We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint and historic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Beaterio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Beaterio to your Saves list
El Beaterio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Duarte No. 8 | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic (Zona Colonial)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 77 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“quaint and historic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

This was my first visit to Santo Domingo & I really wanted to stay somewhere in the Colonial Zone (as it is a UNESCO Heritage Site). What i was hoping for was a place that also had a sense of history but was close to most of the historic sites, and that is exactly what this was. El Beaterio was once a home for nuns and still has much of that solitary historical feel. If what you are looking for is a modern hotel with all the amenities, this is not the place for you. However, if you are looking to have an authentic experience of being in the historical zone of the oldest inhabited city in the New World, Hotel El Beatario may be just what you are looking for.

The staff are fairly fluent in Spanish, French, and English, and I found most of them to be very welcoming and pleasant. There is a nice park closeby where some of the locals gather in the evening, and there are also some very cute restaurants and a local bar closeby that were enjoyable. The hotel is also located close to El Conde, the pedestrian thoroughfare where you will find shopping, restaurants, and it also connects historic sites. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    57
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
29
72
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

We spent one night in Hotel Beatario before flying back to New York. The building is beautiful. It’s a converted nunnery that retains an astonishing sense of its former life. You enter into a small reception area that turns into two small dining areas. Beyond these rooms is a gorgeous courtyard appointed with all manner of beautiful plants. Several rooms are along two sides of the courtyard with a few more up a small staircase at one end. The rooms were dark, but what else do you expect of a 16th building. The bathrooms were clean and the showers provided considerably more hot water than we had become accustomed to during our tour of DR hostels and small hotels. The location is also fantastic. It is a five-minute walk from the Catedral and less than ten minutes from the other major Zona Colonial attractions. The free breakfast included a generous plate of tropical fruit, bread and a delicious spread of preserved tropical fruits. Are only regret is that we weren’t able to spend another day or two lounging around Hotel Beatario.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Domingo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Some of the rooms are very nice, with old style furniture and a cosy design. However, be aware of 1) air con in rooms will be charged separately at 500 pesos/night (and nobody will tell you ahead of time), 2) there is no air con in the lobby - which is the only place where they have WiFi internet (and you will share the lobby with lots of mosquitoes), 3) in general service is not very good.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

I was very surprised with the hotel, pretty cool place. The rooms are nicely decorated, and the bed is endless. It is a perfect spot for those who like antique style and enjoy medieval decorations.
Breakfast included, very cool place!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world traveler
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Quaint and charming? Yes, this hotel is all of that. But beware--even with written room confirmation that they had sent to us that that we brought on the trip and showed them, they sold our room making ridiculous excuses. Management is poor. If you want to take the risk of staying here, be sure to book a back-up hotel or you might end up out on the street. You would be better off finding a different place to begin with.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We stayed 2 nigths in EL BEATERIO before a trip to Samaná (Jul 9 & 10) . Excellent location, but very simple rooms with poor bathrooms (don't wait for a boutique/ charming hotel). However, when we return from Samana to one last night (Jul 17), before our flight, we were surprised: they did not honor our reservation and had no vacancies. As an option, they offered us a room in a terrible hostel, 5 or 6 blocks distant from there. We didn't accept the option offered, and fortunately we found another hotel 3 blocks next . Finally we ask that they send our luggage to the other hotel, but they did not. There was no professionalism and respect. We don't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

This hotel represented the last stop in a 17 day Dominican Republic vacation, and was one of our most anticipated. It also was the only place we stayed that was a bit of a letdown.

The location was perfect - only steps from Zona Colonial, which is perhaps the most interesting and exciting area to visit in Santo Domingo. There were several nice restaurants, cultural sites, and shopping all within a 10 minute stroll of the front door. Across the street is a small park, and a mini-market next door has soda, water, and snacks. The hotel is also very secure - when you arrive you will need to ring the buzzer to be admitted, and after checking in will be issued a key that opens the front door. The rooms were all quite clean and orderly. The hotel definitely has charm.

Value was our major sticking point. While the rooms were pleasant, they did not amaze us. The air conditioning didn't work at times in the afternoon, and the TV worked one day, but not the next. For the duration of our stay the terrace was not made available to guests, so we were unable to experience the "panoramic views" offered on their website. The courtyard was cute, but offered little in terms of a good view or space for comfortable relaxation. The breakfast as well was lacking - we were served fruit with mediocre coffee, which was fine, but not the Continental or American breakfast we had been led to expect. Four pieces of ham and a few slices of cheese were available for an added cost. Indeed, the breakfast served by a $30/night hotel (including air conditioning) in Bayahibe was much better tasting and more filling. Finally, the service was polite, but not better than (and often not equal to) the service we got from less expensive hotels on the island.

If you're looking for a hotel solely based on location, this one is great. If you're looking for good value for your money, El Beaterio did not measure up to many of its peers.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#13 of 77 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection
Hotel Villa Colonial
#9 of 77 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa Naemie
#12 of 77 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
#1 of 77 in Santo Domingo
5.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Billini Hotel
#8 of 77 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Beaterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Beaterio

Address: Calle Duarte No. 8 | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#11 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Beaterio 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your El Beaterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Beaterio Hotel Santo Domingo
El Beaterio Santo Domingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Beaterio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.