We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Puerto Plata to your Saves list
Barcelo Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Dorada | PO BOX 54, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 50% discount
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Pennington, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stay their twice a year and everyone is nice and helpful. The hotel is clean and fun. We see the same people down their quite frequently people tend to return their. The swim up bar is very handy to get your drink. The mall on site is good in csse you forget anything.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay at Barceló Puerto Plata.
we are delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Barceló. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests. I will share your comments with our team members!
I look forward to welcoming you back to Barceló Puerto Plata..
Yours sincerely,

Ana Ruiz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    853
    494
    302
    272
See reviews for
489
821
87
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great beach vendors can be annoying. Great selection of food and very tasty. Lots of options for someone like me with celiac disease. we took club premium and its well worth it. we had a large suite and it was nice and clean. Staff was exceptional. Lack of chairs on the beach got to reserve early. Will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay at Barceló Puerto Plata.
we are delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Barceló. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests. I will share your comments with our team members!
I look forward to welcoming you back to Barceló Puerto Plata..
Yours sincerely,

Ana Ruiz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed 2 weeks. Beautiful grounds , clean, hard working and friendly staff. Room comfortable, 2 double beds, no king size as requested. Maid service excellent. Beautiful beach. Thumbs down to the same people who claimed huts daily by chaining the chairs to ensure their spot the next day...this was sickening. Food quality and variety was below average in the buffet. The home made pizza was excellent with great service. Ate off resort mostly. The resort doesn't appear to cater to those with special diets. A friend who is diabetic never had diet drinks in the fridge even upon request so would have to buy or walk to find something. Pool rules need to be more lenient of people who suffer in the direct sun. We were harassed and yelled at by the same pool boy because of wearing a cover up. It does say no street clothes in pool but daily there would be 1-6 people (kids, elderly, etc) with cover ups and they would not be approached in a rude manner. Security was called twice which was very humiliating but they sided with us each time. Management said it was ok to wear the cover up but only after a certain hour, but the harrassment continued. It is not all about beauty and skin in the pool. It was stated this is the Dominican rule which I don't agree..last yr in Punta Cana we were not affected by this so called rule and we talked to people at other resorts near the Barcelo who did not encounter this. Do not buy fishing trips from people on beach. Not enough water on boat and a promised lunch consisted of 1 banana and a piece of pineapple. Entertainment was good. If it wasn't for the pool rules and disrespect we would return.

Room Tip: Building #12 was exellent, close to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Puerto Plata on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.
We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced.
At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.
Once again, thank you for your comments. We deeply regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations in your stay.
Yours Sincerely,

Ana Ruiz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Travelled at a busy time, I know. University reading week :( - Resort was full to capacity. The staff definitely works hard and are generally pleasant. The usual large resort problems of fighting over deck chairs, in which clearly there are not enough and people are ignorant and claim them with a towel at 6am and don't even use them throughout the whole day!! I don't know it there will ever be a solution to that problem. The resort itself was very nice, food was good - no complaints. Usual activities, clean pools and nice beach. Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Puerto Plata on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We will share your comments with our team, who we are certain will be encouraged by your remarks. The hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.
Once again, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Barceló Puerto Plata.
Yours sincerely,

Ana Ruiz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

A well-maintained resort - beautiful beach, grounds are kept clean, the food is EXCELLENT, and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
Rooms, however, are extremely out-dated and need major renovating. Room service (i.e., cleaning) is sub-standard. Poor t.v. reception (old t.v.), poor phone service (at times not working), poor electrical set-up (main switch near door entrance controls all individual switches - so, to use the washroom, you must walk (in the dark) to the main door, turn the switch (which, in turn, turns all the lights in the room) and then walk to the washroom to turn on the light!).

In terms of shopping, Orange Market! Go to #2 - Mr Cheap (Santos Garcia). He'll give you great prices! And in terms of excursions, you can trust "Felix" on the beach. Good deals and great excursions. Try Dune Buggy riding ... it was amazing!!

Dona and Anat - February 4-11, 2013

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Puerto Plata on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.
We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced.
At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.
Once again, thank you for your comments. We deeply regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations in your stay.
Yours Sincerely,

Ana Ruiz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Travelled between Feb. 19-24. Check-in was a breeze and so was check out. Don't know what others were complaining about. The service was excellent and can't say enough of how super nice, friendly, and helpful all who work there. The people were the best. There is something for everyone in regards to activities and food. If others say that the food was just ok, they don't have know good food to begin with. There were some very good dishes and plenty of variety each and every day. My husband and I couldn't come up with one true negative thing to say about our stay. It's not a 5 star hotel by any means, but it offers quite a lot for the value. The a la carte restaurants were quite nice, especially the Brazilian, and oriental. Reservations must be made the day before and some people might find that annoying, but it's duable to wait 5-10 minutes on line to make a reservation. Breakfast was terrific every morning and I had to stop myself from eating all my favorite breakfast foods. There was so much to choose from--a little overwhelming. Loved the beach area. It was such a long stretch of beach. Great walking after each meal. Yes, they were vendors on the beach, but if you just said, "No, thank you" they wouldn't bother you. However, if you did give the slightest interest in some merchandise, they could be a bit persistent, but friendly. Everything was very clean and there were plenty of security guards throughout the entire hotel complex. Felt very safe and secure. MUST get up early to get beach chairs or pool chairs (Before 8 am), but that happens at all these resorts--nothing new. Was at the Westin in Aruba last year and preferred Barcelo over the Westin. Overall, it was a very nice vacation and the resort was just fine. Would return.

Room Tip: Honestly, all rooms are good. IIf you plan on going to bed before 11 pm then you should stay in bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive the warmest greetings from Barceló Puerto Plata. We would like to thank you for posting such a delighting comment and for having chosen us to spend your vacations. It is extremely rewarding to read we were able to provide you an excellent vacations and that we were able to fulfill all expectations.
Thank you for such encouraging and positive comments towards our staff and food ; it is very rewarding to read that our staff’s hospitality and friendliness really made a difference and enhanced your vacations. We are glad you enjoyed all activities.
On behalf of our staff, please know it was a pleasure to have served you and we are looking forward to providing you with another dreamy vacation.

Best Regards,
Ana Ruiz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at Barceló PP for 1 week in celebration of my dads 60th bday. We had a great time! There is tons of food available, pretty good food. The rooms were decent , nothing to brag about. In general if you want to save some $$ and have a relaxing vacation I'd recommend this place. I love DR and so did my family when we went. The hotel is in a fated community so playa dorado adds extra security in comparison to sag Sosua.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive the warmest greetings from Barceló Puerto Plata. We would like to thank you for posting such a delighting comment and for having chosen us to spend your vacations. It is extremely rewarding to read we were able to provide you an excellent vacations and that we were able to fulfill all expectations.
Thank you for such encouraging and positive comments towards our staff and food ; it is very rewarding to read that our staff’s hospitality and friendliness really made a difference and enhanced your vacations. We are glad you enjoyed all activities.
On behalf of our staff, please know it was a pleasure to have served you and we are looking forward to providing you with another dreamy vacation.

Best Regards,

Ana Ruiz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Barcelo Puerto Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Plata

Address: Playa Dorada | PO BOX 54, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Puerto Plata 3.5*
Number of rooms: 582
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Plata Hotel Puerto Plata
Puerto Plata Barcelo
Grand Flamenco
Occidental Grand Puerto Plata
Occidental Grand Flamenco Puerto Plata
Grand Puerto Plata
Flamenco Occidental
Barcelo Puerto Plata Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Puerto Plata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.