We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic, serene & extraordinary service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Portes 9

Save Saved
You added Hotel Portes 9 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Portes 9
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Arzobispo Portes #7 | End of Las Damas Street, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic (Formerly Coco Boutique Hotel) (Zona Colonial)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 76 hotels in Santo Domingo
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Eclectic, serene & extraordinary service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Coco Boutique was way more than we expected. I traveled to DR for the 1st time this past holiday season for our engagement party. We decided to stay in the Zona Colonial, which is the colonial area. The hotel was perfect, boutique-style with eclectic & hip decor. Our room was beautiful, clean and spacious. Breakfast was delicious every morning and at night the roof-top was a view to "die for"... I appreciate Eduardo's help while we were in town & he went out of his way to help us get reservations at a nearby spot because Coco Boutique was booked one of the night's we needed. He arranged it for us, is that extraordinary customer service or what!! We will definitely go back & our impression of Coco Boutique set the stage for a great stay in Santo Domingo! Totally 5+ stars for them.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are beautiful and feel free to call them and they will help accomodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    32
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
58
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I drove with friends from Haiti to Santo Domingo for two nights in the colonial zone. This place was perfect for us. It's small and has its quirks (noisy one night, no hot water one morning), but it is well-decorated, charming, perfectly located for walking around the area, and comfortable too. We loved the rooftop bar area at night, which has a nice low-key latin vibe. Breakfast was included (fresh juice, coffee, breads and jams, etc) and the rooms were reasonably priced. All in all, a relaxed and convenient stay.

Room Tip: each of the rooms is a little different, but all are nice in their own way
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Coco Boutique hotel is the perfect place to stay. It is very chill and the staff Edgar and Edward are amazing. Everybody is so friendly and the location is perfect and it is very safe. It is very affordable and I would recommend this place to anybody looking for a relaxing and chill place. I love this place and would come back here anytime.

Room Tip: There are 5 rooms and they are all cute in their own way. There are a few rooms facing the street wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed ther for one night only but was regreting we could not stay for more... A kind of magic place that makes you feel good the moment you enter. Great design, comfortable rooms, nice people & the most important - you are in very center of Zona Colonial. Yes the bathroom is small and to take a shower takes a lot of time as water pressure is very weak. But we would not mind at the end of the day. Breakfast simple but nice. All in all if we ever be back to Santo Domingo we will visit them again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This review is late but wanted to take a moment to reccomend this cute hotel. Colonial Zone is a great place with great restaurants. This little hotel is quaint, quiet and in a great location. The roof top lounge area was a nice place to hang out.

Breakfast was a nice treat, honestly didn't love the dinner we had there but it wasn't horrible.

Overall had a great stay and would reccomend.

Room Tip: I stayed in the white room but would have liked the black and white, it had a cool feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed in Coco BoutiqueHotel for three days. After 2 weeks visiting Dominican Republic we decidedspend some time in Santo Domingo. We drove from Pedernales(south DR), and after5 hours driving and exhausted when we checked in Coco Boutique Hotel was likearriving in a oasis. The Hotel has a minimal decoration that make you feel in aperfect place. Quite, calm and relaxing. The hotel is located in a pedestrianpark and there is an amazing ocean view from the rooftop.



We stayed in the Black Vanilla room. Thisroom has a beautiful decoration with an African style exactly as we expected.a/c, ceiling fan and wifi access for free. The bathroom has all the amenitiesthat you need (soaps, gel, body cream,etc.)

Breakfast is simply amazing, fresh fruit,German bread, bagels, croissants, ham, cheese, eggs, etc. With this fullbreakfast you can skip lunch.



The rooftop is a restaurant lounge(Spoon)that serves Mediterranean food. The service is excellent and the food isdelicious. After a day walking under the sun , finish the day enjoying a drinkand dinner in the rooftop with anocean view, was like a dream.



Now we are back in Portugal we are stilltalking about this wonderful place.



It was exactly what we needed to finishour trip around Dominican Republic, a place like Coco Boutique Hotel, Nicestaff, good service. We felt likebeing home, and we hope to go back some day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-au-Prince
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This place was great for all of the reasons others mention: atmosphere, location, attention to detail, attentive staff, and the roof.

However, there were two key things that negatively affected our stay here: 1) our shower had no water pressure--it was just a trickle (though our friends who stayed in other rooms didn't have this problem; our room was the gold-themed one); and 2) noise. Several of the rooms' windows face the laundry/food preparation area in the courtyard, which means that there is very audible noise after midnight and starting early in the morning. And the rooms' thin doors open right on to the staircase landing, (the hotel is a small, converted house), so you can hear anyone who walks up and down.

Aside from this we loved Coco Boutique in every way.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Portes 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portes 9

Address: Calle Arzobispo Portes #7 | End of Las Damas Street, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic (Formerly Coco Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Portes 9 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting little old town colonial style villa with only 4 rooms. Best location to explore the colonial zone of Santo Domingo. In front of the building is a little park which leads to the streets of 'Las Damas' and 'Isabel la Catolica', both of them leading to the most famous sites of 'Zona Colonial' like 'El Conde' (500 meters) and 'Plaza España' (800 meters) away. Everything in walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Portes 9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coco Boutique
Coco Boutique Santo Domingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Portes 9, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.