We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antiguo Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Antiguo Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Antiguo Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arzobispo Merino 109 esq. Emillano Tejera | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic (Zona Colonial)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is the second time in three months that I stayed at this hotel. Always the staff is great. The hotel is well located for where we need to be.Rooms are clean and comfortable.

I'm very Satisfied with the service

Room Tip: The best rooms are with Balcony !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    57
    39
    10
    11
See reviews for
26
45
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We arrived early afternoon and checked-in, and were handed glasses of fresh melon juice as a welcome! It was a nice touch, and the breakfasts are great. Thankfully we had a room away from the street side, which meant very little natural light but no noise. The main street in front of the hotel was completely dug up and in trenches as the city was undergoing a massive construction project. It made getting to the hotel a little cumbersome, especially at night. I'm sure this has hurt business but the hotel itself was great, reasonably priced, friendly and good location only blocks from the main plaza.

Room Tip: A room facing the street will be noisy, not just because of construction perhaps. The second day we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed in this hotel 4 nights in January 2014. Room was quite fine but dark. During our stay there were street works, a lot of noise and vibrations. It was dificult to rest in the hotel, but we didn't sit in it. We visited colonial zone. The location is very good, because is very near Plaza Espana and Cathedral Primada. On the same street is museum of chocolate with chocolate tea. 10 minutes from this hotel is chinatown. Adventage is terrace on the roof and very pleasant breakfasts there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here two different times while traveling through the Dominican Republic. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the location couldn't be better. The included breakfast is also very good. Our first stay was on the 3rd floor, and our second stay was on the 1st floor. We had no issues on the 3rd floor but the street noise from the 1st floor is pretty bad and goes on all night. I would stay at this hotel again but not on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here with a large group. It's in a great area of town- very close to a lot of restaurants and historic areas.The hotel was relatively clean though the bathroom wasn't as clean as I would have liked. The staff did not speak English so I had to rely on my Spanish speaking friends to pay and get some issues fixed. The third day of our stay, our air conditioning stopped working and we were given a new room. In that new room, the hot water heater did not work. When we told the staff about it, they said we were doing it wrong. They came up to show us and found out that actually it didn't work! So we had to go back to our original room to shower.
So while staff was accommodating (when you could speak Spanish), the facilities were not impressive. Additionally, it was overpriced for the quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

20 of us stayed at Antiguo Hotel Europa. We were in Santo Domingo to celebrate a wedding being held at the ruins of Monasterio de San Francisco with the reception being held at Alcazar de Colón. The hotel was the perfect location for the convenience of these venues. It was central to the sights and restaurants in the Colonial Zone and we even got to attend a street party. It was great to attend a local event. The lobby and terrace were both nice places for us to gather, I especially enjoyed the morning breakfast on the terrace. It was a great choice for us and I would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent two nights in this boutique hotel and enjoyed it. Nice to have WiFi. Rooms was clean. One of the drawbacks is that it is quite noisy. Partly because of the physical nature of the hotel. Every little noise and voice echoes throughout the hotel. The other thing was that the neighborhood just seemed VERY noisy throughout the night, and since there are no “grounds” surrounding the hotel (you walk right out of the door onto the street) the noise is kinda loud all night. But with some white noise on my smart phone, we slept well.

They seemed quite understaffed. I don’t know if that is sort of a characteristic of all small hotels in the D.R., or just this one. Overall, a good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Zona Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
#28 of 76 in Santo Domingo
3.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Conde de Penalba
Hotel Conde de Penalba
#27 of 76 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#12 of 76 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Acuarium Resort Hotel
#32 of 76 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection
Zona Colonial
Hotel Portes 9
Hotel Portes 9
#17 of 76 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiguo Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiguo Hotel Europa

Address: Arzobispo Merino 109 esq. Emillano Tejera | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antiguo Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiguo Hotel Europa is a romantic hotel located in the heart of the Colonial City, in Arzobispo Merino Street, just 200 meters from the Cathedral of Santo Domingo American Primacy and the famous Calle El Conde , and 250 meters from the Alcazar Colon and a few minutes of major shopping malls. On the top floor of the building is our Terraza ideally setting for social events or just for individuals who want to suntan day time in the modern part of Santo Domingo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Antiguo Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Santo Domingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antiguo Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.