We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antiguo Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Antiguo Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Antiguo Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arzobispo Merino 109 esq. Emillano Tejera | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic (Zona Colonial)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here two different times while traveling through the Dominican Republic. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the location couldn't be better. The included breakfast is also very good. Our first stay was on the 3rd floor, and our second stay was on the 1st floor. We had no issues on the 3rd floor but the street noise from the 1st floor is pretty bad and goes on all night. I would stay at this hotel again but not on the 1st floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    53
    36
    9
    9
See reviews for
24
42
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here with a large group. It's in a great area of town- very close to a lot of restaurants and historic areas.The hotel was relatively clean though the bathroom wasn't as clean as I would have liked. The staff did not speak English so I had to rely on my Spanish speaking friends to pay and get some issues fixed. The third day of our stay, our air conditioning stopped working and we were given a new room. In that new room, the hot water heater did not work. When we told the staff about it, they said we were doing it wrong. They came up to show us and found out that actually it didn't work! So we had to go back to our original room to shower.
So while staff was accommodating (when you could speak Spanish), the facilities were not impressive. Additionally, it was overpriced for the quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

20 of us stayed at Antiguo Hotel Europa. We were in Santo Domingo to celebrate a wedding being held at the ruins of Monasterio de San Francisco with the reception being held at Alcazar de Colón. The hotel was the perfect location for the convenience of these venues. It was central to the sights and restaurants in the Colonial Zone and we even got to attend a street party. It was great to attend a local event. The lobby and terrace were both nice places for us to gather, I especially enjoyed the morning breakfast on the terrace. It was a great choice for us and I would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent two nights in this boutique hotel and enjoyed it. Nice to have WiFi. Rooms was clean. One of the drawbacks is that it is quite noisy. Partly because of the physical nature of the hotel. Every little noise and voice echoes throughout the hotel. The other thing was that the neighborhood just seemed VERY noisy throughout the night, and since there are no “grounds” surrounding the hotel (you walk right out of the door onto the street) the noise is kinda loud all night. But with some white noise on my smart phone, we slept well.

They seemed quite understaffed. I don’t know if that is sort of a characteristic of all small hotels in the D.R., or just this one. Overall, a good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was there last thursday with my family. The position is very nice, very close to the colonial zone of santo domingo. The attention of the lobby was very good and professional. The rooms are basic, small, clean but you can't open the windows. Actually I injuried my self whit a nail trying to open it.

The materass of the bed was clean and pretty new. but a bit uncomfortable. The bathroom was ok but the shower most of the time it didn't have cold water which I have seen in other review as well. This was an issue having small babies.

The breakfast was on the last floor, not very nice terraze. There was not much to eat: bread, jam, a bit of fruit, ham, muffin and smashed eggs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was looking for a hotel to spend 1 night, and I book with Expidia a night on this hotel, they told me the location which I was impress by, they said Down Town Santo Domingo in the colonial area of the city.
The area was terrible, we could not walk in to this property because we fear for our safety. So all I can said that this hotel should not be promoted by any company, because this place is consider a point of prostitution, I don’t recommend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was a bit sceptic when checking the other hotel prices in this part of the city. It turned out that this is a very good value for money - taking into account the location, clean and nicely refurbished rooms, friendly staff and a tasty breakfast at the rooftop terrace!

Room Tip: We had one with a nice balcony adn we liked it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Antiguo Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiguo Hotel Europa

Address: Arzobispo Merino 109 esq. Emillano Tejera | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antiguo Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiguo Hotel Europa is a romantic hotel located in the heart of the Colonial City, in Arzobispo Merino Street, just 200 meters from the Cathedral of Santo Domingo American Primacy and the famous Calle El Conde , and 250 meters from the Alcazar Colon and a few minutes of major shopping malls. On the top floor of the building is our Terraza ideally setting for social events or just for individuals who want to suntan day time in the modern part of Santo Domingo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Antiguo Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Santo Domingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antiguo Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.