Had to go off resort to get this. Buffet food was put out an hour or more before restaurant opened and not properly kept at safe temperatures for consumption, hot or cold food. The wine was unfit for human consumption, both white and red smelled like vinegar and tasted worse. You could purchase a bottle of cheap wine for a ridiculous high price or a good bottle for a small fortune. All other drinks watered down. The Italian restaurant smelled like the toilet. If you sat there long enough, you got used to it and didn't notice it as much. My husband was asked to leave the second time we went to it to put long pants on. Yet the week before when he wore long pants, men were wearing shorts. The women could wear anything and did. 3) reported to front desk at least 6 times that our room phone did not work, but gave up on that. Fourteen days and no phone to call anywhere even to have our bags picked up upon leaving, but bellmen still held hand out for tip to put our bags into taxi.

There is no on-site diving as resort lists. You take a bus to another town which is at least 30 minutes drive.

Room Tip: Do not get a room by the pool. Music at night very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Moved ourselves to this hotel after eight days in another hotel where we were bitten to death and could not suffer any more this hotel is not in the first choice book and our ref did not recommend it but we went anyway best thing we ever did, The beds were so good and comfy and we never had any more bites and nobody at the hotel had any bites either, they were shocked at the amount of bites we had,We paid the hotel for the last six days of our holiday,and it was well worth it should have gone here in the first place.l would just like to say l have been to the dominican for the last ten years in December and never had any bites, but then again l have never stayed in San Juan and will never go there again, very pleased we moved ourselves at our cost as the rep where we was would not do anything for us.Be warned read trip adviser first before you book it is very helpful

Room Tip: Always worth asking for what you want ie Ground Floor if stairs are a problem as you can be on the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Susan Leahy S,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, It is truly a pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed your vacations at our resort. We are thankful for your kind comments regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that we were able to provide you with a great stay and that you choose us for your vacations.

We are thankful for writing your experience. We look forward your next visit in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, Peurto Plata, the week of January 12 - 19 2013. We have vacationed in the DR before so we knew what to expect and we got exactly that, a very affordable vacation at a nice resort. The resort is very old so there is always something that needs to be tended to, but it's not in bad shape over all.

The rooms were small but neat and cleaned well every day. We heard that some people had problems with no hot water, but we always had plenty of hot water. You only got 1 key card per room, which works fine for us, and that key card is what operates the room air conditioning. The rooms are not big and the AC is strong, it literally took a few minutes to be more than comfortable. The mini bar had a full bottle of water and pop daily, no booze. We had a nice size balcony that easily fit 2 chairs and a small table.

The food was just fine, we never went hungry. The main buffet could get busy at times, but that's to be expected. There was always a meat, fish and pasta option and always plain rice and potatoes and fresh bread and buns. The meat is different than in North America because it does not come from North America, it's a bit 'gamier' tasting and a bit tougher, but just fine. I would not recommend having any meat cooked less than well done. Breakfast and lunch were always good and the soup was always really, really good. The Italian restaurant was very, very good and the 'grill' restaurant was just okay.** It is the only resort I've been to in the DR that served actual cows milk for coffee, not rice milk BONUS ! **

The staff were all very, very friendly and really went out of their way to make you feel welcome. When we checked in it was after 10:00pm and there was a big line up, but the staff did great. People grumbled that they had to wait, but we just sat down in the lobby until everyone was gone.

The pool area is neat and clean with lots of lounge chairs and shade. In my opinion the pool could have some improvements. It was too cold, too deep and there was no where to 'hang out' in the water, there were a couple of 'stools' at the swim up bar, but because of the way the sun comes around, that bar is in shade by noon. The jacuzzi pool is warmer and has seating all the way around it...that's where I hung out and was often in there alone. The entertainment at the pool is typical, funny guys keeping things light and up-beat, very nice bunch of people. Donkey, Happy Man and Many really made our trip 'fun'. The other nice thing about the pool is beside the bar they have a coffee station set up all day, which is great for this coffee addict !

The beach was brown sand but lovely. There are in my opinion far too many vendors, but if you are not interested just be insistent that the answer is NO. There are plenty of lounge chairs and shady spots. The pool towels they supply are surprisingly good !!

The nightly entertainment is a bit weak, but the folks are so nice and are doing their very best with the supplies they have. The 'show' doesn't start until 9:00pm, sometimes 9:45pm, so there is a big void between dinner and the show... it gets dark around 7:00pm so you can't even walk on the beach... the shows should start a bit earlier. We went into the disco for about 10 seconds, it's small and for the younger crowd... but it only thumped until 1:00am and then it was silent. No problem with that !

Don't bother bringing money for the casino. We went in and there were 2 other people in there pulling on penny slots. It's old run down and if they were smart they would find a better use for that spot.

Shopping... there is a mall literally a 2 minute walk from the front lobby. It is a small mall that has a GREAT little spot for an espresso ! The prices upstairs are better than the prices downstairs. There is also a little shop right in the lobby for a few over priced trinkets, cigarettes and sunscreen etc.

All in all it was a great vacation. It was not a RIU Palace, but neither was the price tag. We literally got exactly what we paid for and that's hard to argue with. If we got the same type of pricing I would visit this resort again.

Room Tip: We had a partial pool view and it was fine. I don't think I'd want to be facing the pool cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Koolaide,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate it. It is with reward that we learn that your vacations at our resort were awesome and that your enjoyed with the variety in our offer. We are grateful for taking your time to post your review and for your recommendations.

We hope that you will return to our resort in a near future.

We want to thank you for recognize the hard work of our employees, we will congratulate Donkey, Manny & Happy Man for their great job.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Last March Break, a group of friends and I went with a Student Trip Agency. The rooms were gorgeous and up to date. The bathrooms were very clean. The only thing I did not like was the scented toilet paper, which we were not allowed to flush. I would advise people to bring toilet paper from home if you do not wish to use the scented paper.

The staff were absolutely wonderful. Very helpful and kind. The activity staff were very upbeat and exciting. They encouraged everyone to get involved, but also were not too pushy. The maids were so sweet! If anything was wrong with your room they would fix it. They were also very grateful when we left gifts, and made sure to thank us when we saw them next. The front desk was also very helpful and attended to our needs. The bar staff were very great also.

During the day, we spent most of our time at the pool, which was very nice and refreshing. The cold tub was also excellent for days that were very hot. One day we went to the beach, but we preferred the pool side. There were many vendors walking around, and one reached his hand in my friend's bag, but her boyfriend shooed them away before he got his sticky fingers on her items. We no longer felt comfortable after that.

At night we all went to the Disco. A VERY fun part of our trip and something we looked forward to every night. Great music, and a bar inside. I would highly recommend it to people who want to stay out at night and have a great time.

The food was also very good. Different choices at night, and in the mornings. There was french toast that was amazing, and omelettes could be made to your liking by a chef. At night there was veggies, pastas, and different meats. The desserts were also good, my favourite was the ice cream.

Also some nights there would be vendors set up on the grounds with paintings and jewellery. There was also a strip mall down the street where there was a tattoo parlour (for anyone wishing to remember their experience forever), different tourist shops, and a Pizza Hut which tasted better than home! There was also a club there. I would be careful there, however, because locals hang out there too. We all went to a pub for a Toronto Maple Leafs game and it was awesome. Very friendly staff, but not very big.

Overall I know that every one of the people I travelled with LOVED the trip and would go back again. Excellent experience all around and nothing to complain about. I would definitely recommend this resort to everyone. Although I did not travel with children, the ones that were there seemed to be having a great time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I know I am a year late for posting lol but we stayed there last year and had a wonderful time, food was good, entrainment was good, weather was great, pool, beach it was all good! I'm not a picky person so it doesn't take much to please me!! Hope this helps

Room Tip: I always upgrade to pool/ocean view with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Capelite,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments.

We are thankful for your sharing your experience regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that you have had a delightful stay and that you enjoyed with our friendly staff.

We look forward your next vacations at our resort.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Address: Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.