We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of City Tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amber Museum

Amber Museum
61 Duarte St | Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
809-586-2848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 25 attractions in Puerto Plata
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This two-story Victorian museum holds the largest collection of amber in the world.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Part of City Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We visited the Amber Museum for about 45 minutes as part of the 1/2 day City Tour. The museum was very informative and educational. At the end they give you a shot of Mamawana and I had the chance to roll my own cigar!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    49
    93
    18
    24
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The amber museum is a good addition to the visit to town. It was amazing to see all the amber found off the coast.

Both me and my o/h enjoyed looking round as neither of us realised the Dominican produced amber.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Short Look n' See”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just a little interesting. Its a pretty fast walk through. Small museum with lots of insect covered amber and vegetation. Nothing really spectacular. If amber is your thing then you will enjoy. Not a top notch type of museum. Looks like a high school science fair set up.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reinbeck
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“City Tour Amber Museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

It was part of a city tour that we took. I wasn't sure if the jewelry was a bargain but we did purchase something.I personally wouldn't make a special trip to see it but it was part of the city tour we took.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petawawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

this was worth going to as it was quite educational and interesting. you can take photos as long as you don't use your flash

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amber Museum also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Amber Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amber Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amber Museum to your Saves list