We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place in Colonial Zone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Portes 9

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Portes 9 to your Saves list
Hotel Portes 9
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Arzobispo Portes #7 | End of Las Damas Street, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic (Formerly Coco Boutique Hotel) (Zona Colonial)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cute place in Colonial Zone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Coco Boutique hotel is the perfect place to stay. It is very chill and the staff Edgar and Edward are amazing. Everybody is so friendly and the location is perfect and it is very safe. It is very affordable and I would recommend this place to anybody looking for a relaxing and chill place. I love this place and would come back here anytime.

Room Tip: There are 5 rooms and they are all cute in their own way. There are a few rooms facing the street wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    38
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
13
61
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed ther for one night only but was regreting we could not stay for more... A kind of magic place that makes you feel good the moment you enter. Great design, comfortable rooms, nice people & the most important - you are in very center of Zona Colonial. Yes the bathroom is small and to take a shower takes a lot of time as water pressure is very weak. But we would not mind at the end of the day. Breakfast simple but nice. All in all if we ever be back to Santo Domingo we will visit them again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This review is late but wanted to take a moment to reccomend this cute hotel. Colonial Zone is a great place with great restaurants. This little hotel is quaint, quiet and in a great location. The roof top lounge area was a nice place to hang out.

Breakfast was a nice treat, honestly didn't love the dinner we had there but it wasn't horrible.

Overall had a great stay and would reccomend.

Room Tip: I stayed in the white room but would have liked the black and white, it had a cool feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed in Coco BoutiqueHotel for three days. After 2 weeks visiting Dominican Republic we decidedspend some time in Santo Domingo. We drove from Pedernales(south DR), and after5 hours driving and exhausted when we checked in Coco Boutique Hotel was likearriving in a oasis. The Hotel has a minimal decoration that make you feel in aperfect place. Quite, calm and relaxing. The hotel is located in a pedestrianpark and there is an amazing ocean view from the rooftop.



We stayed in the Black Vanilla room. Thisroom has a beautiful decoration with an African style exactly as we expected.a/c, ceiling fan and wifi access for free. The bathroom has all the amenitiesthat you need (soaps, gel, body cream,etc.)

Breakfast is simply amazing, fresh fruit,German bread, bagels, croissants, ham, cheese, eggs, etc. With this fullbreakfast you can skip lunch.



The rooftop is a restaurant lounge(Spoon)that serves Mediterranean food. The service is excellent and the food isdelicious. After a day walking under the sun , finish the day enjoying a drinkand dinner in the rooftop with anocean view, was like a dream.



Now we are back in Portugal we are stilltalking about this wonderful place.



It was exactly what we needed to finishour trip around Dominican Republic, a place like Coco Boutique Hotel, Nicestaff, good service. We felt likebeing home, and we hope to go back some day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-au-Prince
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This place was great for all of the reasons others mention: atmosphere, location, attention to detail, attentive staff, and the roof.

However, there were two key things that negatively affected our stay here: 1) our shower had no water pressure--it was just a trickle (though our friends who stayed in other rooms didn't have this problem; our room was the gold-themed one); and 2) noise. Several of the rooms' windows face the laundry/food preparation area in the courtyard, which means that there is very audible noise after midnight and starting early in the morning. And the rooms' thin doors open right on to the staircase landing, (the hotel is a small, converted house), so you can hear anyone who walks up and down.

Aside from this we loved Coco Boutique in every way.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Coco Boutique Hotel so much... From breakfast and morning coffee served on a beautifully arranged table to reading newspapers and relaxing on the hotel terrace overlooking the park... to having a delicious dinner...
Every room has a unique design and feeling to it...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

I found this hotel by search engine, my husband and I were looking for a privately owned boutique style hotel for one night in the Colonial district.

We were looking for something small and romantic, I thought by the information and images on their website this hotel would tick all the boxes.

I read the previous "meh" review and saw that all the other reviews were glowing recommendations so thought perhaps "meh" was a fussy customer.

First impressions were good, the entrance and reception area were nice. The hotel is a house conversion with high ceilings and modern minimalist decor.

However after being shown to our room, which was titled 'Winter Dew' on the web site I realised that the place needed a fresh lick of paint, dirty hand prints on walls, and a total bathroom remodel.

The bathrrom looked like the original from being a private house. Shabby fittings, the shower tray and doors were really quite dirty with black mould. The towels had seen better days and were grey.

I have travelled extensively throughout Central America and this bathroom was on a par with a guest house in a one horse town in Peru.

It just seemed such a shame that the owners had gone to so much trouble to style the house and neglected the bathrooms - budget decision I guess.

I then remembered that the bathrooms weren't featured on the website - well maybe represented a generic photo store image of a spa towel and an orchid... It kind of made sense they wouldn't show the bathrooms.

For $100 it was steep. I was hoping for something a little more chic. The website is misleading.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Portes 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Portes 9

Address: Calle Arzobispo Portes #7 | End of Las Damas Street, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic (Formerly Coco Boutique Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Portes 9 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting little old town colonial style villa with only 4 rooms. Best location to explore the colonial zone of Santo Domingo. In front of the building is a little park which leads to the streets of 'Las Damas' and 'Isabel la Catolica', both of them leading to the most famous sites of 'Zona Colonial' like 'El Conde' (500 meters) and 'Plaza España' (800 meters) away. Everything in walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Portes 9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coco Boutique
Coco Boutique Santo Domingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Portes 9, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.