We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WELL WORTH A VISIT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Safari

Outback Safari
Ave. Luperon Km 2.5, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
(809) 244 4886
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 43 activities in Puerto Plata
Type: Tours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“WELL WORTH A VISIT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This trip was the highlight of our visit to DR, our guide JR and driver Miguel were very informative and great fun. Its is a wonderful opportunity to visit the real DR with a visit to a village home, school and traditional meal, as well as been taken to one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever been to. I took some supplies for the school pens, paper, sweets for the children which we took as they really appreciated them., would definitely recommend this trip.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    34
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My favourite trip, a taste of the Rep Dom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

This was my favourite experience of my stay in the Rep Dom. Our guide had amazing knowledge and was very accommodating and patient with a great sense of humour.

If you want to get out into the Rep Dom and see how life is for some people, then this is the trip!

It was well paced, yes we were waiting around at times but I was on holiday to relax!

This trip was definitely value for money and one I'd undertake again.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Eddy and Leo Rock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband uses a wheelchair as a result of paralysis, he isn't able to walk. Eddy and Leo's response - No Problem! They made our day trip into the Punta Cana countryside possible. The trip was tons of fun and a bit sad seeing the kids looking for money on the beach. Would recommend this trip to anyone. Work with your on-site travel agent if you have mobility needs to ensure the tour can accommodate.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent way to see the DR by excellent Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My time in the DR wouldn't be the same without taking this tour. Me and my newlywed wife wanted to see a bit of the real DR and Aleandro Javiel led us in an awesome and very informative experience. He had great knowledge about the culture and history, was funny and interesting, and led us in a great experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Perfect day in the Dominican Republic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

What a fun day we had! We were picked up by driver Miguel, and our guide was JR. He was super fun and made lots of funny jokes along the way. We first went to a plantation where he showed and taught us about the café plants, banana trees/leaves, paprika, sweet potato plants, chocolate, pigeon peas, etc. It was out in the boondocks and there was a home on the plantation. We were able to enter the home and see how a typical family lives. Next we stopped at an elementary school. We were able to go in and sit with the children for a few minutes. I had read on tripadvisor before we left the USA that you could bring supplies for the kids/teachers. So I went to the dollar tree and stocked up on pencils, rulers, erasers, paints, scissors, etc. It was nice to give them to the teachers. I also bought little toys there to give to the kids I saw throughout the day. It's almost Christmas so I also brought along a bunch of candy canes. We then drove through the sugar cane fields and stopped once. One of them cut some and let us chew/suck on the sugar cane. IT WAS SO GOOD. JR taught us SOOOO much along the way. Too much to tell here. He was the best guide so if you go, please try to get him. We stopped at a ranch and had a great lunch served family style by some very sweet women, and then sampled some MamaJuana rum. It's an opportunity to purchase some alcohol, cigars, jewelry so bring money. ALSO, the next stop is the beach. WHAT A TREAT to have a free massage (bring cash for gratuity) on the beach and free boogie-boarding if you want. Such a beautiful spot. I can't say enough, seriously. I have pictures but they are on my phone.... Bummer!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outbackpuj, Public Relations Manager at Outback Safari, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Glad to hear that you had such a fantastic day out with our guides and took so many unforgettable memories back home.
Thanks for being part of the Outback Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Safari also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Outback Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Outback Safari to your Saves list