We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, bad Expedia experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dona Elvira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dona Elvira to your Saves list
Hotel Dona Elvira
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   207 Padre Billini | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic (Zona Colonial)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel, bad Expedia experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Nothing wrong with the hotel, that I booked and paid for with Expedia. When I arrived I was told that Expedia had not confirmed with them, that they were overbooked. I went to a differnet hotel . I stayed in Dona Elvira later that week. The problem came when I tried to be reimbursed for the night I never used: after phoning Expedia several times when I returned home, I was given the run around several times, asked to email, fax and send all kind explanations and justifications. Expedia refused to reimburse me because they could not reach anybody in the hotel Dona Elvira who spoke English. I thought that Expedia might have some operator who spoke Spanish, but this option was never been considered . . Eventrually I managed to get ther refun but the leson learnt is DO NOT BOOK A SMALL HOTEL IN A NON ENGLISH SPEAKING COUNTRY WITH EXPEDIA, if you have a problem and try to be reimbursed for not having your booking honoured you may run into the same problem I did. You are better off booking directly. Expedia has sent this review back to me for changes several times for changes, so by now I had to tone down the reality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    34
    13
    10
    12
See reviews for
13
31
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Quiet, great rooms , we were a family with 3 kids, in a Rey fernando jr suite, super nice, next to swimming pool, bar, resto, patio, wifi, staff friendly as can be, walking distance to everything.Not sure what some guests were writing, everything worked great, good value, if you like rich positive emotions and memories, choosebthis historical 16 th century building! If you modern glass towers i suggest the Hilton nearby!

Room Tip: Large family rey fernando rooms next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We really enjoyed the stay at Hotel Dona Elvira. Although some people may not appreciate an older building turned into a hotel and would much rather enjoy a five-star hotel and all its amenities. My husband and i rather like being able to stay in such a heritage site. Our family get-away consisted of my husband and I (47 & 50yrs old) our two boys (7 & 13yr old) and my 70yr old mother. We stayed at this hotel because of its location, Colonial Zone. Many tourist attractions and reasonable restaurants within walking distance. This hotel was very clean, quiet, friendly staff, with a breakfast, which consisted of fresh fruit, toast, eggs, ham, juice and coffee. Our 7yr old son was given the choice of eggs or corn flakes! a good value indeed! We bought a peanut butter & jelly spread, which we had at the table and spread on our toast. (no hassle from the staff). We also had a bottle of Baileys to pour into our morning coffee (no hassle from thh staff) During our stay we saw a few mangos fall from the very old mango tree in the pool area and watched the staff pick up the mango and place it in the kitchen. I would only imagine that it would be consumed by the guest/staff, How wonderful to eat such fresh fruit! The room we stayed in was on the main floor which consisted of two rooms, with one king bed in one room and one room with three single beds. Perfect for a family of 4-5! (We originally booked the apartment room, which we found out when we checked in that it was located at a different site - way too far. The staff had us booked in at the hotel and offered us alternate accommodations - the main floor suite! We will definitely stay there again. thank you hotel Dona Elvira!

Room Tip: fitness center consisted of a few few weights, stationary bike. There was a Jacuzzi hot tub, locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

During our recent trip to Dominican Republic we decided to visit Santo Domingo. As the main part of our holiday was on the north side of the island we just needed a hotel in SD for a couple of days. We made the reservation thru Booking.com and got a firm confirmation back. Imaging our surprise that after a 4 hours bus ride we showed up at the hotel doorstep to find the hotel over booked and no room for us. Luckily this didn't spoil our trip to the city as we found another hotel. And to be fair, your front desk clerk helped us out finding this hotel but having to spend time solving such an unnecessary problem is not the best start for a visit to a new city.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

With a charming courtyard around a non-swimming pool, the rooms don't feel so small. The excentricities about an old colonial-era house are the attraction. A great location in Ciudad Colonial also helps. Nice breakfast. Wi Fi. Lots of restaurants, nightlife near-by.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main floor have two beds but feel a bit like a hostel. Rooms on the first balcony are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Claustrophobic rooms, poor breakfast, service even below dominican standards, relatively high rates, worth only for the location. Given the way the hotel markets itself vs the low value for money, the owners could only be French

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Compared to other accommodation, Dona Elvira is not the cheapest option. However, it has an amazing location, a very helpful staff, and breakfast is included so I think it was well worth the price. The room is basic but has everything you need and some extras like a TV with international channels and free wifi. I would recommend it for a short stay or a long one!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dona Elvira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Elvira

Address: 207 Padre Billini | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Dona Elvira 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A large lobby and spacious dining rooms await visitors, crowned by 20 feet high ceilings featuring original mahogany beans encased in massive colonial walls. Cool off from shopping and musueum jaunts with a relaxing dip in the pool and jacuzzi. Drink a cocktail in the private garden patio under a century old mango tree. Fifteen rooms and suites equipped with the latest amenities welcome the modern traveler, on business or leisure. Walking distance around Hotel Dona Elvira, discover the delightful historical ambiance and stately beauty of the Zona Colonial of Santo Domingo with its landmarks, sidewalk cafes, elegant restaurants, night clubs and cultural events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dona Elvira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Elvira Hotel
Dona Elvira Santo Domingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dona Elvira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.