We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight in Santo Domingo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antiguo Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Antiguo Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Antiguo Hotel Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arzobispo Merino 109 esq. Emillano Tejera | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic (Zona Colonial)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Melb
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overnight in Santo Domingo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here overnight as a layover catching a flight.

Location: Perfect in the old colonial area, walked very where. Close to Plaza de Espana which is an area with numerous restaurants including some of the well reviewed ones are located. Also close to the main mall area of Calle el Conde. The old colonial area is pretty small and easy to walk around. The location is about 30 min by taxi from the airport.

Feels safe enough to walk around at night.

Room: Selected a room with a balcony based on other reviews so as to get a window. The room is reasonably sized for 1-2 people. Room is a bit aged but is OK for the price.

Other: Reasonable spread for breakfast. Free Wifi which works well. Also numerous wifi spots all around town and most restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    45
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
18
34
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had been to Hotel Europa before for business meetings in multiple occasions but had never actually stayed there. So when my husband suggested a "staycation" for Valentine's day, I knew this place would be a great option. Hotel Europa is a block away from Plaza Espana, a perfect spot to start or end a sightseeing excursion if you've never been to the colonial zone (or even if you've been a ton of times). This spacious square also has many fun and exquisite restaurants and bars, some of which are among the best in the country. So as far as checking that out, great location. The hotel itself is a turn-of-the-19th century building turned into a hotel so quite charming. We stayed at room 308. The room itself wasn't anything special but it worked. Bed was a little squeaky but not uncomfortable. Bathroom worked fine. Cable on the TV also worked fine. The hotel includes breakfast on their rate - it's not anything special but it works, especially if you a) don't want to worry about it or b) are on a budget. Breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace, which can be quite pleasant - it has a nice view of the St. Francis monastery ruins and the temperature is nice up there. Here, you are also within walking distance of other attractions in the colonial district, yet away from the noise if that's important to you. We think this is a great budget option and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here one night after 2 nights in Hotel Atarazana which is a couple of blocks away. We liked the Europa better and it was significantly cheaper. We found the area to be fine and were not hassled at all. The staff was helpful and the included breakfast on the roof was quite good (though in the league with Atarazana). Our room was more than adequate. We were on the street side with a tiny "balcony." We were not bothered by street noise and I would stay here if we returned to SD.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

have always been budget conscious. sometimes it backfires, sometimes it pays off. this time it paid off. not a fancy place but clean and comfortable. the staff actually acted like they were HAPPY to help you with anything no matter how large or small. the location is excellent as a launching pad to explore the colonial district. it's also close to chinatown. if you're not crazy about the overpriced mediocre tourist eateries in the area, there's a modest little taco place around the corner that is cheap AND good. and last but not least, room rates were a good value. i would not hesitate to book a room here for my mother. hope you enjoy it too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in a central room (ie no windows). I didn't mind but my friend did feel a bit claustrophobic. The room was spacious enough for the 2 of us however we did find it incovenient that aside from the 2 beds and a chest of drawers there were no chairs or anything you could put things on (there is a wardrobe but that's only hanging space). The hotel did not appear to have many guests when we stayed so it was rather quiet and a bit clinical, but it is in a great location, we felt safe, it was clean and the front desk staff were helpful. An additonal bonus was being able to have our rented car parked at the front with the hotel staff keeping their eye on it. Overall we were happy with the hotel and would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butler, nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

we stayed at the hotel for 3 days mostly because the area was recommended and it was very cheap. The area is very rundown because of politics from what I understand. The room was very small but clean. we had convenient parking across from the hotel. Very hard to find parking in that area. My husband and I walked around and enjoyed the old buildings. A lot of people will try to get money from you so be prepared to say no or to haggle. The bartender was this young college student and she was so funny and courteous. Really pleasant to talk to and very informative. The service at the hotel was excellent. Really courteous and pleasant people. We felt very secure inside.I'm not sure if they corrected the address here but I hope they did. We spent like an hour looking for the place and it didn't help that it was on a one way street. Overall a good experience and great price. Room service is tasty and cheap!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique Z, General Manager at Antiguo Hotel Europa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Sir/madam:

We are very grateful for the positive review you share with readers of tripadvisor and I'm glad to share with you that the goverment along with other investors decide to relaunch and remodelate the Colonial Zone, we hope that for your next visit you'll find more improvements on the area as well as in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muskogee ok
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The staff- From the manager to housekeeping. Very helpful, friendly and always ready to help you. I know them all by name.
The location-You are close to everything, you are a short walk to El Conde, the number one shopping street in the zona colonial. A few steps and you are at the Plaza Espana, a great place for that morning walk. The Tourist Info Center is also there, maps, guides, all you need to take your own walking tour of the zona colonial. Taxis are in the front of the hotel, ask for David, tell him Roger from Oklahoma referred you. Around the corner is a Small Fast Food, cheap and good. Try the Hot Dogs. Ramon works their in the evenings and can give you a lot of good info. Also arounf the corner on Duarte Street is the Museum of Juan Pablo Durarte, its free to visit and is full of history. The attendant will give you a great tour. Don't forget to tip him, he's worth it.
Price- I checked around and this was the best , cost includes a free light breakfast (eggs, potatoes, cold cut/cheese, toast, coffee and juice and of course great service, all located on the 4th floor terrace). Rooms are excellent and the TV has 40 English Channels.

I stayed two weeks, will reurn. The only negative thing was leaving.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms on the Mezz it was near the computer and the view of street activity was great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrique Z, General Manager at Antiguo Hotel Europa, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Mr. Roger:

We are very happy to know that our hotel met your overall expectations and that you left our place with both a positive opinion as well as considering a hotel to which you would or might return. On behalf of me and my staff thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antiguo Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiguo Hotel Europa

Address: Arzobispo Merino 109 esq. Emillano Tejera | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antiguo Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Antiguo Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Santo Domingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antiguo Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.