We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel but nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Gautreaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maison Gautreaux to your Saves list
Maison Gautreaux
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Felix Mariano Lluberes 8, Gascue, Santo Domingo 00001, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
UK/Spain/New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Basic hotel but nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I was a bit disappointed when I arrived as the hotel did not look as nice as the pictures on the website, and I expected more for the price. My room in particular was very dark and dingy. I had a problem when the electronic lock on my door broke and I couldn't get into my room for half a day, but the staff were nice about it and moved me to a bigger room on the top floor as compensation for the inconvenience - the upper floor room was much nicer! I didn't get wifi in either of the rooms and had to sit in the lobby to work.

Despite a sign outside that said "bar and restaurant", the man behind the desk looked confused when I asked where the restaurant was, and said they only served breakfast. I then noticed a very old sign saying the restaurant was under renovation... apparently that has been the case for a while!

The hotel is pretty basic, not as flash as it looks on the website, but the staff were very nice and helpful, particularly the guy who worked the evenings and nights.

The hotel's location is good, a stone's throw from the waterfront (though you can't see the ocean from the jacuzzi, as they claim on their website!) and about a 15 minute walk from the colonial area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are very dark, upper floor rooms get more light. Also check for fans, hair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
1
11
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Inexpensive hotel by DR standards. Located right beside the Intercontinental Hotel just half a block from the Malecon. It's quite a hike to the Colonial Sector on a hot day, but the taxi fare is very cheap. The property is quite basic and somewhat bleak, not all it's made out to be on the hotel web site. That being said, it's clean, has adequate bathrooms with plenty of hot water, quiet location, helpful staff, a surprisingly good included continental breakfast with lots of fruit. We parked our car in the street in front of the hotel. One lamentable aspect is the street-side garbage tip right opposite the front entrance of the hotel.

Room Tip: You will probably get a nicer view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

great staff: funny and always trying to help up,
good location:not far from the zona colonial,
nice rooms in colonial style, no luxury, basic, but nice, they were quite clean
not expensive for what u get...
helping you in finding a good taxi..
I definitely suggest you to go here..I ll go back here when I ll be again in Santo Domingo

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ediane423
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days and 4 nights. It was always clean and the people were always nice. And best of all, many of the front desk spoke English! The location is good it is accessible to alot of casinos if you are into that. I didn't get a chance to visit any. The rooms are a little on the small side but not uncomfortably so. I would definately stay there again.
btw- those of you looking for luxury this is not the spot for you. if you need a nice clean and inexpensive place with friendly, helpful staff then this is your kinda place.
Thanks to Emilio, Eddy, Juan and everyone at MG that made my stay pleasurable and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark, new jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

The cleaning lady and the waitress were very good. WiFi in your room very good. but that was it.
The room: the TV was broken. The shower did not drain properly (very disgusting)
The Hotel: the front desk person and the security guard were asleep on the couch and chair by 1am. it felt awkward waking them up every time i needed to go out and come back in. and it took a lot to wake them up. once i was tapping and yelling for 5 minutes.
and this is why i will never go back!!! when i was checking out they used the oppurtunity to try and claim i owed them more money. first they claimed it was for a 5th day then they said i was charged the wrong rate. I'm trying to leave to catch my flight and they hold me up for 20 minutes in an attempt to rip me off. finally a lady comes out of the back and says there was no problem that their computer was wrong. no apology!
And that story about the computer being wrong was BS!! 2 days earlier i asked how much did i owe because i ordered some room service previously and i wanted to pay up. at that time the computer was correct! do not do business with people who will try and rip you off

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

I stayed in Maison Gautreaux for one night. The staff and the owner went out of their ways to make my stay comfortable. The included breakfast was very good too. The only problem I had was the door kept banging loudly till late and night and started early in the morning. I told the owner and he said he will fix that. Great place to stay if you are on a budget and want to stay in a very safe, clean and friendly place.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

Shortly:
1. We are backpacking pair travelling on our own, age about 50 each (100 together (!)), Denmark.
2. Spent 3 nights in the hotel 22-25 of October 2008.
3. Staff friendly and nice, smiling, and trying be helpful.
4. Room clean, some details broken (windows closing, bathroom equipment, etc.)
5. Great location, Colonial Zone starts about 10 minutes walk from the hotel, the sea visible from the top terrace.
6. Fast check-in and check-out.
7. Relatively expensive breakfast and acceptable price for dinner or drinks.
8. Staff acting in Latin American way - they promissed get to work top situated 'public' Jacuzzi but it never happened during our stay. They are also lovely hopeless if asking for small room improvement as missing toilet paper - of course, finally we have got it from main reception man (probably secondary director).

Summary - strongly recommended however some cheaper options available if you f.e. ask about a room in tourist information in Santo Domingo - then unregister room costs 8 USD per night (we could not be so lucky booking from Europe).
Our payment was 10USD for booking, 2 USD internet transaction and 120 USD with check-out for 3 nights - gives about 44 USD per night, tax including.

  • Liked — Location, friendly atmospher, safety guard
  • Disliked — anything since it is a cheap offer
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Gautreaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Gautreaux

Address: Felix Mariano Lluberes 8, Gascue, Santo Domingo 00001, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Gautreaux 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maison Gautreaux is the house of a highly respected and well known family of Santo Domingo, was converted into an hotel in 1994 by the Gautreaux Family, the hotel has a very nice decoration and you can breath a familiar atmosphere when you are in our acomodations. You will feel like you are in you own home when you spend your days with us. We will feel very happy to have you here. We will be waiting for all of you!!! The Maison Gautreaux Your Home in Santo Domingo!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Maison Gautreaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Gautreaux Santo Domingo
Maison Gautreaux Hotel Santo Domingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Gautreaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.