We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memory maker to be sure” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Puerto Plata Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Puerto Plata Beach Resort to your Saves list
Puerto Plata Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ave. General Gregorio Luperon | Malecon (city boardwalk), Puerto Plata 07393, Dominican Republic (Formerly Puerto Plata Beach Club & Casino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Syracuse, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A memory maker to be sure”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2006

Well, we won't forget this place, that's for sure! This hotel is filthy. The electricity went off sporadically during the day as did the water (we were told they needed to conserve so only put the water pump on certain times during the day.) The towels were ripped and frayed (when we got them). There were a couple of days when no towels were available and thankfully we had brought beach towels from home. Very musty, lamps were missing bulbs, sheets were not clean, mold growing in the bathtub. Fortunately, we also had the experience of staying at a cleaner, more comfortable resort so we did not leave the Dominican thinking that this represented their hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    8
    5
    9
See reviews for
13
8
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2005

my friends and i just went here for one week. when we got there we were a little upset with the hotel,but it soon changed. we had a nice room it was a superior room and it had 2 floors and 3 beds which was a nice surprise. it does look like an older hotel but its still really nice.
The food was very good.There was alot of us who went on this trip and not one of us got sick from the food. There was alot of options every night for dinner,something for everyone. We also really enjoyed the breakfast and lunch. The staff was really good about looking after you during dinner. Your dirty dishes were taken away right after you were finished so the area was always clean. The waiters and bar tenders were very very friendly. We did notice that if you tipped the bartenders you got special treatment. We did this and got better glasses and service. They would also make up a whole tray of drinks for you before the bar closed,so you would have drinks for the rest of the night.
The crowd i went with was very young,so we didnt really enjoy the night entertainment. It was fun for us tho because the beach was very nice to be on at night, and there was also a bar very close by. The bar was very good,they played good music and it was only about a 4 minute walk. My friends and i didnt really enjoy the crazy moon disco that was attached to the hotel,but others seemed to like it.
The pool was very nice and relaxing,they had good music playing the whole time. They also had good music on the beach, which i didnt expect. The beach was awsome,very pretty.
Overall we had a great time. I was a little sketchy after reading some of the other reviews but all my friends and i had and awsome time,and i would go back.
Just a heads up tho, in the dominican you cant flush the toliet paper!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2005

Wow this is the first time i have been to an all inclusive and i don't have anything to compare this place too.............but i sure did have a GREAT time. Our room was very very clean, the cleaning staff did a wonderful job. We had freash clean towels everyday. The pool area was very nice, execpt that the pool was ice cold, but that didn't bother me cause i'd rather be in the ocean, which was amazing. The jacuzzi could have been a little warmer as well. The crappy thing about the pool area was trying to find a chair. People would put there towels on a few chairs and leave for 4 hours so no one else can sit on them. C'mon have some curtosy. The beach had white sand and the ocean was so blue. It was a little cool getting into it, but once u got use to it, you don't wanna come out.
The food, was alright, there was always a different theme everday and they tried to have different stuff. Breakfast was great....that eggman sure can make a hell of an omelette. The snack bar was good too when u wanted something quick. We ate at 2 a la carte restaurants, Michealangelo's....appetizers and soup were good...i had pasta, not so good. Edens on the other hand was much much better. The drink bars were wonderful, the bartenders made it so much fun and were so friendly. You gotta try a "Banana Mama" when u have 1 you'll be hooked. The entertainment crue were so friendly and outgoing. Wait until u met "Blackie"......he is a character. The disco Crazy Moon was good too, but it kinda sucked cause u have to pay for your drinks there which can be pricey. The casino on site isn't anything special.....but why would u wanna waste your time in there.
Overall we had a wonderful week and the weather was amazing.....i got the best tan ever!!!
Now that I have been on this all inclsuive I am hooked.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2004

I have been on several all inclusive vacations and I have to say this was by far the worst one EVER. The room was so small with 2 single beds which were very old and not particularly clean. Also we had only one tiny window which provided a view only when jumping on the bed to see what was outside.
The washroom was musty and the tub looked like it hadn't been cleaned in several years.
The food was generally okay but both my travel partner and I got stomache aches including the runs and cramps after the same meal.
The pool looked much bigger in the pictures. It was rather small and crowded with lots of kids including babies in diapers which was a bit of a worry.
Poolside activities were rather lame and not many people participated.
The "watersports" were not available much to our surprise due a national holiday we were not made aware of prior to our booking.
The staff were hot and cold- friendly at times but not so friendly other times. Seemed to be they were looking for tips which determined their attitude towards you.
Overall I would NOT recommend this resort and I would pick another destination for certain.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2003

This was our first time in the Caribbean, 3 friends in their 40's and 2 daughters aged 15. The first thing to mention is that we got our suitcases at Puerto Plata airport and were out in 20 minutes! British airports take note! We were hoping for a completely chilled out time, serious relaxation and a bit of luxury. We got two out of three. The accommodation needed refurbishing and was fairly dated, but it felt like home quite quickly and we were hardly in there to be honest. We just changed and slept there. It was however air conditioned and spotlessly clean; the staff really do a good job and they're all very cheerful and friendly. The food was good - a lot of variety - you would be hard pushed not to find something you liked. But the buffet restaurant could get busy and by the end of the 2 weeks we were a bit fed up with it. At weekends it was especially busy (think they must have weekend visitors), it was hard to get a table, and the service wouldn't be as good. Our advice would be to get there early and then it was much more civilised and there'd be more choice. There are 2 other restaurants which you can book into which are a nice change but be prepared to wait - the pace of life is SLOW! There are plenty of sunbeds round the pool and lots of activities going on there. One of our daughter's spent her time there, the rest of us went on the beach each day and just relaxed under the palm trees. The beach is kept very clean and there are activities there too but no one forces you to join in anything, it's just there if you want it. It looked like fun but we were just to lazy to take part! There are beach sellers who constantly parade up and down but they don't pester you if you say no. We actually bartered a bit the second week when we'd got a feeling for the place and had some fun with it. You can have a massage, manicure and pedicure on the beach if you so wish (one of us did) - a lot cheaper than in the UK! The sea is warm but not clear as we'd thought it would be and it is quite rocky so you have to pick your way in carefully, although we eventually found a spot that was clear. Some plastic shoes would have been useful. Once you're in it's fine. There are plenty of sun loungers on the beach but quite a lot of them need replacing. We managed to find decent ones every day (and we didn't get down there until about 11 am) but a lot of them need throwing out. We didn't try the nightclub and casino so can't comment on those. The staff worked very hard to entertain everybody in the evening, but it's like nothing you've seen anywhere else! We preferred to sit at the beach bar drinking cocktails and playing cards. They laid on supper at midnight so nobody needs to go to bed hungry! The waiters and bar staff were great, and the security staff were ever present but unobtrusive. There is a Plaza a few minutes walk away with a couple of bars and shops, but we really didn't spend very much money at all, just a few souvenirs. All in all we had a great time and we got the holiday we wanted. The climate is fantastic -very hot and humid but always a breeze. We would certainly return to the Caribbean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2003

Really had a good time; of course no comparison to staying in a hotel in the US. We went with a really large group of friends so we got to go to alot of different places. ie. waterfalls, blue lagoon & to really beautiful beaches. Shopping was an adventure. I don't recomend any of the Clubs outside the resort. The resort leaves alot to be desired.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2003

This was my third time to the Dominican Republic, but my first time at the Paradise Beach Resort and Casino. Overall, I had a great time, & met some really fun people. I'm 22, and I went with a girlfriend who's also 22. Our outlook for this trip was to party and have a good time.
Paradise is definitely the place to be for people our age....the mall was a 5 minute walk away, good prices. The disco was the best one i've been to in Dominican. It's called the Crazy Moon. Despite it being late June, there was tons of people there, it was big, and the music was up to date (although sometimes repetitive). We heard Sean Paul, 50 Cent, Jay-z, dance music...I was impressed. It was definitely happening there, and was open until 4 in the morning for all the late night partiers like us. One of the bars stayed open until 1 (the one near the beach), which was also a plus....the only bad part about the Crazy Moon disco is that the drinks weren't included in the all-inclusive package...but we had enough before going to the club anyways. During the day, again, the music was very up to date and had lot's of variety- rock, hip hip, R&B, dance, latin, etc. The activities varied from good to boring, but the workers were enthusiastic and made everyone have a good time. The food was okay, but didn't sit very well in our stomachs (both of us each LOST 10 pounds), and this has never happened before when I've been in Dominican. The accomodations were alright. Each of the rooms we saw from the people we met were different...some were regular hotel size, with a window you could hardly see out of because it was covered in a wood design. We had this room but upgraded (thanks to some spanish-speaking people we met down there) to a room with a kitchen, and a huge room with a couch and a beautiful view. Other rooms had a loft upstairs with another bedroom...I was baffled by all of the different rooms. Neither of us really minded that the first room we had was so small because we weren't in the room that often but for people who like nice rooms, don't get the economy room. The closet was RIGHT beside the bed, you had to squeeze to get in it, and the room was pretty old looking...the wood on the windows (which was a bad idea also) was chipped, and the windows were dirty. The maids were great though, and the rooms were kept pretty clean, except for the tiny, tiny bugs crawling up the walls, and in the bathroom...they're not really an inconvienience, but for some it might be gross. Also, two people cannot open the closet drawers at the same time because they are right beside eachother, and the drawers won't open if the other person has their closet door open. It's kind of ridiculous that they haven't changed this concept. Overall, we had an excellent time, and the nighttime was probably our favourite part...oh, for the young people, go to Hemingways. It's a club/bar in the mall that is pretty fun as well. Its right in the Playa Dorada complex, so it's safe to walk there (although you shouldn't by yourself at night anyways) and all of the people who are staying in the surrounding resorts go there to party as well.
Soo...I think that young people would have a blast, but anyone who's really picky on accomadations shouldn't stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puerto Plata Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Plata Beach Resort

Address: Ave. General Gregorio Luperon | Malecon (city boardwalk), Puerto Plata 07393, Dominican Republic (Formerly Puerto Plata Beach Club & Casino)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Plata
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Plata
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Puerto Plata Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Puerto Plata Beach Resort, located on the Malecon in Puerto Plata Dominican Republic, offers breakfast and accommodation consists of 23 colonial-style buildings accommodating 40 Suites overlooking sea view and garden, relax in the large pool, jacuzzi and terrace, the hotel also has tennis courts, cafe, bar, spa, parking, reception and 24 hour security. Unique Hotel in the beautiful City boardwalk with great vegetation synonymous tranquility, privacy, enjoy in harmony with nature. And for lovers of extreme sports the hotel has access to the beautiful beach Kite Beach, ideal for those who wish to enter the Kite Surfing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Puerto Plata Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Plata Beach Club And Casino
Puerto Plata Beach Club Hotel Puerto Plata
Puerto Plata Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerto Plata Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.