We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You could not ask for a nicer staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hodelpa Caribe Colonial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hodelpa Caribe Colonial to your Saves list
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Isabel La Catolica No. 159 | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic (Zona Colonial)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
St. Thomas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“You could not ask for a nicer staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed at the Hodelpa Colonial for three nights recently. I have been booking this hotel since I tried it out five years ago and have always stayed there mainly because of the friendliness of the staff. They always try to go out of their way to make you feel welcomed. Ramon at the restaurant was extremely friendly and always had a smile..The buffet breakfast has a very good selection....You know....I've read some negative reviews about the bed being uncomfortable but I found this to be the complete opposite.The A/C is completely silent and the rooms are clean. Of course it's not a five star resort but it is comfortable and the friendliness of the staff makes up for any negative experience, I must say that the only thing that was bad about the bathroom was the size of the shower. .you cannot do a waltz in there but I just needed to take a quick shower and that was good enough.

Room Tip: rooms facing the street have two beds,and there is a patio with chairs and a table to relax and watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    81
    48
    15
    14
See reviews for
18
69
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed this hotel because 1) in a colonial zone, 2) with breakfast included, 3) looks nice in website, 4) affordable. We stayed there for three nights (My daughter and I). We also read negative reviews so set our expectation not so high (and I was right).

We arrived late around mid-night (flight delayed). We stayed in a white room on the highest floor (4th floor). Contrary to many people complained that the White room was very small, our White Room is, in my views, an adequate size (#406), it is clean and has a specious bath room. Also a room is facing a quiet street. Very nice.

However,
1) there was no hot water from shower, I asked for help but a guy could not fix it. The hotel asked us to change to different rooms, but they were either smaller, facing in a busy street or had water problem too. (Finally he was able to fix it but it was almost 1:30AM. We were so tired and complained.
2) we requested a non-smoking room, but it was a smoking room (with an ashtray) and strong smell of cigarette. But we realized smoking rooms are nicer and much spacious. We ended up staying in a same room by asking spraying to eliminate cigarette smell.
4) Very strange (toilet) smell from bathroom.
5) While in my booking the room has a coffee maker, there is none. A room attendant forgets to put towels many times.
6) the hotel's safety box has a charge. Though minimal, I was a bit perplexed.

Next day, I complained to a duty manager and he apologized. He promised to address all issues. Except the coffee maker, all issues were resolved and he gave us a fruits as a gesture of his apology which was very nice.

The breakfast is more than adequate. Now many hotels in a colonial zone are not offering free breakfast anymore. That's why I selected this hotel, and I was right. People are also nice.

Except the first day, I did not encounter any problems. The location is very good. Of course no pool, no balcony (in our room - some rooms have), but it is still value for money. We stayed in a Hostal Nicholas de Ovando for one night but the room size was almost same as this hotel.

I recommend this hotel strongly.

Room Tip: Higher Floor, unfortunately smoking rooms are more spacious and nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

PROS: Great location. Nearby everything. El Conde right at your doorstep. Comfy beds. Felt clean and relaxing. Bikes loaned for free.

CONS: Rooms are very small. Views from balcony show nasty rooftops nearby. Frequent power outages. WiFi is really bad. Language barrier could provide some issues.

After an extremely long flight, I arrived at the hotel exhausted and ready for a nap. However, my room had been switched without my knowledge to a smaller room that was higher priced. This was not sufficient and in my exhausted state, I went back and forth with management for a remedy. I was left with no choice but to stay in a tiny room I didn't like for 1 night, however management did provide a comfortable alternative the next day to make my trip better. Jacuzzi was broken, water pressure in the shower was poor, but the staff seemed polite and helped make an awful start to my trip turn out to be a quality vacation in the end.

Room Tip: Spend a few bucks more and get a suite for space and comfort. The standard rooms are too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had an average experience in Hodelpa Caribe Colonial. The service was good, there's nothing to say about that at all, no complains in that level. I didn't like the food and the fact that there's no parking, and no swimming pool wasn't interesting. Beside that the location is great!!! In "La zona Colonial", once you are there all the activities are walking distance. All the night clubs, lounge, cigar shop, restaurant are close, no need to rent a car or take a Taxi. The experience was interesting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is where we usually stay if we have to stay in Santo Domingo overnight. And again a very nice and friendly service, glass of champagne is served when you arrive, by the way it is very very good :)
We are not really breakfast people and usually don't eat much in the morning, but the selection at the buffet looked good. From cold cuts to eggs and sausages, yogurt, cereals and fruits. We just had coffee / tea and some buns.
The checkout was fast, the only "problem" was that our car was blocked at the hotel parking and had to wait for the personal to move other cars. But that was maybe 5 minutes. If we asked before heading for the morning coffee we wouldn't wait at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hodelpa Caribe Colonial is a decent hotel, located right in the heart of the colonial area in Santo Domingo.
You can walk to all the historical places in a few minutes, is perfect for those looking to visit the area, good restaurants are a few blocks away as well.
The hotel itself is decent, nice staff, decent breakfast, room are ok for a few nights, free internet.
I usually stay there for business and in some occations for a quick gateaway.
Price is affordable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The staff is amazing and accomdatating. I had the managers name but I lost it :( Bed is SUPER comfortable, room is clean, breakfast was included and very delicious. Quiet as well and a great Carribean feel as well. YO REGRESO DEFINITIVAMENTE. MUCHAS GRACIAS!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hodelpa Caribe Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodelpa Caribe Colonial

Address: Calle Isabel La Catolica No. 159 | Zona Colonial, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hodelpa Caribe Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hodelpa Caribe Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial Hotel Santo Domingo
Hodelpa Caribe Colonial Santo Domingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hodelpa Caribe Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.