We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pool rules are atrocious!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Puerto Plata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Dorada | PO BOX 54, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Puerto Plata
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
“The pool rules are atrocious!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed 2 weeks. Beautiful grounds , clean, hard working and friendly staff. Room comfortable, 2 double beds, no king size as requested. Maid service excellent. Beautiful beach. Thumbs down to the same people who claimed huts daily by chaining the chairs to ensure their spot the next day...this was sickening. Food quality and variety was below average in the buffet. The home made pizza was excellent with great service. Ate off resort mostly. The resort doesn't appear to cater to those with special diets. A friend who is diabetic never had diet drinks in the fridge even upon request so would have to buy or walk to find something. Pool rules need to be more lenient of people who suffer in the direct sun. We were harassed and yelled at by the same pool boy because of wearing a cover up. It does say no street clothes in pool but daily there would be 1-6 people (kids, elderly, etc) with cover ups and they would not be approached in a rude manner. Security was called twice which was very humiliating but they sided with us each time. Management said it was ok to wear the cover up but only after a certain hour, but the harrassment continued. It is not all about beauty and skin in the pool. It was stated this is the Dominican rule which I don't agree..last yr in Punta Cana we were not affected by this so called rule and we talked to people at other resorts near the Barcelo who did not encounter this. Do not buy fishing trips from people on beach. Not enough water on boat and a promised lunch consisted of 1 banana and a piece of pineapple. Entertainment was good. If it wasn't for the pool rules and disrespect we would return.

Room Tip: Building #12 was exellent, close to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Puerto Plata on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.
We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced.
At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.
Once again, thank you for your comments. We deeply regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations in your stay.
Yours Sincerely,

Ana Ruiz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    754
    448
    278
    247
See reviews for
441
737
74
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Travelled at a busy time, I know. University reading week :( - Resort was full to capacity. The staff definitely works hard and are generally pleasant. The usual large resort problems of fighting over deck chairs, in which clearly there are not enough and people are ignorant and claim them with a towel at 6am and don't even use them throughout the whole day!! I don't know it there will ever be a solution to that problem. The resort itself was very nice, food was good - no complaints. Usual activities, clean pools and nice beach. Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Puerto Plata on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We will share your comments with our team, who we are certain will be encouraged by your remarks. The hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.
Once again, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Barceló Puerto Plata.
Yours sincerely,

Ana Ruiz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

A well-maintained resort - beautiful beach, grounds are kept clean, the food is EXCELLENT, and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
Rooms, however, are extremely out-dated and need major renovating. Room service (i.e., cleaning) is sub-standard. Poor t.v. reception (old t.v.), poor phone service (at times not working), poor electrical set-up (main switch near door entrance controls all individual switches - so, to use the washroom, you must walk (in the dark) to the main door, turn the switch (which, in turn, turns all the lights in the room) and then walk to the washroom to turn on the light!).

In terms of shopping, Orange Market! Go to #2 - Mr Cheap (Santos Garcia). He'll give you great prices! And in terms of excursions, you can trust "Felix" on the beach. Good deals and great excursions. Try Dune Buggy riding ... it was amazing!!

Dona and Anat - February 4-11, 2013

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Puerto Plata on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.
We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced.
At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.
Once again, thank you for your comments. We deeply regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations in your stay.
Yours Sincerely,

Ana Ruiz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Travelled between Feb. 19-24. Check-in was a breeze and so was check out. Don't know what others were complaining about. The service was excellent and can't say enough of how super nice, friendly, and helpful all who work there. The people were the best. There is something for everyone in regards to activities and food. If others say that the food was just ok, they don't have know good food to begin with. There were some very good dishes and plenty of variety each and every day. My husband and I couldn't come up with one true negative thing to say about our stay. It's not a 5 star hotel by any means, but it offers quite a lot for the value. The a la carte restaurants were quite nice, especially the Brazilian, and oriental. Reservations must be made the day before and some people might find that annoying, but it's duable to wait 5-10 minutes on line to make a reservation. Breakfast was terrific every morning and I had to stop myself from eating all my favorite breakfast foods. There was so much to choose from--a little overwhelming. Loved the beach area. It was such a long stretch of beach. Great walking after each meal. Yes, they were vendors on the beach, but if you just said, "No, thank you" they wouldn't bother you. However, if you did give the slightest interest in some merchandise, they could be a bit persistent, but friendly. Everything was very clean and there were plenty of security guards throughout the entire hotel complex. Felt very safe and secure. MUST get up early to get beach chairs or pool chairs (Before 8 am), but that happens at all these resorts--nothing new. Was at the Westin in Aruba last year and preferred Barcelo over the Westin. Overall, it was a very nice vacation and the resort was just fine. Would return.

Room Tip: Honestly, all rooms are good. IIf you plan on going to bed before 11 pm then you should stay in bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive the warmest greetings from Barceló Puerto Plata. We would like to thank you for posting such a delighting comment and for having chosen us to spend your vacations. It is extremely rewarding to read we were able to provide you an excellent vacations and that we were able to fulfill all expectations.
Thank you for such encouraging and positive comments towards our staff and food ; it is very rewarding to read that our staff’s hospitality and friendliness really made a difference and enhanced your vacations. We are glad you enjoyed all activities.
On behalf of our staff, please know it was a pleasure to have served you and we are looking forward to providing you with another dreamy vacation.

Best Regards,
Ana Ruiz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My family and I stayed at Barceló PP for 1 week in celebration of my dads 60th bday. We had a great time! There is tons of food available, pretty good food. The rooms were decent , nothing to brag about. In general if you want to save some $$ and have a relaxing vacation I'd recommend this place. I love DR and so did my family when we went. The hotel is in a fated community so playa dorado adds extra security in comparison to sag Sosua.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Receive the warmest greetings from Barceló Puerto Plata. We would like to thank you for posting such a delighting comment and for having chosen us to spend your vacations. It is extremely rewarding to read we were able to provide you an excellent vacations and that we were able to fulfill all expectations.
Thank you for such encouraging and positive comments towards our staff and food ; it is very rewarding to read that our staff’s hospitality and friendliness really made a difference and enhanced your vacations. We are glad you enjoyed all activities.
On behalf of our staff, please know it was a pleasure to have served you and we are looking forward to providing you with another dreamy vacation.

Best Regards,

Ana Ruiz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Travelled Feb 9-26, 2013 as a couple for honeymoon/ 1 year anniversary.

Been to dominican and various resorts in Puerto Plata a dozen times as well as Punta Cana a few times. This is our second stay at Barcelo, the first time bring when it was the Grand Flaminco.

Arrived at the hotel aorund 3:30 and were the only people checking in so it was a fast process. Placed in building 6. Upon entering the room it was one with 2 "double" beds, that are in no way doubles. So we just pushed them together. Went for a walk to refamilarize with the resort and realized just how far from everything we were, especially the beach (which is important as we are not pool people in the slightest, and with being pregnant the long treck multiple times a day was not really an option). So we went back to the desk and asked to switch rooms. Informed the hotel was full but we could move on Thursday. Thursday saw us to a room in buliding one, where we pushed the bed together again.

After a complaint to the maid the first day when there was no coke or presidente in the fridge, there was some there everyday following. Left tips and gifts on the bed everyday.

Beach is wonderful. We are early risers (around 7) and always ot chairs on the beach and noticed that you could continue to find them until about 8am, however walking by the pool for breakfast at 7:15 we could see no chairs were left there. Lots of vendors on the beach, a simple no thank you or maybe another day suffice to have them leave you alone, but we love interacting with and just talking to them. We know quite a few of them very well. Water was a bit rough on this trip but still enjoyable.

Food, overall this was the most dissapointing aspect of the resort for us. There was a good variety, but the overall buffet selection was extremely small compared to other 4 star resorts, and food unless gotten right from the grill was always lukewarm/cold. It did not change much day to day except for the aisian theme night. We split our lunches between the buffet and the beach grill. If you have buffet for lunch except to see most of the same stuff for supper. Beach grill was usually pretty good, didn't change on a daily basis outside of pasta/rice and occasionaly one pan of meat, but foor there was convient.

We ate the Brazillian, Seafood, and Italian resturant. Brazillian was good if you are a big meat eater (I rarely ever eat meat and so didn't enjoy it), however it was neat to see the meat come out on big scewers. Itialian was very good for the pasta. Husband got the beef and it was very tough. Seafood was interesting, we tried things that we had no idea what they were, and it was a good experience even though we didn't like everything.

Line up for the beach bar could get long but would move fast. Had more trouble up at the other bars where people come at it from all angles and the bartender doesn't keep track of who should be next. Can not speak as to alcoholic drinks as we did not indulge.

Grounds looked nice and were well kept, always say people working on them.

We booked a trip for an amphibian tour, which was amazing. Started out in a truck which turned into a boat and we went down a river to a little spot where we got to see and hold turtles, lizards and more. They brought us around a garden and explained the local plants and what could be used as medicines and so on. We then boarder our boat again and contined down the river to where it starts to join up with the ocean, they let us take turns driving the "boat". We docked again at a small isolated beach where we were fed an excellent dominican lunch. We then drove on land to Sousa Bay where you could swim/snorkel/shop for a few hours. Wonderful trip, booked on the beach. We only ever book on the beach. All vendors are licenced by their government and have indentification numbers so if there is ever a problem (we have never had one) you can easily resolve it and it is much cheaper than the resort (unless you want ocean world where prices are set and the same everywhere).

Every sunday in Feb, there is the Carnaval in the city. People travel from all across the island to attend. We went there with a local who we know very well and his family after taking them out for supper. Best experience I have had in a long time. The costumes and dancers are amazing and people just mingle and talk to everyone. Very different from celebrations at home and well worth your time to check it out.

When it comes to buying from the vendors or down out the orange huts don't be afraid to haggle and start at extremely low numbers. Pick your final price and hold to it as they will try to get even a dollar more. If you can't get something for the price you want then walk away they will either chase you and accept your price or you will find the exact same item in every other shop.

Vendor #8 at Gran Ventana is the best hiar briader on the beach. Bargain with her for a good price or offer a a gift for a discount. We paid $25 for my entire head and all my hair (same price we paid her last year).

The animation team was a dissapointment as well. I know there was only 2 of us but they never once attempted any kind of interaction with us and always went to groups of at least 6 people or more. We were saddened by this as they tend to be great guys to talk to and joke with even if only for 5 min of your day but they wanted nothing do with individual couples.

Overall our trip was amazing and the resort was good, just a bit dissapointing and very much lacking when compared to all the other 4 star resorts we stayed at.

Room Tip: If you don't want to have to walk for 10 minutes to get across the resort, then make sure you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Puerto Plata on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guest.
We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced.
At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in our hotel and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.
Once again, thank you for your comments. We deeply regret not having been able to fulfill your expectations in your stay.
Yours Sincerely,

Ana Ruiz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I would rate this resort as average as I have been to nicer hotels in the Dominican.. The grounds were nice, rooms were fairly nice, but a bit dated. There was a lot of construction going on around the outskirts of the resort.

I had a great time, as I shared it with great people.. The pool always had fun activities and entertainment going on and the swim up bar was a hit with our group.. Stayed at the pool more than the beach.. We travelled in February so we found the beach a bit windy.

There were alot of young people at the resort so the nightlife was a lot of fun.

I would have to say though that the food is not the best. I am not picky, and I actually ate a restaurant every day, which is not good as I paid for "all inclusive".. Breakfast was good, and I like the pasta bar.. There is a shopping mall close by and as I mentioned I ate a a nice restaurant quite a few times called Senior Rock Cafe.. It was really yummy.

I might consider going here again if it were on for a good price..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelopop, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Plata, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Barceló Puerto Plata on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We will share your comments with our team, who we are certain will be encouraged by your remarks. The hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.
Once again, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Barceló Puerto Plata.
Yours sincerely,

Ana Ruiz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Puerto Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Plata

Address: Playa Dorada | PO BOX 54, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Puerto Plata 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Plata Hotel Puerto Plata
Puerto Plata Barcelo
Grand Flamenco
Occidental Grand Puerto Plata
Occidental Grand Flamenco Puerto Plata
Grand Puerto Plata
Flamenco Occidental
Barcelo Puerto Plata Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Puerto Plata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.