We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heladeria Valentino

Heladeria Valentino
Plaza Cataluna 54, Santo Domingo 10127, Dominican Republic
+1 809-540-0998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 323 Restaurants in Santo Domingo
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Paris, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I tried Valentino in Santo Domingo after many positive references, but I really didn't like them. I actually had to go back a second time because I thought there was something wrong with the Gelato the first time, but no, still the same bland flavor.
Maybe I'm just used to the Gelato in Europe (Especially Amorino), but I think you definitely find better ice creams in Santo Domingo.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    13
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“This is the real deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I know my ice cream and this is the real deal! This is italian style ice cream at its best with Dominican flavors! The "stratiacella" is perfect, light, not too creamy with lots of shaved chocolate pieces. The place itself is beautiful and very clean (situated across the Blue Mall). There are tables and nice comfy couches to sit on and enjoy your treat. The service is outstanding...never had anything like it at an ice-cream shop! If you're visiting Santo Domingo and like ice cream, this is a must!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in Santo Domingo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Great choice for ice cream. Artesanal Italian style ice cream, that worth to try those calories....

Right besides 2 restaurant, Madison cafe (French) and La Esquina (Burgers)

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best gelato in the Caribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great ice cream but the coconut is by far the best! I love this place, my husband and I have chosen this place as our favorite sweet treat. He loves the Nutella and the Giandua but I can't break away from the coconut.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Gelato ever :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I love their ice cream, is as creamy as can be, with very distinctive flavors. The milkshakes are exquisite too :)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heladeria Valentino also viewed

Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 

Been to Heladeria Valentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heladeria Valentino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.