We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One the great vacation ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada

Save Saved
You added Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 11111, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 41 hotels in Puerto Plata
Bronx
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One the great vacation ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I went to Puerto plata cabarete Oh my God it was a great vacation. The staff welcome as a friend and treat as a royalty. The time I went it was a little bit qiet but the exprience is unforgettable. The price is fair and it's all inclusive. It's not five star but it's worth the prie

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    314
    187
    119
    159
See reviews for
241
272
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fife scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

its one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.we were there last year in march. the food was excelent the animation team was brilliant good all round entertianment. the hotel is located just right.for trips you should to the mall its only a short walk away.go to james tours he is a canadian a genuine nice guy and a lot cheaper than the reps,and around the corner is an british pub ran by phill he is from yorkshire. we will defo go again baz and june from scotland

Room Tip: near to the crazy golf and 2 minutes to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trinidad
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

went to celuisma hotel on a charterer flight for carnival conducted by phill tours which was very good except when you entered the hotel its not available as yet and you have to pay an extra 15 usd to getsomething to eat and have a room that is ready for you,that looked real bad on behalf of thehotel and its crew,i stayed about 5 hours waiting and tired for that room that i double paid for ,celuisma you all get real its the people hard earn cash that you all are playing with and when you do get a room there are no towels,toilet not flushing,toilet and bathroom leaking and no electricity in certain parts of the room in room no 1845 room phone not working so you had to treek down two flight then go to the lobby to make my complains what a tired situation.

Room Tip: high top rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woods hole
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We paid $40 per day for all inclusive...I never tasted booze in my drinks...all watered down..no diet coke, no butter only foul margarine, no bacon, no orange juice, very rarely hot water for tea ,no chocolate desserts, over cooked mystery meat, no lettuce on the same night as tomatos, always rice and boiled potatos and bread, scrambled eggs stretched with potatos, hamburgs were hockey pucks. We didn't know that specialty restaurants only open one or two nights per week so totally booked...Italian Restaurant did not have bacon for Carbonara or grated cheese and bruschetta was thin slice of bread, untoasted with meat sauce...Mexican didn't have sour cream for quesadillas and made my roommate sick...Caribbean had great fish! All salads and desserts were the same as at the buffet. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at Green Jack Tar one resort away and the food was fabulous...chef trained in Orlando and spoke excellent English...really wonderful staff with a real bar with real alcohol. We highly recommend you spend the $$ and make the short walk.
As for our room: The door lock kept readjusting itself and we were locked out four times! We thought there was no hot water until we discovered hot was to the right and not left! The maid service was the best part...they did a great job and brought your requests in a heart beat. FYI...you have to request a hair dryer. Wifi was somewhat spotty and costly...opt for the $25 for 25 hours...a better option...Casino two doors down had boring slots and half were out of order

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is THE worst resort I have ever been to. My friend and I did a package for 7 days, 8 nights, including flight and the only reason we booked here is because of the cheap price. Well, you get what you pay for. How bad is it? Midway through our stay we checked out and went to another hotel, paying out of pocket just to get the hell out of this crap hole.
Firstly, the staff are incompetent, unfriendly and usually takes forever to do anything. When we came in, check in time was 3 pm, we had to wait till 5 pm for our room to be ready. Did I say room? I meant cave, which is what basically this room looked like. Bad lightning, no sunlight coming, 2 out of the 5 light bulbs in the room were burned out. Dirty fridge, Small TV, and the bathroom smelled! The only saving grace was the water pressure and the hot water.
So we asked for another room, they didn't have one ready until the next day.
Next day comes, we check into the other room, which basically was a bit of an upgrade, only problem? There is NO AC in the room. Just a fan setting, and the maintenance guy could not fix it. Thankfully the weather was nice.
Next, the food. If you want to lose weight, come here. The buffet they offered was dismal. The salad bar was filled with wilted lettuce and gross pasta salads that had chunks of beef (with questionable color). None of the dishes had any flavor and the meat (if you can call it that) was so tough you could not cut with a knife. The rice was bland and overcooked into lumps. The dessert was inedible, and even the fruit had no flavor. The watermelon was white, they had no bananas (this is a carribean country, isn't it?) I would not risk eating any of the meals here. The only thing I ate during my stay was the pizza, if you can call it that. Tough crust, smothered with ketchup for sauce and some kind of pseudo cheese on top.
This crap hole was all inclusive, so liquor was included in the price. The liquor is all watered down, they use the local brand 151, which we saw in the supermarket was a cheap brand, yet they felt the need to water it down. No flavor of rum, vodka, or any other liquor.
Next - No activities at night, no shows, no games to entertain, nothing but the chirp or crickets.
If i could give this place a zero, i would. Spend a little more and go somewhere else, preferably not puerta plata.

Room Tip: Puerta plata is dead. Our driver showed us that 7 out of the 14 resorts there have closed down. Go s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Upon arrival, room temp 85-90 degrees, no a/c, bellhop said a/c off between 1pm-5pm each day.
In room: 3 clumps of black hair in 3 different spots on bed sheet after removing bedspread. 24 hour dripping shower. Bathroom door wouldn't close due to sagging ceiling made of white panelling just holding on by L-brackets attached to wall. Bath tub was painted and peeling off. Paint falling off due to mold and mildew on soffit over makeup counter. Balcony sliding door would not close, left a 1/4 inch gap allowing music from bar to keep you awake until 2-3am. Expect to be woke up at 3-5am by staff with their speaker volume all the way up on their two-way radios. Also, critters running through soffit at night. 50% chance you will not have water for shower, if you do, 50% chance it will only be cold. Make sure you use the safe because crews will steal what is not locked up. Room phone didn't work. Bring stomach meds to help thru meals. Food was awful and all glasses smelled like a dirty dish rag. Buffet regularly runs out of silverware, service staff was inexperienced. Both beach bar and pool bar could NOT make the same drink twice even those listed on their specials due to running out of some required mixes. All inclusive here really means "all inclusive if they have it in stock that day." Beach staff "require" tips or forget about a second visit or eye contact. Restrooms in lobby, pool bar and beach bar won't have hand soap or paper towels. Hamburgers are never cooked thoroughly. Beds will be short-sheeted until you start leaving at least a $4 dollar tip on bed each day. Early bird gets a beach towel. Towels available at 8am, all gone by 9am. Beach chairs are back breakers. Don't try to lay on stomach. Canopy beds on beach are full of bacteria and smell. Mexican night: staff didn't know what goes into a margarita. Italian night: 90% noodles, 10% meat/fish. If you already made your reservation at the Celuisma, you really will be disappointed as were the 16 people in 7 different rooms in our group.

Room Tip: Choose a room in Punta Cana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is trying very hard to upgrade its appearance, and over all stigma. It has the best beach in Playa Dorada. There is always something it eat and the staff is great. A vacation is always what you make of it, not what it can make for you. See what DR is albout. Go out of the resort and experience life as they know it. I feel very safe there. Try speaking a bit of Spanish it helps. Dominicans like that and even when you can not speak the language well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada

Address: Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata 11111, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Hotel Puerto Plata
Tropical Playa Dorada
Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celuisma Tropical Playa Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.