We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great desserts!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolcerie Cafe Bistro

La Dolcerie Cafe Bistro
Calle Rafael Augusto Sanchez 20 Piantini, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1-809-338-0814
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 341 Restaurants in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food, great desserts!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Come here with your family and friends to have a nice time, and a great experience while eating. Be aware that in DR people like to go out for dinner very late, and might be packed after 8:30 pm , and also around lunch time,. they just added new dishes to the menu, and always great desserts. Kudos!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    34
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Popularity causes drop in service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Today we went for a new year drink and desert. My wife and her family always told me how good thia place is. The food and the deserts are excellent. Too bad that the service is not. We were left waiting with each order, and we had to remind the staff about 4 times about this. Also they did not bring me my correct desert and after such a long wait, i did not want to swnd it back and wait for the correct one. Such a pitty. The interior ia nice and cozy and the food great. If the service was up to par, I would have rated them 5 stars

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Chocolate soufflé...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

nice place if you looking for a sweet ending to a nice evening, the soufflé is highly recommended. Enjoyed the atmosphere of the place.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this place, it is nice and clean but I think that maybe their service is lacking a bit since some waiters think they are too much for the customers ans are not helpful at all, besides their attitude does not help. I have no complaints about the food, is incredibly delicious and their prices are great! This a restaurant where you won't listen to a really loud electro pop music, which has a lot logic considering the kind of restaunrat it is, is more for families and to go to talk with friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“a great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a special trip to my childhood country and i've been doing a gastronomic tour of restaurants in Santo Domingo. So far, this is my fifth restaurant and this is by far the best value with the greatest flavours. In our table we had Risotto Antoine, Blueberry steak salad with a caramel flan and a delicias de chinola (passion fruit). All of them were delicious. The best surprise was the price. About 20-30% below other comparable restaurants. The service was excellent (Luis Perez was our maitre) but YMMV because the place is supposedly mobbed during weekends. Wonder why?

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolcerie Cafe Bistro also viewed

Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province
 

Been to La Dolcerie Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolcerie Cafe Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.