We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the middle of friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Save Saved
You added Grand Paradise Playa Dorada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Herzogenrath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paradise in the middle of friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Before I was travelling allone or with friends, I have seen many hotels, some of them were a higher category and more expensive, but I can´t remember one I liked more than now the grand paradise. I enjoyed the nice complex with gardens, flowers and the large pool the fourth time. The rooms are nice, and if I or my friends had a little problem or a wish for another one, they allways helped at the reception in a very friendly way, especially Francis. I like the rooms with sound of the ocean the most. The beach is half around the hotel and good for relaxing or doing some sports. I made the experience that every „no gracias“ to the sales people is accepted and if you are a little bit friendly, you can have much fun and nice conversation at the beach. Two restaurants and a bar are located directly to the beach. We allways looked forward having a good meal at the Hibiscus or Eden and so much nice people arround us like Sheila, David and the very friendly colleagues.The service there and at the whole hotel is great. At night we liked the dancing shows, live music and the bars. There we enjoyed Caribbean music, good drinks and of course the great atmosphere, especially at the Sinners Bar with Osvaldo. Of course everyone can spend his holiday here by his own, too, but for me it makes the difference, that if you like, you can join a fantastic group of Tourists and people working there for long friendships. Its amazing, how they remember and welcome you, even when you come back for the second time.
I am happy having found the grand paradise. I wish everyone there the very best and look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Vreni,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel.

Thank you for your wonderful comments and for spending your holidays with us. It is obvious that you have enjoyed your stay as much as we did taking care of you. We are indeed delighted.

We are very pleased to know that our employees were one of the reasons that you enjoyed your vacation. We will congratulate Francis Irrizary & David Martinez for their hard work and performance.

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel as your second home, we all look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future..

Warm regards from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    580
    370
    207
    190
See reviews for
405
559
77
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by staff and check in staff were very quick but very unpleasant. Only one of our rooms was not what we had reserved and that was corrected the following day. Overall, we found the staff the least friendly of any resort we have stayed at. The rooms were all very clean (excellent housekeeping staff!) and all room amenities worked well, including the AC and the toilets (which will be important later in your trip). The fridge in the room is stocked poorly with only a single bottle of water and a bottle of 7-up. Our group had rooms on each level and were all away from the pool so noise was not an issue. The food at this resort is terrible to say the least. Our entire group got food poisoning and were affected for the same 24 hr period with some lasting 48 hrs. The Buffet is where you will eat the large majority of your meals as there are no other options for breakfast and lunch and the 2 a la cart restaurants will only get you out of eating at the buffet 2 nights. They claim to have a snack bar that is comprised of hot dogs and what appeared to be hamburgers most of the time. When the food is depleted and you are looking for a late snack they do not replenish the food so expect to have boiled hotdogs and lettuce. The buffet is located outdoors and the tables are set for breakfast the night before so the cutlery sits out all night so expect to see small ants crawling on your table if you’re lucky enough. Breakfast at the buffet was not bad as the omelette bar was always a staple for our group, but expect to see those left over boiled hotdogs (that were not eaten from the snake bar) cut up and labeled breakfast sausage. The entertainment at dinner was amusing at first with the buffet staff chasing dogs out of the buffet area while you are eating and the mad dash to get to the desert, fruit and bread tables since they were often the only decent food available. Watching other patrons trying to determine what the hell certain items on the buffet were was common. The fact there were never napkins to be found on the tables for breakfast and lunch was also odd. When we brought some of these concerns to the customer service rep we were told they had “bigger problems to deal with.” It turned out to be true. From the cats and dogs running around the resort, the bat infestation to the fumigation notices that we received half way through the week, the surprises kept coming. When you have had enough of the resort, you can find relief on the beach.....Not Quite! First you will have to run a gauntlet of beach vendors that stand at the main entrance to the beach and often scream into the buffet at you to sell items and trips. If you actually make it to a spot on the beach to relax you would think the vendors would respect you reading a book or sleeping but they don’t. Expect to be harassed, woken up, and chased down until you have had enough and return to the resort or try and swim home. Unfortunately for most of us we were too weak from the food poisoning to even come attempt it. Those of us that did could not overcome the strong tide. This particular resort is overwhelmed by locals from Friday through Sunday every week. We would never recommend anyone stay at this terrible resort. There are other resorts in close proximity to this one and the pricing is comparable.

Room Tip: Stay at another resort|
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Returned from Grand Paradiso Playa Dorada on Dec. 2.
We go to all inclusive about twice every year, have been to Cuba, Mexico, Panama and Dominican before, but have not seen a beach full of sale people like in Playa Dorada, they spoiled our vacation. It is a nice beach but you cannot relax because you are bothered by vendors every few minuets, no consideration if you are napping, talking with friends or reading, they come and try to sell you all kinds of things, the beach is like a market place and this seems to be accepted by the hotel. All the vendors have uniforms and numbers.
Nobody tidies up the chairs on the beach, they are all over the place, there are no umbrellas on the beach and only few by the swimming pool.
No umbrellas in the room so bring your own in case it rains.
Lots of sand flies, some people are really allergic to them. There is nothing really to prevent the bites.
The vine is undrinkable and all drinks watered down. Coffee not too good, no cappuccino or espresso.
Food is tasty but not too much of variety.
Staff are very friendly and helpful, entertainment is good, live music every night before night show.
We were very surprised to see older European men accompanied by much younger local girls for the time of their stay in the hotel, this seemed to be accepted by the management of the hotel.
The resort gets very busy on the weekends with lots of local people coming in.
You get only one key to the room and AC is not working without a key, you can only turn AC on when you are in the room. AC is very load. Rooms and bathrooms are very small, no face clothes provided, towel are very old and washed out. There is a fridge in the room but you only get a bottle of water and coke.

It is a very lively resort with good entertainment, and a really nice beach, but would not recommend for people who want to peaceful relaxing time on the beach.
It is good for those who like to stay by the swimming pool and participate in activities.

Room Tip: Recommend a room with ocean view on the third floor with cathedral ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Here is a special thank you to all that made our trip a fantastic and memorable one - Super Joe, Fresita, Chispa, Manny from the entertainment, the DJ Johan Marin for keeping the disco going. All the bartenders - Jose Corniel, Roberto Almonte, Hugo, Jose Pilar, Osvaldo. In the dining area - thank you Juan Carlo Tirado, Osvaldo Sosael and "Happy Happy" and the pizza maker in Eden Restaurant, also David in Italian Restaurant.
We will be seeing you all very soon! Keep up the amazing job you are all doing!

Maria & Maria

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Maria,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we would like to express our gratitude for choosing our hotel for your vacation.

Thank you so much for recognize the hard work from our employee, please be sure that we already congratulate, Super Joe, Fresita, Chispa, Manny ,Johan, Jose Corniel, Roberto Almonte, Hugo Castillo, Jose Pilar, Osvaldo Sosa, Juan Carlo Tirado,&David Martinez for their excellent performance.

We all look forward to welcome back in the nearest future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shore, Kentucky, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The bartenders and entertainers made everyone feel welcome. Rooms were cleaned every day and were located close to beach. There was a small shopping mall close to the property that you could walk to, pharmacy close by. The food was good with large selection to choose from, with a couple of restaurants that you could make reservation to eat, food was excellent at restaurants. All employees smiled and were very "Happy, Happy". The beach was clean but there were sand fleas everywhere and they were biting everyone causing a lot of problems. Could not go on the beach without getting attacked by sales people on the beach or getting attacked by sand fleas. If you need something talk to Sandy (sales person at beach) she speaks very good English and knows at least 6 different languages, very helpful. Remember she is a trying to make a living with her sales so still "wheel and deal". For water sports talk to Carlos aka "Speedy" at resort he will work with you on prices for water adventures. If you get the opportunity, you need to take Safari but do not do the water falls with the Safari unless you are in very good physical shape. It was fun but dangerous and I would not advise anyone with heart, resp or other physical problems to attempt the water falls, and no children should go on falls. There is a place you can swim at bottom of falls while waiting for others to return from jumping the falls and I suggest you get a life jacket for swimming. This is a very educational Safari and is well worth the money, remember to "wheel and deal" on prices, best person to talk to is Sandy on the beach. There is a lot of things to do at the resort, many games were played such as bingo, darts, dance lessons, karaoke, guess the movie, etc. "Manny" entertainer at resort, makes all these games very fun and enjoyable. All the other guests were very nice, happy, enjoyable to get to know, everyone had a good time while we were there. Security was very good, I did not feel unsafe or uncomfortable at all during my stay. If this is you first time at Puerto Plata,Dominican Republic - I would recommend this resort. You will want to come back.

Room Tip: Rooms with beach view are quieter. Rooms facing pool area and bar area are not as quiet but fun to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are thankful for you writing your experience and for choosing our resort for expending your holidays. On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate it.

We are more than happy to know that you recognize the good service that we offer. We will congratulate Fresita, Manny & Jose Pilar for their hard work and performance.

We all look forward to welcome back in the nearest future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Everyone there from maids, gardeners, bartenders and entertainment were amazing. The resort was so close to here airport and Its right on the beach. Food was amazing met amazing people. Jose the bartender was always a show stopper making amazing drinks and adding his flare. Entertainment staff Super Joe, Manny, Chispa & Carmen were all great always made us feel welcome and had a blast playing all the games and watching the other entertainment. Overall it was an amazing trip, amazing resort and amazing people. I will definately be seeing them again. Until next time xoxo

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear EternalSunshine87,

It is truly a pleasure for us to know that you really enjoyed your vacations in our resort. On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate it .

We are thankful for your kind comments regarding your stay in our property and for letting the community know about your pleasant experience.

Thank you so much for recognize the hard work from our employee. We will congratulate Jose Pilar, Carmen Lantigua, Super Joe, Manny & Chispa for their excellent job.

We look forward your next visit in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south shore ky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I just returned back to the states late last night.. After spending just one week, I felt a connection of the heart to a few of the hotel employee's.. Everyone made us feel very welcome.. I had a great time.. A very special thank you goes to Fresita and Manny.. They made my week very special.. They both are family to me now..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear kelebek43,

We are thankful for your sharing your comments regarding your stay in our property. On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate it.

It's pleasant to know that you've had a delightful stay and that your enjoyed your holiday with our friendly animation team. We will extend the congratulations to Manny & Fresita for their hard work and performance.

Best regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Address: Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.