We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ice cream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heladeria Valentino

Heladeria Valentino
Plaza Cataluna 54, Santo Domingo 10127, Dominican Republic
+1 809-540-0998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 290 Restaurants in Santo Domingo
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The place is a little small. But, it makes up for its size, with its amazing ice cream. I had the Ferroro Rocher flavored sundae, and that sealed my deal. And I am not even a chocolate/ice cream lover.

Great place to take your wife/girlfriend/date. Ideal place for a dessert after a great dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    10
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
la esperilla
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very good, one of the best ice creams i have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This place has really good ice cream. I mean almost every flavor is delicious nad it makes it harder to make a choice while you salivate the taste through your eyes while waiting on line. The only downside that i would say is that its a little on the sweet side. I would recommend for them to add a little less sugar since people are also going into more healthier substitutes like lite yogurts and other of that sorts. But the signature flavors are delicious and i would definitely recommend. My favorites are Staggliatta, snickers and coco.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I tried Valentino in Santo Domingo after many positive references, but I really didn't like them. I actually had to go back a second time because I thought there was something wrong with the Gelato the first time, but no, still the same bland flavor.
Maybe I'm just used to the Gelato in Europe (Especially Amorino), but I think you definitely find better ice creams in Santo Domingo.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“This is the real deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I know my ice cream and this is the real deal! This is italian style ice cream at its best with Dominican flavors! The "stratiacella" is perfect, light, not too creamy with lots of shaved chocolate pieces. The place itself is beautiful and very clean (situated across the Blue Mall). There are tables and nice comfy couches to sit on and enjoy your treat. The service is outstanding...never had anything like it at an ice-cream shop! If you're visiting Santo Domingo and like ice cream, this is a must!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in Santo Domingo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Great choice for ice cream. Artesanal Italian style ice cream, that worth to try those calories....

Right besides 2 restaurant, Madison cafe (French) and La Esquina (Burgers)

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heladeria Valentino also viewed

Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 

Been to Heladeria Valentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heladeria Valentino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.