We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough start to a great trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Puerto Plata

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Puerto Plata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Dorada | PO BOX 54, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 41 hotels in Puerto Plata
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rough start to a great trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

First of all thanks Barcelo for a good time. Now to the meat of the review;
ROOMS
Regular rooms - nice rooms nothing special, there was a little funk smell.. the king size bed was two doubles put together, but the worst part was the shower. There was no hot water, there was virtually no water pressure (it was trickling out) and a pool formed at the bottom of the tub that was about inches deep. Sooo... we upgraded (like a lot of the people on this board have said to do).
Upgrade Premium Suite - We had a living room, two balconies, a dining room, and an actual king size bed!!! We also got two showers, with hot water and water pressure. But the best part was the fact that we had our own food now (there was a special buffet) and premium drinks (nothing watered down, sky vodka and Bombay gin). This was an extra 36/day per person.. but you dont have to go all out and get a living room.. there is an option for just a room without the living room which is cheaper. But it is SO worth it.
FOOD
Buffet - not the best! The breakfast isn't too bad, they make eggs which are pretty good, lunch was meh... and then the dinner is not good at all. Make sure to book a-la-carte each night (if you are in a regular room, you need to book it the day before but be careful - they book up very quickly, and if you are in a premium room - you can book advance all week). They had Brazilian, Oriental (we didn't get a chance to try it but we heard it was really good!), Italian, Mexican (Stay away from the red sauce - lethal.. i thought it was chili sauce and loaded up on it, nope - SUPER spicy), Seafood etc. The food in the premium resort is am-a-zing! Also - there is a pizza hut a 2 minute walk from the resort.. so you can always go there :) (it was good).
Beach - great! they cleaned it regularly.. there was some sea crud.. but thats to be expected. There are a lot of people selling stuff to you walking around. The first few days you're going to get hounded, but once they realize you've been there for a while, they will leave you alone. TIP - Don't wear sunglasses if you're sleeping or just closing your eyes on the beach, if they see that your eyes are closed, they will walk right by you.
Pool - great as well! Warning - i think they just recently painted the pool, so your feet come out blue on the bottoms! Not a big deal, comes right off.
Entertainment - AMAZING! they try super hard there, and you can tell. They make sure that you have a good time. A lot of people complained that a lot of locals come to the resort on the weekend (which they do), but it made for a better time! During the week the resort isn't overly busy, but it's nice to get that huge influx of people. They have shows every night in Spanish (you can still follow along with what is going on, I dont know any), and the Disco is by the beach and starts right after the show is done. It is busier on the weekend, but there are still people that go during the week (they only play Spanish music.. and a lot of Gangnam style.. which i clearly DONT mind). Shout out to the entertainer Luz - you are amazing!

All in all - it was a great trip! The start was rough just because of the room and the food, but when we upgraded it made a world of a difference! We did some off resort trips (one to Paradise Island which was good.. a little bit of a long drive) and the second was HorseBack Riding (life changing - great well kept horses, and the staff were amazing.. we were lucky too so we got a group full of experienced riders). Below is the link, they gave me a stallion that was named Rosie (?) and was a great ride!
http://www.tripadvisor.ca/Attraction_Review-g147290-d647750-Reviews-Rancho_Lorilar-Puerto_Plata_Puerto_Plata_Province_Dominican_Republic.html

We will go back. I recommend it - but upgrade upgrade upgrraaade!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    528
    749
    444
    277
    246
See reviews for
439
734
72
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

excellent, beautiful, good food, big pools, nice beaches, and also good attention. I staid for 3 days and it was awesome. Great beds, nice pillows, clean pools, clean clear beaches, nice staffs, room clean, small fridge was full of food, nice cool room, excellent disco, and also great play ground for kids to play save.I went to 46 hotels in my hole life and i'm all ready 35 but this one was the best trust me!

Room Tip: big rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Live Oak, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

the best barcelo is in san de marcois..hahah...the beach here was dirty with leaves and small twigs...the food wasnt nearly as good or with the variety of the other barcelo..the staff were friendly but slow to respond in any regard...bed was firm which was great...pillows were nice...bathroom large with a small toilet...need to be elongated...not much water pressure and shower head was junk...

Room Tip: pick a room away from the front the music is loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktichener
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were also stranded here for one night due to Canjet and our room was 9216. The mildew in the room was gross.The room had no hot water and it looked really run down. The biggest problem was the disco which ran until 5;15 am and it was very loud. Who could sleep? Thank-god we didn't book a room here for the week.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

excusions are fun fun , inexpensive see alex -food is good , al carte restaurants are very good, the staff is happy , rooms clean ,overall no problems --yes i would recomend anybody to stay here -- we upgraded to prestige -- this gives you a free bottle of rum, towels stocked fridge daily -- we did not get sick once , entertainment was great ,, hola

Room Tip: wetayed on the first floor , located on south side ,very quiet, security is always around , A/C wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I took a last minute four day trip to DR and looked for a reasonably priced hotel for a couple nights and figured if we decided we didn't like it we would stay elsewhere for the last 2 days. Well, once at Barcelo, there was NEVER a need or reason for us to look elsewhere. From check in to check out we had no complaints. On check in, Luis, was happy to speak in Spanish (our request) so my husband and I could practice our Spanish and he clarified and corrected our pronunciation.EVERY staff member was friendly and helpful. I generally look for 3 things .1) cleanliness (room and environment) .2) customer service and .3) Good food (if applicable) I give Barcelo and over all A. the room was clean (but daily housekeeping was around 2:30 pm B) and I liked their eco-friendly suggestions, service was A+ and the food (A+) was by far the best I have had at ANY all inclusive. Lobster (1st & 3rd night), steak, fish, chicken and the list goes on the food was delicious and there was always a vegetarian option and lots of fresh exotic fruits! I love the fact that there was a mix of tourist and locals. Drinks were OK (wine was B-), but if you're there to have a fun time that wouldn't matter. There were several family with children and although we were there as a couple, NOT once did we fell like we were at a "family" resort. Somehow, Family, singles and couples can all be here and have a GREAT time. The Beach at Barcelo was beautiful! We rented a car and hired a guide, Francesco, who was EXCELLENT!!!, we were able to visit Sousa, Cabarete, 27 waterfalls and Isabel de Torres, Amber museum and a few places "off the beaten path". My family is planning a trip with the kids and guess where we will be staying.....BARCELO!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The good points:
- relatively inexpensive
- in general, the personnal is nice and friendly, most are always smiling and very polite (if I say most, it is because some seem to forget that they are dealing with paying customers)
- in general, the service at the buffet and in the specialty restaurants was excellent
- in general, the food was very good and with almost enough variety at the buffet
- coffee was very good
- house wine (both red and white) was good
- close to airport
- nice beach (Playa Dorada)
- quiet sea
- nice pool area
- if one enjoys animation, it was lively and well organized

The bad points:
- hotel is due for a serious renovation (the Barcelo chain is known for very high quality resort 4 stars and more, this one is "only" a 3 stars establishment)
- rooms are fine, but they must be refreshed
- beds are old and, in my opinion, should simply be put out to the garbage
- bathrooms are barely functional (in our first room, the shower head was clogged and the drain didn't work, in our second room, the shower worked fine but the toilet was barely flushing)
- our first room, in building 10, was facing the Coco Bongo discotheque, in a nearby shopping center (cover and unlimited booze for 15$), the noise until 5am was unbearable
- our second room was quieter, completely at the end of building 11,but the guest staying in the room below was always drunk and screaming (when he was not sleeping) (though, not the fault of the hotel)
- the beach was nice and we were able to walk quietly for miles early in the morning however, as soon as the tourists start coming to the beach so are the vendors, lots of them, relentless, one wave after the other, constantly offering hair braids, sunglasses, rhum, cigars, t-shirts and dresses, bracelets, on and on, all day. I understand that they have to make a living and feed their family, but, it never ends, let's say that it grows tiresome
- the drinks at the bar (margaritas, rhum punch, etc) were ordinary
- finaly, the specialty restaurants, for some of them, one can make a reservation the day before, except for the "oriental" where one must reserve only on the morning of the day when it will be open for supper; you have to go through the "guest services clerk" and one of the clerk really doesn't like her job, we called her Miss Smiley, that was not really enjoyable.

Conclusion : If you enjoy a lively resort, want to party, drink a lot of booze and don't mind the noise, that's a good place to go. If you are looking for a nice and quiet place, take the time to look elsewhere.

Finally, a congratulation note to the Air Canada Vacations representative, Mr Guy Sanschagrin, he does an excellent job, knows Puerto Plata, where to go, what to avoid and so on. He took care of us and made sure that we get a quieter room.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a suite or a room in the Premium Club area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Puerto Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Plata

Address: Playa Dorada | PO BOX 54, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Puerto Plata 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Puerto Plata Hotel Puerto Plata
Puerto Plata Barcelo
Grand Flamenco
Occidental Grand Puerto Plata
Occidental Grand Flamenco Puerto Plata
Grand Puerto Plata
Flamenco Occidental
Barcelo Puerto Plata Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Puerto Plata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.