We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well organised and responsive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Santo Domingo

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Santo Domingo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Santo Domingo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50A Maximo Gomez Avenue, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic (Gazcue)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 74 hotels in Santo Domingo
On the beach
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well organised and responsive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

What can I say? This hotel is well run and staff seemed happy to work there! Arrived at midnight on Sunday 7th Oct 2012 and check in was a breeze. The guy at the front desk was all smiles and full of warmth. There is a little snack machine in the lobby for tired travellers who need a drink or a quick snack. Only downfall is no room service until after 4pm. Not everyone wants to get up to have breakfast, especially if they have early meetings and want to eat in before 'rushing' out. Otherwise, food was good, and the bed was very comfortable. Internet and breakfast were included in the price which is always a plus. Checked out at 4am and was greeted with a smile by another happy employee, who seemed delighted to ensure my last impression was a good one. Happy to stay there again!!

Room Tip: 4th floor :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    62
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
23
22
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I travel to the Dominican republic every month on business and I've found the greatest place. The property is newer and very tasteful. Most of all the staff is just excellent and I have never had a complaint after staying for a week each month for over a year. Great restaurant, pool, new gym, etc.

Try this place. You'll like it!

Room Tip: Balcont rooms are terrific but stay away from 322. That's MY favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I've stayed at the Courtyard quite a few times in the past mainly because of the convenience of their location and the service I've received. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are also very clean. I like the fact that it's geared more to families so you don't see alot of the craziness that goes on in hotels right around the Malecon. If you're looking for a quiet stay at a reasonably priced hotel in a convenient location in Santo Domingo, Courtyard is definitely the way to go.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse, new york
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My experience with this hotel was wonderful. The staff were courteous and nice. the room was clean and neat. I did not have any problems what so ever. They made me and my family feel welcomed and comfortable. I will be staying there on my next vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed from 8-15 to 8-19-12 room 418 (next to elevator). Hotel was better than expected. Room was clean and free of defects. Room had Free safe, hair dryer, iron. Ice machines on every floor. Helpful and friendly staff. Hotel is centrally located. Close to most popular places yet far enough not to be in the middle of the Malecon mayhem. Window faced parking lot, some noise when big semi-tractors honked their horns on street, but not noisy. Got there late Wednesday it was all you can eat parrilla (grilled) night RD 550.00 per person. The grilled meats and vegetables were not that good. Meats except chicken had no flavor, no seasoning or marinating. Vegetables just as bad. "Grilled" night needs improvement. Good American breakfast (not free). Close to a local supermarket called Nacional. were you can buy beer and water. Room bottled water Evian, $4.00 (20 oz- i think) about RD$156.00 pesos, store 12 0z bottle of popular american brand about RD$10.00 pesos. Fridge was not stocked with anything during my stay, How they expect you to get enticed to consume is not clear. Is interesting that a resort can offer free meals and free national liquor for $100.00 or so per person but these hotels in Santo Domingo can't even offer free water. A thumbs down for value. Free room Wi-Fi did not work all the time. Need to call front desk for code. Seems room was cleaned as soon as we stepped out. A big plus. Bed was a little hard. A/C is off to one side of room on lower wall, not good air circulation. Must keep A/C on the sixtysh degrees F- to keep room from getting a little damp smell and not feel warm when sleeping with covers. Free parking if you rent car. Overall very satisfied with hotel. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was surprised about the ranking of this hotel. My tittle says it all, do not expect more than Medium. The place is old but renewed, you can see they tried but the origin can be seen all over. This place is for a organized business traveler, they only offer room service for a limited time 4-11 PM. It has a "convenient" store that is very poor in supplies, the restaurant has old tables an it is open in conjunction with the reception. Forget about a nice pool, gym or installations. Spect good Internet, fair bed sheets & bed comfort. Do not go there with children or partner.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

I love this hotel because is covinietly located next to the punta Cana bus stop. Also because it has a laundry room it was very helpful after 5 days in punta cana. And it's just few minutes walk to a local grocery store were we bought some snacks for my two daughters and waters. I recommend this hotel for families it's safe inside the hotel. But its not safe to walk alone at nighttime they told me. It's convenient to visit family but it's a little far from the colonial zone and the malecon. I really enjoy my stay at the Marriott next year I would stay again because it's very peaceful and it feals like your in the states. I stayed there on July 10, 2012 Congrats Marriott for Excellent Service

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Santo Domingo

Address: 50A Maximo Gomez Avenue, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Gazcue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Santo Domingo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic hotel is located in the heart of the city's cultural district and offers comfortable accommodations and complete services for business and leisure travelers alike. Among the most preferred Santo Domingo hotels, the Courtyard is within walking distance to the National Theater and the U.S. Embassy. Our Courtyard hotel is also within easy access to Santo Domingo's Colonial zone attractions, the main business district and government facilities. Guests can be assured of a relaxing and productive stay with our new Marriott bedding and free high-speed Internet access. Enjoy the convenience of our on-site Trapiche Restaurant, Lobby bar, Snack/Coffee Shop, outdoor swimming pool and fitness center. We also offer two meeting rooms with flexible space for events and business meetings in Santo Domingo. Visit the Courtyard Santo Domingo hotel today and discover first-class service in the beautiful Dominican Republic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Santo Domingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.