We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not go to Puerto Plata again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Paradise Playa Dorada to your Saves list
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Will not go to Puerto Plata again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Returned from Grand Paradiso Playa Dorada on Dec. 2.
We go to all inclusive about twice every year, have been to Cuba, Mexico, Panama and Dominican before, but have not seen a beach full of sale people like in Playa Dorada, they spoiled our vacation. It is a nice beach but you cannot relax because you are bothered by vendors every few minuets, no consideration if you are napping, talking with friends or reading, they come and try to sell you all kinds of things, the beach is like a market place and this seems to be accepted by the hotel. All the vendors have uniforms and numbers.
Nobody tidies up the chairs on the beach, they are all over the place, there are no umbrellas on the beach and only few by the swimming pool.
No umbrellas in the room so bring your own in case it rains.
Lots of sand flies, some people are really allergic to them. There is nothing really to prevent the bites.
The vine is undrinkable and all drinks watered down. Coffee not too good, no cappuccino or espresso.
Food is tasty but not too much of variety.
Staff are very friendly and helpful, entertainment is good, live music every night before night show.
We were very surprised to see older European men accompanied by much younger local girls for the time of their stay in the hotel, this seemed to be accepted by the management of the hotel.
The resort gets very busy on the weekends with lots of local people coming in.
You get only one key to the room and AC is not working without a key, you can only turn AC on when you are in the room. AC is very load. Rooms and bathrooms are very small, no face clothes provided, towel are very old and washed out. There is a fridge in the room but you only get a bottle of water and coke.

It is a very lively resort with good entertainment, and a really nice beach, but would not recommend for people who want to peaceful relaxing time on the beach.
It is good for those who like to stay by the swimming pool and participate in activities.

Room Tip: Recommend a room with ocean view on the third floor with cathedral ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    642
    417
    229
    206
See reviews for
444
635
87
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Here is a special thank you to all that made our trip a fantastic and memorable one - Super Joe, Fresita, Chispa, Manny from the entertainment, the DJ Johan Marin for keeping the disco going. All the bartenders - Jose Corniel, Roberto Almonte, Hugo, Jose Pilar, Osvaldo. In the dining area - thank you Juan Carlo Tirado, Osvaldo Sosael and "Happy Happy" and the pizza maker in Eden Restaurant, also David in Italian Restaurant.
We will be seeing you all very soon! Keep up the amazing job you are all doing!

Maria & Maria

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Maria,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we would like to express our gratitude for choosing our hotel for your vacation.

Thank you so much for recognize the hard work from our employee, please be sure that we already congratulate, Super Joe, Fresita, Chispa, Manny ,Johan, Jose Corniel, Roberto Almonte, Hugo Castillo, Jose Pilar, Osvaldo Sosa, Juan Carlo Tirado,&David Martinez for their excellent performance.

We all look forward to welcome back in the nearest future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shore, Kentucky, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The bartenders and entertainers made everyone feel welcome. Rooms were cleaned every day and were located close to beach. There was a small shopping mall close to the property that you could walk to, pharmacy close by. The food was good with large selection to choose from, with a couple of restaurants that you could make reservation to eat, food was excellent at restaurants. All employees smiled and were very "Happy, Happy". The beach was clean but there were sand fleas everywhere and they were biting everyone causing a lot of problems. Could not go on the beach without getting attacked by sales people on the beach or getting attacked by sand fleas. If you need something talk to Sandy (sales person at beach) she speaks very good English and knows at least 6 different languages, very helpful. Remember she is a trying to make a living with her sales so still "wheel and deal". For water sports talk to Carlos aka "Speedy" at resort he will work with you on prices for water adventures. If you get the opportunity, you need to take Safari but do not do the water falls with the Safari unless you are in very good physical shape. It was fun but dangerous and I would not advise anyone with heart, resp or other physical problems to attempt the water falls, and no children should go on falls. There is a place you can swim at bottom of falls while waiting for others to return from jumping the falls and I suggest you get a life jacket for swimming. This is a very educational Safari and is well worth the money, remember to "wheel and deal" on prices, best person to talk to is Sandy on the beach. There is a lot of things to do at the resort, many games were played such as bingo, darts, dance lessons, karaoke, guess the movie, etc. "Manny" entertainer at resort, makes all these games very fun and enjoyable. All the other guests were very nice, happy, enjoyable to get to know, everyone had a good time while we were there. Security was very good, I did not feel unsafe or uncomfortable at all during my stay. If this is you first time at Puerto Plata,Dominican Republic - I would recommend this resort. You will want to come back.

Room Tip: Rooms with beach view are quieter. Rooms facing pool area and bar area are not as quiet but fun to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are thankful for you writing your experience and for choosing our resort for expending your holidays. On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate it.

We are more than happy to know that you recognize the good service that we offer. We will congratulate Fresita, Manny & Jose Pilar for their hard work and performance.

We all look forward to welcome back in the nearest future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Everyone there from maids, gardeners, bartenders and entertainment were amazing. The resort was so close to here airport and Its right on the beach. Food was amazing met amazing people. Jose the bartender was always a show stopper making amazing drinks and adding his flare. Entertainment staff Super Joe, Manny, Chispa & Carmen were all great always made us feel welcome and had a blast playing all the games and watching the other entertainment. Overall it was an amazing trip, amazing resort and amazing people. I will definately be seeing them again. Until next time xoxo

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear EternalSunshine87,

It is truly a pleasure for us to know that you really enjoyed your vacations in our resort. On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate it .

We are thankful for your kind comments regarding your stay in our property and for letting the community know about your pleasant experience.

Thank you so much for recognize the hard work from our employee. We will congratulate Jose Pilar, Carmen Lantigua, Super Joe, Manny & Chispa for their excellent job.

We look forward your next visit in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south shore ky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I just returned back to the states late last night.. After spending just one week, I felt a connection of the heart to a few of the hotel employee's.. Everyone made us feel very welcome.. I had a great time.. A very special thank you goes to Fresita and Manny.. They made my week very special.. They both are family to me now..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear kelebek43,

We are thankful for your sharing your comments regarding your stay in our property. On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate it.

It's pleasant to know that you've had a delightful stay and that your enjoyed your holiday with our friendly animation team. We will extend the congratulations to Manny & Fresita for their hard work and performance.

Best regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

some of the best people you will meet work there....love them.......rooms were very clean

it is located directly on a lovely sandy beach that was cleaned several times...a day...it is in a complex with around 14 other hotels so you have a long beach to walk along - in the shopping mall in the middle of the complex are a bunch of stores to buy food, pizza, gifts and many other things. I highly recommend that .... if your flight leaves late in the day but you still need to check out by 1pm they will give you a room to shower in. This way you just leave your large luggage with the front desk and take your carry-on around with your change of clothing, passport etc until it's time to leave. Some things I think that could be improved upon: - with the renos they did not include a deadbolt on the entrance door which I feel should be on every hotel door for added security when you're sleeping - take some snacks with you. I arrived after the restaurant closed on Saturday night and although they generously offered to make a plate up for me I had brought something to tide me over. I must mention too that they offer snacks after midnight by the beach if you wanted to wait until then. I have stayed at 4 of the hotels in the complex as well as others in the Dominican and this is the one I keep returning to. I hope you enjoy it too.also the night life on the complex is great! dont be afraid to leave the resort

Room Tip: i was on the 3rd floor good sleep very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Amanda M.

We are more than happy to read your review about our resort, on behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate.

We are thankful for your comments about the cleanliness and maintenance of our facilities. It a pleasure to welcome back again in the nearest future.

Thanks so much for choosing us as your second home.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We just got back from a week at The Grand Paradise Playa Dorada. The rooms were great, the staff was accommodating, the food was good, the beer good and cold, the mixed drinks were watered down and the wine undrinkable.
Knowing this was only a 3 1/2 to 4 star beach hotel our expectations were low. The rooms turned out to be great, well maintained and very clean. The food was very good, but not a huge assortment. The restaurant was nice, open-air and beach front. We didn't mind that the drinks were watery and wine undrinkable - the beer was cold and good. What we did mind was the constant pestering by the time share and beach sales people. It was unbelievable. As you walked down from your room, through the complex, you were attacked by the time share sellers. Then when you went onto the beach, you had to pass a wall of beach sales people. As you sat on the beach, someone came by every 5 minutes - no exaguration. It was very uncomfortable. For this reason, we would not go back to this resort and could not recommend it to others. We travel often, and this was our 6th time to the Dominican Republic. We have never seen a sales force such as this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear RPM6484,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we are really happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel but regretting to read, that we will not be able to welcome back in the future.

We appreciated your opinion and we are taking proper actions about the issues that you mentioned in your review.

We encourage you to visit us again and give us the opportunity to changes your expectation.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Address: Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.