We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to be.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Save Saved
You added Grand Paradise Playa Dorada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 hotels in Puerto Plata
NJ
1 review
“The best place to be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I had a great time and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was great hotel was clean and located in a great area by nightclubs. I would definitely go there a gain and recommend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks so much for posting your comments, on behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada we sincerely appreciate it.

It's a pleasure for to know that you enjoyed your vacation and that next time we will receive you as a repeat guest.

Hope to see you in the nearest future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    492
    546
    357
    203
    183
See reviews for
379
521
74
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

i really likéd the beach is very nice the hotel is excellent the room's arr very beautiful.welcoming the staff of the hotrl very helpful especially a waiter that i met that is called eduardo bravo i recommend this hotel to spend the best holiday :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa, we would like to thank you for posting your comments, it is obvious that you have enjoyed your stay as much as we did taking care of you. We are indeed delighted. We all look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Is a pleasure to know that our employees were one of the reasons that you enjoyed your vacation. We will congratulate Eduardo Bravo for his hard work and performance.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brig
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I really like it there. The hotel is good also the rooms nice and clean. I defenitely will come back to this beautifull place. Everyone is very friendly. Especially Eduardo Bravo who is working in the restaurant stayed in my memories . He was a very friendly , handsome and reliable guy. Hope to be back there soon ! :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks so much for posting your comments, on behalf of Grand Paradise Playa we sincerely appreciate.

We are glad that you enjoyed you holidays with us and that our employee were one of the reason that you've had a wonderful vacations, we will congratulate Eduardo Bravo for his hard work and performance.

We all look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Kind regards from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Everyone working at the resort was incredibly friendly especially the animators specifically Maireni(Manny) and "Super Joe". Everyone really does their best to try to make your stay as fun filled and comfortable as possible, my main dislike was the exaggerated number of vendors on the beach. The resort was always clean and the rooms were well kept, a few devices didnt work in the room such as the refridgerator and the tv for a few days and we lost hot water for 4 days during our 7 day stay due to lightning storms. The food was good but there were times when we would be hungry between meals and the buffet/restaurants would be closed between lunch and supper. Overall i would recommend the Grand Paradise resort and will look into another vacation there next year!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel.

Thank you for posting your comments and for letting us know about you experience. We are indeed delighted. We all look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future.

We have already sent the message to the administration of the beach sellers and we will take proper actions.

We are very pleased to know that our employees were one of the reasons that you enjoyed your vacation. We will congratulate Manny and Super Joe for their hard work and performance.

warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Paradise from 11/5 to 11/12 and enjoyed it very much.

As usual, after reading the reviews before we left I started to wonder what we had gotten ourselves into. Sometimes I wonder what expectations people must have to so critically rate resorts. This was not a 5 star resort, and we had no grand allusions of it being one.
It was a great 3 ½ star resort.

Our room was a pool view. I had wanted an ocean view, but was glad that we had this room when the rain began. We had 3 days of torrential rains and wind. An ocean view would have made it so we couldn’t sit on our balcony, which is what we did on the rainy days.

We ate at the buffet most meals and were pleased with what it had to offer. There was never a time that we had nothing to choose from! The buffet restaurant has such a beautiful view of the ocean that you couldn’t help but enjoy it. We ate at Michelango’s once and enjoyed it as well.

I never encountered one person who worked at this resort who did not have a smile on their face and a “hola, come esta” on their lips.

The weekend was full with locals coming in. The only issue there was that the pool became extremely loud all afternoon, but they were on vacation too. The restaurant did become quite crowded and they opened the 2nd floor. No big deal. We never felt uncomfortable or put out.

My only bone of contention is the vendors. We had been to Playa Dorada 2 times before as well as Punta Cana 3 times and yearly to St. Martin and we never have encountered the level of these vendors. They would go by, and we did buy from a couple of them. The others would just pester you to no end. One day I was sitting by myself and one went by and I said “no thank you”. The vendor gave me such an evil look and kept staring down at me. I was feeling quite uncomfortable at this point. I know the economy is bad and everyone needs to make a living, but their persistence was very frustrating. They would hang around our resort and stay all day. Then they would stand at the wall and hold items up while you were in the dining room. Something should be done about this.

All in all it is a great resort in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel.

Thank you for your wonderful comments and for giving us the opportunity to spent your holidays with us. We all look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future.

We have already transferred the message to the administration of the sellers on the beach and we will take proper actions.

Warm regards from all of us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Beach was nice, there's an option to go to the left or to the right. Lots of vendors... very persistent, someone said 100, in reality there are about 30 no joke and they really do come by every 20 minutes to sells you trips massage clothes cigars rings, etc

Food was alright although sub par for a 4 star resort. Beef was very scarce. Bread was very good. A la carte restaurants were good. Red wine at Michelangelo tasted more like vinegar then wine. Service was better at the a la carte but at the buffet it was lacking greatly about 50% of the time. Weekends are like a zoo with people lining up for food like hot cakes.
Drinks were good, favorite server was Pablo he was up on the ball every time we had him.
Pina colada was good and so was the beer.

Hotel was in decent shape but as others mentioned toilets were not too good. Any rooms by the pool are too loud until after 11PM when the DJ guy keeps playing music and yelling in the mic and laughing at the parts of the songs he knows.

At reception they didn't tell us we have to ask for a remote so we had to get one the next day. Apparently people steal them so they don't leave them in the room. I feel a North American tourist should be told about this since we can get a remote at the Dollar Store for 1 or 2 dollars. Also having traveled to the DR twice before and Panama, Costa Rica and Cuba I've never encountered a AC system where you have to stick your key card into it to work (I guess they are trying to save money so you can't have it on when not in your room, and they will not give you a 2nd key card) I think I should have been told about it at check in not after coming to complain my AC doesn't work even though I checked and the breakers were turned on.

We did speak to the general manager and she was sympathetic and gave us a room upgrade. It seemed like she spoke to the restaurant staff as well as service was better the last few days. Overall we had a good time but would have had a great time if only the service was better to begin with before we had to bring it up with management. Location is very nice on the beach and close enough to town to go check it out.

If you do trips or buy anything on the beach bargain... they will give you better deals. We did the City tour with the cable cart and we liked it.
We've stayed at places that were better and also 1 place that wasn't. Having said that we did walk to the adjacent resorts and they seemed to be nicer.

Room Tip: if you like quiet stay away from the pool, if you will stay out until 11 stay by the pool it's c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, we sincerely appreciate your comments which are for us a real feedback. We are committed to providing the utmost in customer service and we appreciate when our mutual clients take the time out their busy schedules to make us aware of their bad and good experience of their holidays.

We feel sorry about the points that you mention you went through with your vacations, you can be sure that we already transferred the message to all the departments involved

Our main priority is to feel our guests welcome and become their allies during their treasured vacations. We can guarantee you that the negative issues that you experienced do not represent the culture and tradition of service in our resort.

We would like to clarify the situation of one key per room, the hotel policies only allow one key and this information is offered by your representative in your meeting and in the lobby you can also see the information, this allows the hotel to save energy in while the customer are not in the room. Please know that our hotel offer the facilities to give access to our clients with a key for one use and after used most be returned to the lobby.

We would like to thank you for recognize our attractive.

We encourage you to visit us again and show you the changes we have made.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Last April my boyfriend and I and brother and his gf came to Grand Paradise, 2 of us had never been to an all inclusive before and we were NOT disappointed! We filled out a survey and won a free all inclusive trip back for TWO!!! So this year we went the first week of Nov. My parents, brother and gf and my now husband and I went for the week.
WE LOVE THIS RESORT! Clean, great food,safe and two restaurants to choose from for a different scene other than buffet, big pool, restaurants are right off the beach ..amazing views.
THE STAFF, the staff are incredible, happy, friendly and helpful.
BON BON the towel lady is funny and bright! she makes your day :)
EDWARDO the breakfast/lunch server...happy happy! hes amazing, without asking he reserved the table for 6 each morning to serve our family!
CARLOS night bar...discoque....SO WONDERFUL! fun! and remembered each of our drinks!
OSVALDO ...great bartender!
PEPE! LOVE LOVE LOVE PEPE the event staff...fun, funny and friendly!
CHISPA is great and entertaining, water aerobics, water volleyball, polo, games, shuffleboard, ping pong, shows....so good.
Janet- coordinator, took care of everything for us and was very helpful with reservations and questions.

What a great experience and good times. We will most certainly be bringing the whole family back!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor. overlooking pool or beach! Beauty spots
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janett J, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Katie,

It was our pleasure to welcome you back and this time with your whole families, we feel more than happy to know that we will be honored to receive you again in a nearest future.

We are very pleased to know that our employees were one of the reasons that you enjoyed your vacation. We will congratulate Bombon, Carlos López, Osvaldo Cabrera, Eduardo Bravo, Pepe, Chispa for their hard work and performance.

Thanks for such a wonderful comment about my person.

Hope to see you soon.

Warm regards from all of us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Paradise Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Paradise Playa Dorada

Also Known As:
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club
Paradise Beach Resort & Casino
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada Hotel
Paradise Beach Club Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort Casino
Paradise Beach Puerto Plata
Paradise Beach Club Casino
Paradise Beach Club & Casino
Address: Complejo Playa Dorada | P.O. Box 337, Puerto Plata 332, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Paradise Playa Dorada 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Grand Paradise Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Paradise Playa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.