We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Octopus Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pura Tasca

Pura Tasca
Calle Emiliano Tejera #51 | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
+1 809-333-8494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 341 Restaurants in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Pura Tasca is a cozy tavern serving the best selection of tapas, sangrias and other iberian specialties such as paellas and ham, in the Colonial Zone. Our inviting atmosphere yields for all kinds of occasions, from sports watching to business or formal dinning.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Octopus Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We've eaten octopus (pulpo) all over the world and this is the best we've ever had! The tenderest and most flavorful - and grilled at that. Not an easy feat to pull off. The paella negra was also outstanding, the service the perfect combination of unobtrusiveness and warmth. Gabriel, the young chef co-owner spent a year on Long Island which explains why the NY Rangers game was on the bar TV! But the best seats are outside overlooking the Plaza Espana and the Columbus (Colon) Palace.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuraTascaRD, Manager at Pura Tasca, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are more than happy to know that our version of the Galician’s Octopus fascinated you. And we thank you for let it us to now it. It’s our pleaser to serve every one of our customers with joy and warmthness. Make sure to try our Tapas and Toasts on your next visit.

Best regards,
Pura Tasca Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    42
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This place had the best food in Santo Domingo. We ate there two nights in a row both with great views, service, and steaks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuraTascaRD, Manager at Pura Tasca, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you very much Laramy R. The Pura Tasca team has enjoyed to serve you with passion and enthusiasm. Our great view and delicious steaks are waiting for you to come back.

Best regards,
Pura Tasca Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“GOURMET DINING AT ITS BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

You can't enjoy Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic without eating or drinking in Plaza Espana. Pura Tasca offers one of the best atmospheres and great food in the Plaza Espana zone. I enjoyed the plantain gnocchi with white cream sauce and prawns; and the delicious ceviche. I also had a glass of tasty white sangria. The service was with a smile and very appreciated. I highly recommend this place when enjoying an evening out in Colonial Santo Domingo.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuraTascaRD, Manager at Pura Tasca, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you very much! Your experience is very important to us; we are pleased that you have had a wonderful time and dinner in our restaurant. The atmosphere in Pura Tasca wouldn’t be complete without the great people who visit us. Hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,
Pura Tasca Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“best paella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We followed our noses to Pura Tasca. The fragrance of grilled meat was irresistible. We got confused between the tapas portions and entre portions so ordered way too much food. Croquetas, Pura Tasca salad, mini burger, the rib-eye and churrasco was all more than we bargained for. Then the heavenly paella showed up that we forgot we had ordered. The steaks and paella were some of the best we'd ever tasted. Service was just ok but the non-stop delicious food more than made up for it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuraTascaRD, Manager at Pura Tasca, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you hypnomom, for your wonderful review about Pura Tasca gastronomy, we are glad that you had enjoyed it. We would be more than happy to have you back, for your next visit we suggest our Goat Stew Paella with pork crackling and coriander.

Best regards,
Pura Tasca Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The food lets it down! You know the joke about Spam, Spam and more Spam-well bread, bread and more bread!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

First of all, the local taxis, and we asked many, had no idea where this place was and the given address could not be found even by google or sat nav. after 30 mins we finally found it. My advice?- don't bother unless you want bread, bread and more bread with every tapas!! Still the 'B' word was served in many different ways-plain sliced bread, toasted bread, fried bread, garlic bread, any and all ways but basically...well... bread. Lovely venue, open air, vibey, but the food leaves much to be desired. One was described as ' ....Martini'. Well we got some creamy slush served in a Martini glass with the tiniest minuscule of prosciuttio (and of course plenty of the 'B' word) that we would not have know was there had we not read the menu-no idea exactly what we were supposed to do with it-drink it-unlikely. NO English spoken (not a complaint-purely an observation should you need help with menu you will not get it despite them have an English menu). There are several restaurants along the same area, one of which we ate at and enjoyed. As for Pura Tasca.. unless you are a bread fanatic, forget it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuraTascaRD, Manager at Pura Tasca, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear West Sussex, we really appreciate your comment and concern about us. With every feedback we get motive to improve every aspect of the restaurant, in order to leave behind any flaw we could have.

Best regards,
Pura Tasca Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pura Tasca also viewed

Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 

Been to Pura Tasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pura Tasca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.