We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Antiguo Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Antiguo Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Antiguo Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arzobispo Merino 109 esq. Emillano Tejera | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic (Zona Colonial)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never Again!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We booked 2 nights in the Europa after spending a few days at an all inclusive in La Romana. As we exitied the highway to get to the Europa i started to feel a great deal of regret we should and spent our entire vacation at the all inclusive becuse this was not how i intended the last days of my vacation end up. The Europa looks good on the outside however the rooms are dumps holes and Ithe area is unsafe. I was told this was a tourist area all i saw were locates. I would never recommend anyone stay there. We could not bring our suite case into the hotel because of road work and we had to park a block away. I was really looking forward to relaxing for the next two days and take on the city's history however after checking in I just wanted to make a bee line to the airport and go home.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    50
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
21
39
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is the second time in three months that I stayed at this hotel. Always the staff is great. The hotel is well located for where we need to be.Rooms are clean and comfortable.

I'm very Satisfied with the service

Room Tip: The best rooms are with Balcony !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We arrived early afternoon and checked-in, and were handed glasses of fresh melon juice as a welcome! It was a nice touch, and the breakfasts are great. Thankfully we had a room away from the street side, which meant very little natural light but no noise. The main street in front of the hotel was completely dug up and in trenches as the city was undergoing a massive construction project. It made getting to the hotel a little cumbersome, especially at night. I'm sure this has hurt business but the hotel itself was great, reasonably priced, friendly and good location only blocks from the main plaza.

Room Tip: A room facing the street will be noisy, not just because of construction perhaps. The second day we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed in this hotel 4 nights in January 2014. Room was quite fine but dark. During our stay there were street works, a lot of noise and vibrations. It was dificult to rest in the hotel, but we didn't sit in it. We visited colonial zone. The location is very good, because is very near Plaza Espana and Cathedral Primada. On the same street is museum of chocolate with chocolate tea. 10 minutes from this hotel is chinatown. Adventage is terrace on the roof and very pleasant breakfasts there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here two different times while traveling through the Dominican Republic. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the location couldn't be better. The included breakfast is also very good. Our first stay was on the 3rd floor, and our second stay was on the 1st floor. We had no issues on the 3rd floor but the street noise from the 1st floor is pretty bad and goes on all night. I would stay at this hotel again but not on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here with a large group. It's in a great area of town- very close to a lot of restaurants and historic areas.The hotel was relatively clean though the bathroom wasn't as clean as I would have liked. The staff did not speak English so I had to rely on my Spanish speaking friends to pay and get some issues fixed. The third day of our stay, our air conditioning stopped working and we were given a new room. In that new room, the hot water heater did not work. When we told the staff about it, they said we were doing it wrong. They came up to show us and found out that actually it didn't work! So we had to go back to our original room to shower.
So while staff was accommodating (when you could speak Spanish), the facilities were not impressive. Additionally, it was overpriced for the quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

20 of us stayed at Antiguo Hotel Europa. We were in Santo Domingo to celebrate a wedding being held at the ruins of Monasterio de San Francisco with the reception being held at Alcazar de Colón. The hotel was the perfect location for the convenience of these venues. It was central to the sights and restaurants in the Colonial Zone and we even got to attend a street party. It was great to attend a local event. The lobby and terrace were both nice places for us to gather, I especially enjoyed the morning breakfast on the terrace. It was a great choice for us and I would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antiguo Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiguo Hotel Europa

Address: Arzobispo Merino 109 esq. Emillano Tejera | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antiguo Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Antiguo Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Santo Domingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antiguo Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.