We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedded Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flamenco Beach Resort

Flamenco Beach Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Plata
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamenco Beach Resort
Save Saved
You added Flamenco Beach Resort to your Saves list
P.O. Box 538 | Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
warwickshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wedded Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

We were married at this hotel four years ago, and would recommend this to anybody, could not fault ther wedding organiser, we had everything we needed, they will colour co-ordinate your flowers and the gazebo, the photographer is excellent, photo's ready the next day, wedding meal superb, cake out of this world, maids to help you get ready for a small tip! onsite hair salon, perfect weather, they make you feel like royalty, they even collect you for the ceremony, and then take you out in the pony and trap for the locals to cheer at you! Its wonderful, excellent value.
The wedding suite is huge, the biggest bed you could imagine, dining area, three piece suite x2 TV's.Flowers everywhere.
The cleanest hotel l have ever been too! no mozzies and no roaches, friendly staff, excellent food and drink, beautiful sunshine, clean beaches. Would recommend to anybody. Why pay FOR A BIG WEDDING at home, when you can have ceremony and honeymoon with all your friends in a beautiful location.

  • Liked — Extremely clean, high quality
  • Disliked — No complaints at all
  • Stayed April 2003, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

Second time to the Dominican, first stay really nice (Coral Marien by Hilton) so needless to say was spoilt by the excellence of that hotel last year. On arrival to the Flamenco the room was dirty, bathroom filthy, staff very unhelpful and the Thomas Cook rep completely rubbish. Food was nice, plenty of variety for everyone although it did get a bit repetative. A-la Carte restaurants below average (apart from the Brazilian) don't bother with the oriental, the mexican was average and the italian was ok.

The grounds of the hotel and the pool etc kept really nice although I've never seen as many cockroaches in my life as what we did in our 2 week stay here.

  • Liked — Good Location for local shopping
  • Disliked — Dirty room/bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to the Coral Marien by Hilton, it's a far superior hotel for not much more cost
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2006

Well after just getting back and being more then gutted its hard to say anything but excellent things abotu the occidental flamenco. Myself, partner friend and her family have just returned from a 2 week stay in the hotel. We were more then pleased, the rooms were clean and adequate, the a/c can get noisy even when off but your only in there to sleep. The pool was amazing and always kept clean, there was plenty of sunbeds every day so no shortage on risking a lay in and not having any.

The beach is so close only a few minutes away and had so much to offer. The trips offered down there are a lot cheaper then those offered to your by your rep, i think the plaza is the best and chepest reliable place to book trips. If you do go a must is the dolphins, sharks, sea lions and sting rays at ocean world we all really enjoyed that so much, was a lovely day out and food included as you are all inclusive members.
Also paraidse island VIP trip, i think that was the highlight of most of us on our holiday, it really was paradise and getting there was all part of the package, the yacht, oysters champagne and diving off into the coral was truly amazing. Aslo Frankie the mad speed boat driver was very good and took my friend snorkelling on paradise island.
The entertainment staff also were the highlight of our holiday, shaggy, fat albert, banana, mosquito, sharky, willys and the rest of them made our stay even better, there shows were fun i entered a couple, their dancing was excellent and also watching them run kids club tasks was excellent.
i think anyone who can put this place down obviously expects so much out of life, it was so laid back food could get repetative but was still so much choice for the money spent.

The only problem with the restaurants was although you get free house wine, when you look at the menu to order and pay for a nice bottle which we did, in small letters at the bottom of the menu it says plus 26% tax, also its priced with a dollar sign and they want the money in pesos. We ended up paying 74$ for 2 bottles of standard pinot grigio, spoilt the night. When we told Rommy our rep, he apparently hadn't heard this complaint before and did nothing about it. He over charges for uner water camera and trips, he did not do anything for anyone. He lets the hotel and holiday pace down him!
also dont book the VIP at the airport through him 20$ rip off apparently you get food, drinks and an air con room, oh yes a room with some crisps, no access to tannoy to hear flight being called and hardly enough time for one drink.
to say the least we did get ripped off a few times which ruined the whole experience, but we no now and would loveto go back and stay there with all our friends in the Occidental Flamenco, it truly is amazing.

  • Liked — the bathroom and the beds
  • Disliked — the air con was to noisy
  • Tips/Secrets — be polite if any problems and they will get sorted a lot quicker, also do not but the wine in restaurants or book the VIP at the airport on the way home
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2006

I go to the islands once or twice a year so I have stayed at a number of all inclusives. The Occidental Grand Flamenco in Puerta Plata would have to rank as one of the worst I have stayed in. For the first 4 days the food was awful. I mean who ever heard of burnt pasta? As for burgers , MacDonalds taste like filet mignon in comparison to what was served at lunch, and since when were hotdogs a breakfast food?. I will say that for the last 3 days of the vacation they seemed to get the message and the food improved greatly.
I had a "deluxe" room but again I think their deluxe would be equal to a standard room with no view at any other hotel. Definitely would not pay extra for the deluxe. 2 of the hotels pools were put out of commission during the trip as in midweek they decided to renovate them. The beach in nice and the water fine for swimming, although you will be bothered all day long by "authorized vendors" trying to sell you local handicrafts (junk).
The guests were an interesting mix of Russian mafia (complete with body guards, no kidding), Brits, Germans, and a few Canadians and Americans. I definitely will not be returning to holiday here but you can make up your mind for yourself.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2006

Just wanted to give people a quick review of this place during our vacation.The grounds were kept okay not alot of flowering shrubs.The smell of sewer crossing over some stagnet water on the only walkway leading to the beach was horridness. All I could think of,while holding my breath, was all the things growing in the water below me. The beach was full of debris.Now, I realize that this is a part of natue, but the other resorts,down to the left of beach and around some coves, were able to maintain this problem.We walked 30 minutes each way daily to enjoy the beach and decent water. The staff spoke very little English which made communication almost impossible.The speciality restraunts reservation plan some other type of system.It did not open until 3:00 and you had to be in line by 2:00 to make your reservations.Don't believe them if thet tell you they are booked up at some of the restraunts.Usually there are many tables waiting to be filled.Our room was clean and free from bugs.We did have some issues with our refrigerator.I had made several phone call and the evening of our second night,someone was there to fix the problem.Our wall switch for the T.V. was not on.Surprisingly,the T.V. and the refrigerator were the same line! How silly of us !!!!!!!!!!!!
. HOW SAD!!It had rained one day and heard alot of complaints that there were leaks everywhere in the rooms. We did not experience that. We were in building 11 and was pretty much satisfied with it.
I do believe that the Vacation Express rep. could have been more useful in selection of excursions. We booked the "Monster Truck" because it was supposed to be adventurous and did alot of riding in the water and rough terrain We were very dissappointed.The truck did not full advantage of it's capilities and only crossed 3 streams and drove in the water about 50 feet. The rest of the time was spent over seeing the depression of the country. Too many stops were made to show you how bad they have it. I was thankful that we brought candy, pencils,crayons and pens for the children. I did notice that a father was shoving his child, after they sat down to eat some candy,to ask for money from the people. Very depressing of an excursion. Before you book,ask everyone you see first.They will be your decision maker.If you plan to shop,or even go to Sousa don't book a trip.Check on catching a bus. You will save yourself alot of money.
I hope this has helped you and you have an enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2005

I rate this review as average because it is the first trip we have made to carib. We were a part of a group of 6 that were scheduled to go to Cozumel on 22 Oct, 2005. But due to Wilma we were changed at the last moment to Flamenco Beach Resort two days before our departure. That was actually great work by the Allegro Staff. The only problems we encountered were minor ones. Expect to be greeted outside the airport by a host of "porters" who will not take no for an answer. Very irritating to me and they expect a large tip. Expect the same on the way back and it appeared to me that they only moved luggage about 30 feet and expected another large tip ($5.00 American or more). Once at the hotel we were well taken care of. The receptionists were expecting us and everyone was very friendly. Our rooms were OK, remembering that you're not in the US or the UK, and they were clean. We expected a bug and or mosquito problem but had none. The pictures of the hotel in the advertisements are very good indication of what it looked like when we got there. One problem of sorts is that it appeared to us that local Domincans used the hotel from Friday evening til Sunday evening and they bring a lot of children and seem use the hotel as a baby/child sitting service. It wasn't bad but we weren't prepared for the change from relaxing to watch where you step cause you might be stepping on a kid. We took the Catamaran Cruise, which I highly recommend to anyone, We were on the Banana Boat and were well entertained, snorkeled,swam, had more than enough to drink and eat. The water was not as clear as I expected but you could enjoy snorkeling. We also went on the 4-wheeler tour which was a bit of a disappointment because you don't tour much and on the two stops we made we were inundated by locals selling mostly junk who didn't take no very easy. My 4-wheeler broke down and was replaced but all the 4-wheelers were old and not in very good condition. The rest of our stay was made very relaxing and what

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2005

Brief background needed first. We had a quick last minute 4th of July trip planned. We were able to book a three night stay at this resort. The trouble started with the TransMeridian Airlines Charter flight from Cincinnati to Sanford/Orlando FL. A 10 hour delay in Orlando. We had a connecting flight there which was due to leave at 11:05 a.m. After numerous lies and no communication from Vacation Express, we finally left the runway at 9:45 p.m. Needless to say, we did not get to our hotel room until 1:15 in the morning. We lost that afternoon and evening. So far no return calls to my messages and no compensation. Since we go in so late, nothing was available as far as activities or dinner reservations. or so we thought. We were in the Royal Club section which. we found out on the last day, had some ammenities that we could have used except for the fact that our Coco Tour guide, Roomy or Romy, would not/did not inform us of this, even though we had the red wrist band which would identify us as Royal Club guests. He told us no activities were available and no dinner reservations were available because of the late arrival. Imagine my surprise, when I went into the Royal Club office and made reservations at 5:30 for 7:00. I suppose since he was not making the reservations he did not get a commision. A very rude, unhelpful person. He told us they would pick us up at our room for departure. After two requests and ten minutes past when the bus was to leave for the airport, we finally hauled our own bags across the pool area to the lobby to board the bus. Check out was okay except for this hotels obession with their pool towels. When you arive at this resort you have to take a piece of paper to the dive shop to get two towel cards. ( we found out that the Royal Club occupants received towels with no such BS.) Each time you went to get towels, you would give them the cards, return the towels and get your cards back. Upon leaving, you could just not give the front desk your cards. I had to literally run back to the dive shop, wait in line while other people were inquiring on dives etc. (Remember the bus is waiting all the while.) Get a green slip of paper which they could not find because they had the wrong room number on it, run back to the front desk and give her the green slip, releasing us from the towel contract and finally get to board our bus to get the --- out of there. The towels did not have gold leaf in them or even the hotels name, they were old and faded. I cannot imagine why the towels are such a big deal there. Othe resorts you just get towels and then put them into a laundry basket when your finished. Pretty simple. Entertinment nightly was poor. The last night we were there, they had men from the audience dressed as jungle men, squatting in the corner of the stage simulating going to the bathroom while the emcee made flatulence noises, they then picked up a small man dressed as a woman, ran across the stage and simulated kissing her and was more like simulating ---. Maybe once was funny but five times?? Benny Hill type humor. We left. A lot of small kids in the audience. How about nightly childrens pagents? Lame. Food was average for an all inclusive. I only have Turks and Caicos to compare to an all inclusive. This did not even come close. The people in general at this resort speak only Spanish and don't really understand much else. I would never go back to the Dominican Republic, this resort or any other there. I will never fly Trans Merdian as well. Very stressful for two days.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamenco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamenco Beach Resort

Address: P.O. Box 538 | Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Flamenco Beach Hotel Puerto Plata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamenco Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.