We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little gem in a fab location to see viejo Santo Domingo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Naemie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Naemie to your Saves list
Casa Naemie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Calle Isabel la Catolica | Zone colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great little gem in a fab location to see viejo Santo Domingo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My wife and a good friend and colleague decided to travel from Port-au-Prince to Santo Domingo during the Fourth of July holiday. We chose this place for its price-point, location, location, and the pictures of what it looked it.

PROS: the staff. They are very friendly and helpful. Between our English, Spanish, and Haitian Creole they really made the place a great choice!! Breakfast was included and the food was very good. It was simple yet the staff were more than happy to try to accommodate special requests with eggs or juices. The location - easy starting point for the colonial zone and beyond. Go and explore the surroundings, so much is the general area alone. We loved the room decor and color schemes (you are in the Caribbean!). We had a little veranda that we did not use much, however it was nice to have. The seating area on the second floor is nice when one does not want to hang out in their room (which is fine too).


CONS: none really realizing that we were staying in an old building/location full of history in the colonial zone. That said, some rooms could be small and climbing the stairs in the rain with suitcases is not fun. Internet was slow in the room for our friend but there was a computer downstairs. There is construction going on around/next door so that could be annoying in the mornings (this won't be forever, just bad timing).

OVERALL -- this is an awesome place to stay. This is not the Hilton or even claims to be, so with that in mind you will truly enjoy yourself. None of the negatives took away from a nice room and great stay. We stayed two nights and look forward to staying here some more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    29
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
43
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a very quaint BB which has been nicely restored in the main area. We stayed at this property for 2 nights at the end of our trip. The main reason for picking this BB was # 1 for the location and # 2 for the good reviews posted on this site. Pros: Centrally located and offered a good breakfast. Cons: small rooms, hard beds, bed covers and linens were poor, a/c was cool, but not cold. When reservation was confirmed we were told our rooms would be on the first floor (we were given a room on the second floor), free internet service (internet was not working) and our safe in the room did not work. The worst part was that there was construction going on in the property and we were awaken everyday by the hammering and work being done (we were not informed of this beforehand). The owners are very nice indeed and offered a 10% even before we arrived, but we were not told that construction will be going on. If you are looking for a budget and centrally located property in the colonial zone, and dont mind the above mentioned, this would be it, but call and make sure that they are done with their construction.

Room Tip: Call ahead to ensure no construction is going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Manager, Emmanuel is fantastic - very helpful. Rest of staff also friendly. Breakfast included and is great - eggs, breads, juice, yogurt, coffee, fruit salad. I stayed here for 11 nights on a business trip (10 nights in one room and the last night in a different room). Wifi access was generally good. Not having a phone in the room was a bit of a problem but the manager allowed me to make local phone calls and was great about arranging radio taxis (cheaper than the "tourist" taxis that hang out in the Colonial Zone). My room was small, but comfortable. My room was dark, although having a window helped. Lighting in the bathroom was terrible, but the bathroom itself was nice enough. The hotel is small, and can feel a bit cramped after that many days - the patio areas are really small. Pretty quiet except for the occasional barking dog next door and the occasional noisy guest that arrives after a night out on the town.

Very close to restaurants and a few blocks to a grocery store (Jumbo) on Calle Conde. The manager let me keep wine in the fridge, which was nice, as my room had no minibar or refrigerator. (Some of the rooms do have refrigerators). A nice park around the corner for people watching.

The hotel tends to have a lot of guests who smoke in the common areas - be forewarned if cigarette smoke bothers you.

All in all a nice little hotel with great service and can't beat the price!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We loved this place. Stayed there for three nights while exploring Santo Domingo.

Pros:
-Great location, about 1.5 blocks from Parque Colon, which is the center of Zona Colonial, the area of SD in which you're likely to spend most of your time if you're visiting the city for pleasure.
-The owner/manager, Emmanuel, is one of the sweetest people you will ever meet. He goes out of his way to see that you are comfortable, is extremely helpful with dining recommendations, taxi reservations, etc. We left early in the morning our last day and he gave us a generous refund because we were not eating breakfast at the hotel that morning. It is hard to find words to describe how nice Emmanuel is.
-Beautiful building. The hotel is essentially a renovated townhouse with an open-air central staircase. It is well decorated and there are plants everywhere as well as lounging areas on every floor.
-Includes a very good free breakfast (eggs, fruit salad, coffee, juice, etc.), a public computer with fast internet.
-Rooms include AC, satellite TV, hot water, safe, and other amenities.

Cons:
-First floor rooms can be very loud if there are guests in the first-floor bar area. This was a problem for us but when we let Emannuel know that the noise was a problem he fixed it immediately.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

i found casa naemie (www.casanaemie.com) while looking for a quaint place to stay in the colonial zone. it has met and exceeded my expectations. when traveling, i always try to find a little home away from home. casa naemie ranks among the best.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

We had a wonderful 3-day and 2-night stay at Hotel Naemie. It was easy to reserve through email. Emmanuel, the manager, is great. He answered the emails quickly and had great advice on travel. The lobby is beautiful and there is a computer that the guest can use to access the internet. Here is email: [--].

Our room was #8 on the top floor with a nice terrace and plants. The king size bed was comfortable and the bathroom was airy and clean.

Our breakfast was awesome with fruit, yogurt, eggs, ham, cheese, baked goods, etc. The location is also great! 2 blocks from the main Plaza and Cathedral. About 2 blocks form the Malecon. We had a great time and highly recommend it! Santo Domingo is a great city!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Naemie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Naemie

Address: 11 Calle Isabel la Catolica | Zone colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Naemie 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Naemie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Naemie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.