We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel ! good location too.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Beaterio

Save Saved
You added El Beaterio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
El Beaterio
Calle Duarte No. 8 | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic (Zona Colonial)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 73 hotels in Santo Domingo
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel ! good location too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Charming Hotel !
we stayed there for one night on our way to Samana
peninsula.

The hotel located zone colonial in a 500 years old structure (used to be a convent) , the decoration was also very nice and get you in right atmosphere .
very helpful and friendly staff.

although we mentioned in our reservation that we are Honeymoon couple we recieved room with two separate beds , we were tired and for only one night we did not bother to exchange room.
The room has safe , fan , AC .old TV . they have mosquito problem .I wish they spray before guest arrival instead of leaving repellent in room .

Breakfast was nice with fresh fruits , bread and spreads.

would recommend .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Beaterio G, Guest Relations Manager at El Beaterio, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Dafna G,

Thank you for taking your time to provide your feedback regarding our guest house.

I'm glad to hear that you liked the decoration, the attentions of our staff and our very convenient location in the heart of the Colonial Zone.

I am sorry to know that you were a honeymoon couple and we didn't gave you a room with a matrimonial bed. I looked in our files and i couldn't find any register of a honeymoon couple in one of our two beds rooms. In those cases, we pay special attention to reserve one of our best rooms and use to prepare a special romantic decoration, but it seemed that the information didn't arrive for some reason. I understand that this is a "one in a life" moment, and we try to do always our best to make the experience unforgettable.

Concerning the mosquitoes, we have a very strong policy in this sense, and fumigate often, but as a hotel in a hot country, they do persist sometimes.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back.

Best regards,

María Elvira Giannetti
El Beaterio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    36
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
44
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn New York, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Like the surrounding neighborhood, Zona Colonial, El Beaterio is nice but a little bit rough around the edges.

My wife and I stayed here at the front and back ends of our trip to the DR. On our first stay, we were in a room on the second floor, Room 8. It was relatively clean and comfortable, although the linens were a bit worn and stained. On our second stay, we were on the first floor, Room 4. The stone floor was gritty, the AC leaked, and the room was musky and humid. It was difficult to sleep.

The staff was not particularly helpful and awkwardly asked for tips. For example, on our cab ride back to the airport the receptionist called the cabbie’s cell phone and asked us to pay an extra $2 on top of the previously agreed upon price because she had called the cab for us. Annoying, as the cab ride was already more than half again as expensive than if we had just hailed a cab ourselves. But, as I don’t speak Spanish these awkward episodes could have been due to my own misunderstandings.

On the upside, El Beaterio was quite and had a beautiful courtyard - a relief after tramping around Zona Colonial, which while quaint is crumbling, lacking in street signage, and can feel slightly unsafe for someone who, like me, isn’t Santo Dominino street smart.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the second floor - where there are more windows and cleaner, wooden floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Beaterio G, Guest Relations Manager at El Beaterio, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear TomGray347,

Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience at our guest house.

I am certainly disapointed that your stay didn't meet your expectations.

Our building is a XVI century house, with bricks floors and stone walls, and is certainly the cause of a little dust and humidity. We are studying some solutions to the humidity problem but it seems inherent to those old colonial houses. About the grity floors, we have chosen to keep the authenticity over more modern options.

We just finished to change our linens and towels, and we are sorry it hadn t been already made when you visited us.

Same about AC we are currently changing...

I am sad to read that the attention of our staff was not satisfactory. Our staff always give its best to make our guests stays unforgettable, but as you said (even if most of the team do speak english and french fluently) maybe the "language barrier" created some misunderstandings. About the tip issue, i will personally clarify this situation.

Otherwise, i am glad to know that you found quietness in our beautiful courtyard, usually appreciated at the end of a day in our city, very charming, but a little noisy sometimes. It is true that Santo Domingo can seem as not secure, it is not so much the case and we always recomend routes to our guest to make they feel safer.

Thank you again for your constructives critics and If you come again to Santo Domingo, please do not hesitate to contact me, and i will attend you myself.. My email adress is meg@elbeaterio.fr.

Best regards,

María Elvira Giannetti
El Beaterio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel and rooms are unbelievably charming and the location is convenient walking distance to all Colonial Zone historic sites. Also the Mexican restaurant across the street has vegetarian food and the only organic vegetarian restaurant in the city Crudo is a 5 min walk away. Note that this property is cash only.

We would definitely consider staying here again -- this time however a few things held this hotel back from getting a 5 star review:

1. A/C ISSUES: Like other reviewers the air conditioning unit in our room too had problems and stopped cooling. When we mentioned it to the staff they seemed unconcerned ("someone will come by to fix it in a couple of days") and no offer to move us to a different room or apology of of any kind was made. Fortunately we were more or less comfortable at nights with the fan mode only which did work even after the compressor quit.

2. BREAKFAST WAS NOTHING SPECIAL: It was a nice convenience that breakfast was included -- simple but nothing special or memorable.

3. DAYTIME NOISE: Finally each time we returned to the afternoon during the daytime there was a steady, rhythmic dull banging sound as if someone where chipping away and dismantling and old brick wall by hand. We never did find out what this was nor did the hotel staff inform us of any planned construction or maintenance issues during our stay.

Room Tip: Double check with staff to try and request a room with working A/C with no known issues. Also the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Beaterio G, Guest Relations Manager at El Beaterio, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Erin B,

We thank you for taking your time to post a comment about your stay at El Beaterio.

We are very happy to read that you appreciated our charming rooms and comon areas and our very convenient location.

About the AC issue, we are switching them for new ones to put an end to this problem. Sorry for the inconveniences.

I apologize too for the noise. We have been struggling with the neighboor who was making some works in his house and saddly did not care that our guests "suffer" the situation. Those works are now finished.

About the breakfast, i would be pleased to have more details about your expectations, since we are working on offering more options to our guests. If is possible, please contact me to my email adress meg@elbeaterio.fr, because i am interested in knowing what you would have wished for.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again.

Sincerely yours,

María Elvira Giannetti
El Beaterio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

rooms look out on attractive small garden courtyard. The hotel is situated next to picturesque Parque Diarte and only a short walk to the main square of the beautiful Zona Colonial.mRooms are spartan but with a simple elegance of another time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

When was the last time you booked a hotel room in a 500 year old convent? That's what El Beaterio is. Except it isn't a hotel, it is a "Guest House" and you'll feel like a very special guest, indeed. Rich in history but with all the modern conveniences, the beautifully appointed main area and rooms are so otherworldly, I remarked to my husband, "I feel like I'm in a fairy tale." Tall walls, tall wooden doors, black wrought iron fixtures, a lovely courtyard, a real, home-cooked breakfast that keeps you full all day, a/c, wifi, TV with American stations, private bath with hot shower and of course Izidore, a most wonderfully gracious and helpful host whose English is very good. Wanting to go walking in the light rain but not having an umbrella, Izidore says, "Here, take mine." He arranged taxis (a driver was waiting for us, holding a sign with our name when we arrived at the bus station), a tour of the city, got us directions to a restaurant and allowed us to borrow his map. When we checked in,he went before us to the room and lit candles. The rooms are quite small but perfect for a stay of a few nights. It's just a little piece of heaven and if walls could talk...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My family stayed here for two nights and had a marvelous time. My children are two and four. They enjoyed the courtyard and lizards. This hotel is beautiful and in a perfect location- close to the action but in a quiet spot. The breakfast was great too. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: This town is hot! An air conditioner is needed. Get a room with one...but know the AC is not that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Beaterio G, Guest Relations Manager at El Beaterio, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We appreciate very much your kindly commentaire about your experiencie at El Beaterio. I am glad to hear that your experience with us meet your expectations.

I will share your posiitives words with the team.

It will be a real pleasure for all my team to welcome you and your family again.

Yours sincerely,

María Elvira Giannetti
El Beaterio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applegate, oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Perfect location, outstanding staff, beautiful rooms, very quiet and private plus great food- just ask the staff for your style of eggs! We were a medical group of 18, arriving in the wee hours, the room arrangements were handled quickly and professionally! Everyone was so friendly! They let us use the roof top for a sunset party, and even brought up a glass of champagne for each in our group. The location in the Zona Colonial is perfect, as all you have to do is step out the door everything is within walking distance! We all loved it!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Beaterio G, Guest Relations Manager at El Beaterio, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thanks for taking your time to write a comment about your visit to our guest house. It was an honor to receiving you and your team and we are glad to know that you had an enjoyable staying with us.
Thanks again for choosing us for your staying in Santo Domingo and we look forward to receiving you again!

Yours faithfully,

María Elvira Giannetti
El Beaterio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Beaterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Beaterio

Also Known As:
El Beaterio Hotel
El Beaterio Hotel Santo Domingo
El Beaterio Santo Domingo
Address: Calle Duarte No. 8 | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#13 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your El Beaterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Beaterio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.