We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City tour to the Fort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort San Felipe

Fort San Felipe
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Update attraction details
Ranked #10 of 24 attractions in Puerto Plata
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the first European forts to be constructed in the Americas.
reinbeck
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“City tour to the Fort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I thought the fort was interesting. It was part of a city tour that we took. I have been to quite a few forts and they start to look a lot a like. I recommend going if it fits your schedule

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    70
    66
    13
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We took our own taxi to the fort and loved that they gave us headsets with little devices that you typed in the number of the exibit you wanted to know about and it told you that information. Only 100 pesos to enter. Vendors are at the exit (mostly) but a polite smile and 'no gracias' and they leave you alone. Well worth the time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Vendor trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was a part of our city tour that included the rum factory, amber museum, City Square, Cathedral, and other points of interest. The fort is small and looks interesting from the exterior. You need to pay to get in. See other reviews for the self-guided tour info. Be prepared to run the gauntlet through the vendors when you get off the tour bus. Actually, consider staying on the bus. It would have been good if the interior tour cost was covered in the city tour price.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Small, weird audio tour, cheap, good view.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Cheap to get in, includes boring audio tour. Very small. Museum exhibits explain very little of history or importance. Good views of the harbour and coast. A funny little stop, if you're into that.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Impressive fortress, recommend to visit. After that take a walk along the sea thgough Malecon Boulevard.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort San Felipe also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Fort San Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort San Felipe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.