We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club

Save Saved
You added Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club
Corfresi Beach #2, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 hotels in Puerto Plata
1 review
“Review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great staff very friendly. Best staff member by far is Salami Strong!!! VIP beach was great very nice cabanas and servers. Snorkeling trip was also good and our guide Beta did a great job. Loved the shows. Wish the restaurants were a little better. The Bellini was the best out of all the restaurants. The Confresi hotel pools were a little better than the tropicals.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    400
    149
    85
    69
    117
See reviews for
289
227
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sandy utah
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This wasn't a bad place, but for the price, it was too expensive. The room was exceptional, clean and modern. The food was not good, and often the buffet wasn't well stocked. We tried from the time we checked in using the VIP level and were never able to get the time or place we wanted to eat. Serenity beach isn't a very good swimming beach, but the chairs and beds were great.

Room Tip: the presidentail suites were great and very well maintained we have been other times and the rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This review is for "Papi Cafe". Papi Cafe was great! He entertains the guests with fun games and funny sayings "Oh my Mommy!" and more. He was organized and very outgoing. He worked early morning until late at night just to ensure that you were enjoying yourself. He remembers your names after the first time meeting you. He is very informative about the resort and the areas surrounding the resort. We had a blast with him and cannot wait to see him again at our next vacation next year! Thank you Papi for a fun time!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Lifestyles Tropical during the July 4th week. Overall, it was an ok stay but we were expecting a bit more.

The rooms were a little run down but functional. The lock for sliding door for our balcony broke on its first use but maintenance fixed it in about 30min. The air conditioning knob was broken off the control but we were able to adjust the temperature by pressing on it while turning. The bathroom windows don't fully close (are horizontal pieces) which keeps the bathroom a bit warm and allows loud noises through but keeping the bathroom door closed helped this. Also, the resort suffers from frequent power outages of about 30min in length. The bed was comfortable and we were easily able to get more than the standard 2 pillows. Our mini fridge was not consistently stocked (1 beer, 1 Pepsi, and 2 waters when we go there for the 2 adults staying in the room; 2 waters the next day; nothing the next two; and 2 bottles the last two). The shampoo and conditioner bottles were pretty obviously refilled and not fresh.

By far the largest negative for the place is the class like system that is in place for the VIP vs not-VIP. The cheapcaribbean deal gets you access to the VIP beach and bar at that beach but there were several times where we were turned away from a bar, beach, and restaurant because we were wearing the inferior wrist band. Also, the current deal through cheapcaribbean is a promotion from Lifestyles whereby we stay there without any money going to Lifestyles (most of the price of the trip is in the flights and I don't know where the rest goes) in exchange for them trying to sell you their vacation sharing. You get asked about every morning if you arrived yesterday since if you did, they'll expect you to do the "presentation". The salesperson wasn't too pushy and let us leave after 30min or so with our free gift.

The drinks were great and far exceeded our expectations on taste and being strong. There is no option for higher end alcohol and only the local El Presidente beer but overall, we liked the drinks.

The food had a lot to be desired. All meals had the exact same food for every breakfast, lunch, and dinner. A notable exception to this was the smoothie bar for breakfast at the Casablanca if you dare wait in line (get her some more blenders!!). The Blue Lagoon was a good place to grab lunch (same food as Casablanca but not as crowded) as this is the only time non-VIPs can eat there. We were limited to two reservations at the restaurants and changing things was a huge hassle (can only change the location of your reservation from 9-10am, number of people from 2-3pm, etc.). We were hoping for an escape from the same-same-same buffet at our reservations but unfortunately the food there didn't taste much better. The Mexican restaurant was pretty bad and the International (Johnny's) was in a weird location off to the side of one of the clubs.

The grounds were very well maintained (there was always someone picking up lazy tourists trash). The layout between the different resorts was a bit confusing as the provided map wasn't very accurate to find the other restaurants. We were able to park our rental car pretty close but the lot/empty grassy/gravel area was always full and many times we got the last spot. The free Wi-Fi was a pain to walk to the VIP beach to get but I later found (the free Wi-Fi stopped working so I complained to the front desk who then told me) that the road that separates the Tropical from the villas has free Wi-Fi as well which is much closer to the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Overall we had a great time. They have a lot of fun events like the welcome party, shows, entertainment. The pools and beaches were beautiful!! The food wasn't great, definitely recommend the restaurants over the buffets. Last but not least spend a little and get VIP it will be worth it because they have more access to different bars restaurants and beaches. Big shoutout to salami and big Papi. They were great. The staff was all great and made the stay so enjoyable and fun.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Loved this resort! Every worker was so nice! They always made you feel welcomed. These few workers stood out the most to me, big papi, salami, marcos, Wilson, and luis. Service was great, restaurants were good, rooms were comfortable. Loved it all! We stayed at the Tropical Resorts and had a blast! Definitely recommend this place! -lisa :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had recently purchased a vacation plan and was told the Presidential Suites in Puerta Plata was the BEST one to visit. They were correct! LHVC Presidential Suites was stunning! The service throughout was great, the staff couldn't do enough for you. My husband and I enjoyed one place especially for breakfast. (Although I cannot remember the name of it!) It was a restaurant right by the tennis courts! If you visit the LHVC in the DR be sure to make reservations for dinner at one of the many specialty restaurants each night, you will not be disappointed! (do it the 1st day of your vacation, they book up quickly) Our kids (6 of them) loved the "swim up-to bars" (they are all adults by the way) The swimming pools are amazing! There were many of them. It was a very relaxed vacation for us all. Make sure you do an excursion!! We went on a boat ride to Paradise Island to snorkel and it was FABULOUS!! My husband and I did a couples spa day (that was nice!) We will definitely do this trip again.
There were a few downsides to the vacation...when you are at the airport you will get bombarded by people to carry your luggage. It was a bit annoying but later we found out that this is the only way these men get paid... tips. The other down side was while at LHVC they will try to sell you a condo...don't even go on the tour...too tempting. They will promise you a lot, but don't do it. But all in all it was a great trip!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club

Address: Corfresi Beach #2, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. so you can book your Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.