We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“11-09-12 Weekend Stay - Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Napolitano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Napolitano to your Saves list
Hotel Napolitano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. George Washington 51 (Between Both Obelisks) | Entre la Calle Numero y la Calle Cambronal, Santo Domingo 10208, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“11-09-12 Weekend Stay - Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was just at this hotel on the night of 11-09-12 and 11-10-12
I'm a single man and booked the most expensive room with twin queen beds ($83.00 plus tax $110 a night)
Clean hotel, guest friendly with no extra fee
Right in the middle of the action but the hotel felt very safe
It has a casino, a pool and a bar and the staff was very attentive and alert to people coming and going
Only thing is they were re-doing the lobby so that was a mess
But when they are done they will have a lobby bar, that should be great
As has been said, it is in Malecon so there was a lot of activity
The road out front is VERY busy so it was noisy, even at like 4 am
If you are going as a family looking for quiet and peace, maybe not for you
But as a single man? Or a couple looking for action? Great choice.
No one spoke a great deal of English, so be aware if you don't speak Spanish that you may have issues. However the desk clerk was certainly proficient.
I was having trouble with the touts around the property trying to get me to go to clubs and into taxi's so I talked to a pit boss in the casino and he hooked me up with a great handler that pointed me in the right direction and even went to a couple of places with me at no charge.
He used a taxi that was cheap (Watch out for the taxi's get an agreed upon price before you get in!)
I would strongly recommend it for the single traveler looking for a good time but probably would suggest a place in the Zona Colonial or even one of the all inclusive resorts if I was traveling with kids.

Room Tip: Make sure your safe works when you get in. Mine had issues and I made them change my room. If you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    21
    12
    22
See reviews for
14
30
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a nice hotel to stay in the area called Malecon. Great view of the Ocean and close to all restaurants, city center and good food. Very friendly and helpful staff with a very good atmosphere. We spent extra more days there. At night my husband and I sit in front to the window just to see the beautiful of the city and Ocean. It was a great stay there.

Room Tip: Ask room at higher floor with view to the Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The positive points:
The view on the sea from the rooms. The restaurant waitresses and the female front desk manager of the hotel are nice and professional. the food at the restaurant (although expensive)

The negative points:
Many rooms I visited have central air-conditioning not working properly (either freezing or too hot). Many rooms have thin windows that do not lock properly and let too much noise in the room (the main road is in front of the hotel). Most rooms have a communicating door to the next room and one hears all noise until late at night from one's neighbor. The shower heads in many rooms are half stuck and the jet hurts.

Most of the male staff is rude and unprofessional, especially the breakfast and lunch waiters (the worse is Miguel, the head of waiters). 5 or 6 unfriendly macho male staff are around the swimming pool all day long and they are very uninviting. It discouraged me to use the swimming pool all together with such a bad atmosphere. One also does not know where to get the towels for the pool.

At the bar/restaurant, every night until midnight - 1am, they have a band (or a singer with instruments) with extremely loud volume (even when there are no clients at the restaurant). Even with earplugs in the room, one cannot sleep because of that ridiculously loud volume.It seems that the music is aimed towards the hotel staff tastes, not the clients'.
(beware they add 26% taxes to the final bill of the hotel).

The hotel has a new director from Spain and is under reorganization. Let's hope she succeeds in hiring the right staff and repair what needs to be repaired in the room because this hotel could be very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from the Dominican Republic where I stayed at the Napolitano Hotel with my sister. I had a fabulous time and truly did not want to leave. The staff at this hotel is extremely helpful and friendly and the atmosphere is great. I spent most of my day relaxing lounging by the pool which was beautiful. The food and drinks were great, miss it already. My favorite day was Sunday as they had a DJ playing music on the terrace and it become more of a nice upbeat atmosphere where you get to see more of the locals. Our room had a nice ocean front view and it was nice and clean. My only complaint would be that they could definitely update the room decor. But overall I had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

All and all i must say that the Napolitano is an amazing place to stay in Santo domingo. This was my first time and i know it won't be my last!
The service was fantastic and the people are very friendly.
The view of the ocean was great, you can see it right from the pool!
The only reason i didn't give it a 5 here on my review is because it doesn't have a gym, but i defenatly recomend stay at the Hotel Napolitano if you're going to stay in the city!!!!

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Actually, I guess I can say that my experience with Napolitano was rather pleasant. There are nonetheless a few things that they need to be fixed. First, I hated the fact that there's only one iron for the whole hotel. Every time I needed to iron my clothes, I had to call them to bring it to my room. How pathetic! Second, the female receptionists that work during the day are not friendly at all. I don't understand how somebody working in this type of field can be so poorly customer-oriented. Moreover, the hot water takes a minute to come on--which is not a good thing, especially if you're in a hurry to take shower. Plus, you have the noise--the musics, people walking and talking, the horn of the cars and trucks, etc--woke me up every single night. Other than that, think te hotel is okay. enjoyed my stay; it wasn't a bad experience at all.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Well, the thing is that i went there last week and i love it!, everything!, the food at the restaurant, service, installation, the bedroom; and the price?? well, the best prices for the kind of quality i never had seen before, close to everything i want it, the sea, bars,nightclubs,super market etc.. definitely! two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Napolitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napolitano

Address: Av. George Washington 51 (Between Both Obelisks) | Entre la Calle Numero y la Calle Cambronal, Santo Domingo 10208, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#11 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Napolitano 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the Caribbean Sea, just a few steps from the Colonial City. Facilities: Terrace-Restaurant, swimming pool, live music, free Wi-Fi, parking and taxis. All rooms have ocean view and are fully equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Napolitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napolitano Hotel And Casino
Napolitano Hotel Santo Domingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Napolitano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.