We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough review to write” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Santo Domingo

Save Saved
You added Hilton Santo Domingo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave George Washington, No 500, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 73 hotels in Santo Domingo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tough review to write”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The staff was very helpful and the hotel was beautiful. However, I can't say much good about a place where I'm told not to walk across the street to eat for fear of muggings. I'm not a timid person, but after about 80 warnings I figured there may be something to this. The Hilton is a very nice, modern hotel. I assume it's in a prime location. However, I'm not quite sure what was prime about it. That may relate to Santo Domingo in general. If you're going to Santo Domingo, I'd recommend staying here. The rooms, staff and facilities were all fine. Do not expect this to be a Dominican beach vacation, though (not that we expected this, but we were surprised a bit by the lack of a beach).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSantoDomingo, Manager at Hilton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our facility, our team member's helpfulness, and that you had a good overall experience.

Santo Domingo is in general a safe city, and we usually advise our guests to take any precaution they normally would in an unknown city.

We thank you once more for your preference.

Please contact me if there is anything I can assist you with on a future stay in Santo Domingo.

Cordially,
Indhira Pérez Mendoza | Manager – Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    144
    65
    23
    15
See reviews for
49
126
57
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

1. First arrived and taxi driver from airport to Hotel said "Do not go out at night - dangerous"
2. OK - 3 restaurants in hotel - oops - two of them are closed.
3. OK - order room service and watch TV in evenings - oops - TV stations in Spanish and no movies in room.
4. OK - Go to casino in hotel in evenings - oops - casino closed.
5. OK - go to beach (specifically asked Expedia if beach across street - 'Yes.' during day and to bed early. Oops - beach 45 minutes away by cab and $50.00 entry fee per person to beach (advised by front desk)
6. OK - lay by pool during day. Oops - sun blocked by hotel until 2:30 in afternoon AND - oops - only 10 lounge chairs - must get up early to get one.
7. OK - swim in pool - oops - only 4 feet deep at its deepest.
8. Sit around and write things wrong with this 5 day vacation - 18 problems - but sit and laugh about a very bad vacation

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSantoDomingo, Manager at Hilton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience. We are really sorry about the inconvenient during your stay. We are basically a city hotel, however we strive to make each guest feel at home so we are really sorry to read your review. We'd like to comment that we have never had more than one restaurant, our cable listings does offer English channels and it is possible to change the audio when the channel allows it, our casino has been closed for a few years now, and we are also quite clear to our guests on being a hotel that faces the Caribbean sea, not a beach so there might have been a communication issue with the third party agent that help with the booking and, of course, we are terribly sorry this come to hurt the satisfaction with our hotel.

Please contact me if there is anything I can assist you with on a future stay in Santo Domingo.

Sincerely,
Indhira Pérez Mendoza | Manager – Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very helful staff,easy check in and out...very clean, stunning views of the ocean. We had our mother's 90th birthday party at the 5th floor lounge, it was great!!! w'll be back very soon. also very safe location and very convenient for me to get my hair done. the Malecon Mall and the bank is right next door (cigard store also)

Room Tip: the higher rooms for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSantoDomingo, Manager at Hilton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moment of your time to review our hotel. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay. We strive for excellence in our service and we thank you for your comments about our team members and your overall experience.

It was an honor for us to host your mother's 90th birthday on our Sol & Sombra bar, and we are pleased to have contributed to a great party.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Indhira Pérez Mendoza | Manager – Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and and I stayed in a regular oceanview room and we were very pleased. Room was very clean, nicely decorated, bed was extremely comfortable, and the staff was very very friendly and professional. The food was okay. The only disppointment I had was that the windows were a bit dirty from the outside but I would defintely stay there again! It was worth the money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSantoDomingo, Manager at Hilton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay, specially our rooms and team member service; we are really proud of them.

We also thank you for the constructive comments, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Please contact me if there is anything I can assist you with on a future stay in Santo Domingo.

Sincerely,
Indhira Pérez Mendoza | Manager – Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Personnel performance was excellent. The building and the rooms are also very, very good. The building has a wonderful view of the city´s "Malecon". It is also a very safe place, lift only moves if you insert your room card,
Food at the restaurant was also very fine.

Room Tip: Choose rooms looking to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSantoDomingo, Manager at Hilton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We were delighted to read the comments posted about our hotel . It is great to know that you have enjoyed our facility and our team member's helpfulness as well, and, of course, we agree that our view is stunning.

Thank you for noticing security features such as the need of room card in order to access the floors. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Indhira Pérez Mendoza | Manager – Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was probably my 4th stay at this hotel. It's a perfectly nice facility overlooking the ocean (though no beaches in this part of town).

- The good: its location overlooking the ocean. It has 20 stories with rooms arranged around a courtyard in the center. The rooms are well kept and have your standard Hilton furnishings. Internet speed was acceptable and everything worked the way it was supposed to. Breakfast options on the 20th floor were good and they had nibbles available throughout the day.

- What can be improved: While the hotel is well maintained, it's showing signs of age. The elevators require you slide your card to go to your floor (good security feature) but the reader doesn't work well, so often times you found yourself missing your floor. The Hilton lounge on the 20th floor has amazing views but the windows were always just a tad dirty as was the big fish tank. This was the case in all previous visits, so perhaps it's just the window tint that needs replacing. The lobby looks a bit tired as well but all in all it's functional and everything works.

I'm sticking with an 'average' instead of 'very good' because of the feeling that the facility can be better maintained. The surrounding area is OK, the road in front of the hotel very busy at times but the views are really nice, especially from higher floors. Traffic in Santo Domingo can be bad, so ensure that your place of business is not too far away from the hotel, or allow enough time to get to/from.

All in all, a good Hilton that I would recommend and I would come back to.

Room Tip: I'd say try to get a room on a high floor with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSantoDomingo, Manager at Hilton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for your preference to our hotel. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed our executive lounge, internet conection, our rooms and our stunning view.

We thank you for bringing to our attention areas of improvements.

Please contact me if there is anything I can assist you with on a future stay in Santo Domingo.

Sincerely,
Indhira Pérez Mendoza | Manager – Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here one night due to a flight cancellation.
The hotel is very clean, very updated and well maintained. However, I was concerned when we were told not to walk anywhere alone at night. It seemed like it would have been a safer location, but I didn't want to take any chances.
Overall, it was great for one night, and had all the services you would need in a hotel. Outdoor pool on 7th floor was overlooking ocean and had a bar with food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSantoDomingo, Manager at Hilton Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. It pleases us to know that you have liked our hotel, specially its services, our pool and bar.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

If there is anything I can assist you with on a future stay in Santo Domingo, please contact me.

Sincerely,
Indhira Pérez Mendoza | Manager – Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santo Domingo

Also Known As:
Hilton Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Hilton Santo Domingo Hotel
Hilton Hotel Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Hilton
Address: Ave George Washington, No 500, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#10 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santo Domingo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Santo Domingo is located on the southern side of the city, 31 kilometers (35 minutes) away from the Las Americas International Airport and 110 kilometers (120 minutes) away from La Romana International Airport. Situated near Santo Domingo’s major corporations, the downtown business sector. Hilton Santo Domingo is the perfect hotel for business and events.The Hilton Santo Domingo with 21 floors and panoramic elevators in the atrium is the tallest hotel in Santo Domingo and overlooks the tranquil waters of the Caribbean sea, with 3 bars and one restaurant. All guests can enjoy free internet WiFi at Vista Bar and Akwa Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Venere, Prestigia, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Santo Domingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.