We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sosua Beach

Sosua Beach
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 24 attractions in Puerto Plata
Type: Beaches
Activities: Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This often crowded beach features white sand and turquoise waters.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Took a taxi from our hotel to Sousa Beach. A little gem. Enjoyed the entire day. Wish we would of stayed at a hotel in Sousa rather than the Puerta Plata. The shop owners take good care of you. Rent a beach chair from the shop owners for the entire day for $2. They will bring your lunch and drinks right to your chair. We ate at the delicious Scandinavian Beach Bar. Has many flags out front, can't miss it. Places to shower for $1. The beach was clean and beautiful. I miss the sounds of the waves. This was by far the best day of our Dominican vacation.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    125
    46
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great town, beautiful beaches.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

One of the most beautiful beaches in the D. R.,a must visit place!
You can find great seafood along with international cuisine, and excellent nightclub entertainment. The beach offers several attractions, such as sunbathing, snorkeling, water skiing, scuba diving, and live music. In the winter, whale watching is also a popular tourist activity, maybe I experience myself next time.
The water in the bay is very clear with amazing views of the bay.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shasta Lake
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to buy souveniers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Good snorkeling beach. You can get food and be served while you kick back in lounge chairs. There is also a long row of shops right on the beach where you can pick up local items to take home. Everything will be over priced, you can always get them to lower the prices considerably.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almond WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Can't get any brighter.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Beach was absolutely beautiful! Played in the waves for hours. Ate at a Scandinavian place with flags outside the hut. Food was fantastic. Even had a pineapple drink in the pineapple. Not expensive at all. Cool tourist shopping area as well. Liked everything about it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I liked the beach and the snorkelling is great. Lots of street vendors. A few hotels are closed and I think the economic situation is not very good. Definetly worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sosua Beach also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Sosua Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sosua Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sosua Beach to your Saves list