We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local Restaurant to eat "Chivo"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant La Ponderosa del Mar

Restaurant La Ponderosa del Mar
Puerto Plata | Calle 12 de Julio No. 156, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic
809-586-1597
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 68 restaurants in Puerto Plata
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Excellent local Restaurant to eat "Chivo"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

La ponderosa del Mar is a small local restaurant where Dominicans eat the best Chivo in town.
In addition, they sell sea food, such as Lobsters, shrimp and fish. However, me and wife wanted to eat Chivo and it was delicious. You can order a nice bottle of wine "Casillero del D. Chileno which is a good combination with the Chivo Dinner plate. Therefore, if you are staing in a resort just call the guess service and ask them to get you a Taxy from the hotel and they will take you to "La Ponderosa del Mar" in Puerto Plata it maybe around $40 USD roundtrip depending where you are.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    35
    12
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“sooo goood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have to say this was one of the best meals i ever had, especially outside of the USA we got lobster which you pick out of the tank yourself so so good we got it grilled it comes with rice or fries , also we tried to appitizers shrimp cocktail and lobster cocktail both which were amazing not served like cocktail here but was soo good they bring fresh bread which has a real garlic butter on it which is so good,we also had 2 desserts the flan which tasted like butterscotch was so good and we had dominican candy which tasted like a bon bon with out the chocolate shell over all this made our valentines dinner an exceptional experience our tummies were so happy

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We landed on this restaurant just coming off the Metro bus. It was the more interesting choice we saw among the restaurants in the area. It looks like a boat from the outside. Food was good, and plenty, imagine we were two and ordered just for one and they waiters were friendly and comprehensible and gave us utensils for two.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Eat Lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Order the fresh lobster, grilled. It is delicious. Cannot say anything about the rest of the menu. Wine was not good But lobsters were wonderful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good for a quick bite to eat.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

It’s a clean little restaurant in the city of Puerto Plata,

I wasn’t looking for an extended meal at the time, just a quick bite to eat for a late lunch.

Interesting set up -they have lobster tanks surrounding the outside, if you’re into lobster it is a pick your own lobster restaurant.

They also take visa! Not many places do around there....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Ponderosa del Mar also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province

Been to Restaurant La Ponderosa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant La Ponderosa del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.