We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Papillon

Le Papillon
Villas Cofresi, Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
+1 809-970-7640
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 73 Restaurants in Puerto Plata
Price range: $7 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ponca City, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We read the reviews and thought we would give it a shot. We visited the DR in mid August (off season), so it was pretty slow. In fact we were the only ones in the restraunt that night. Thomas (owner), had all of his staff on leave in preparation for the start of school on the island, but his service didnt miss a beat. My wife and parents loved it. We even stuck around to drink schnapps with the Thomas before heading back to our villa. We are returning to the DR next month and this spot is guaranteed to be our first stop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    6
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, Thomas is wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We needed a break from the all inclusive food and resort and definitely found one. Last night in Puerto Plata was so romantic and wonderful thanks to Le Papillon and Thomas. We ordered steaks, wine, beer and dessert. The food is fresh and cooked perfectly. The atmosphere is awesome and smiling Thomas is so sweet and welcoming. I highly recommend and would definitely return if ever in the area again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!!! Best meal EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was the best meal we had in the Dominican Republic. We left the resort we were at and walked across the street and Le Papillon was right there. Tomas is the most wonderful host, he is also the owner and the chef. Our food was absolutely delicious and the freshest lobster I have ever eaten. No matter where I stay in the Dominican Republic I will be back to Le Papillon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNSTABLE
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dinner at Le Papillon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I was part of the group of 12 and we had a fantastic time. I couldn't ask for a better night of wonderful food, drink and friends. Tomas made us feel like family. We will be back next year without a doubt. Make sure to call/email ahead and make a reservation so you wont miss out.
Thanks Tomas :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always a fine dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We always have a fine dining experience here! The food is always superb as is the chef! We love spending time with Thomas! He's an awesome host and he absolutely rocks!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Papillon also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Le Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Papillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.