We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent business hotel at reasonable price in center of Zona Colonial.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo to your Saves list
Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle El Conde Esquina Hostos | Ciudad Colonial, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic (Zona Colonial)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 75 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decent business hotel at reasonable price in center of Zona Colonial.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Mercure is a part of French Accor chain and about half of clients were French. It's the only modern, decent hotel in the center of the Zona Colonial; the others are either "boutique"/expensive or very modest affairs. Though lacking a business center it has free Wi-Fi; it has good staffing who are friendly and accommodating. Most importantly, in a nation of rolling blackouts, it has automatic backup generators. In addition, due to the French obsession with culture and food, the front desk recommended quality suppliers (guides, taxis etc.) Finally, the exchange rate offered was better than any bank and most money changers.

Pros: Modern conveniences, backup generators, accommodating staff, most central location (right on pedestrian El Conde), reasonable rates. It also offers very good currency exchange rates. In front of the hotel on El Conde "resides" stays a very affectionate dog, la Negrita; it doesn't bother you for food and stays out of the premises but likes patting.

Cons: Previously unoccupied rooms smell musty for a day or two; a/c noise in room disturbes light sleepers.

Note: Rooms are small but adequate, replacement fresh towels may not be always immediately available in the middle of the day since there may be a wait for them to return from laundry. The hotel is also 10 minutes walk from the Barrio Chino/Chinatown, inaugurated in 2008, so you can get some Chinese food if you are tired of Creole cooking.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    100
    107
    45
    33
See reviews for
44
89
77
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the hotel provides an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

I travel to the Dominican Republic often because my partner lives there, while waiting on his Visa to come to the US. I first stayed at the Mercure Zona Comercial because I get a discount through work, but I continue to go back because they treat me like a guest in their home. The staff always remembers me and is interested in how things have been going for me. One staff member acts odd I think because he isn't comfortable with a gay couple, but he is always helpful. This stay we got put in a tiny room, and I called the front desk and they had the maid take my partner around to show him rooms that were available and let us choose the one we wanted. The food is always good at breakfast, and there is plenty of it. Mercure Zona Comercial is not the best hotel in the world, but what it lacks in amenities it makes up in hospitality and value. It is in a great location on El Conde to go to monumento de independencia and Catedral de Santa Maria la Menor. I recommend this hotel to any traveler.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

This hotel is located in a great spot near all the dominican history, but the staff is so unproffesional. Im dominican and im a shame that this hotel treat their own people so bad when others race got treated so good i think it should be equal. No courtesy i was asked about twenty times if i was a guest when others would just walk in with no problem front desk people is the worst all of them i would never stay in this hotel ever again

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo

Address: Calle El Conde Esquina Hostos | Ciudad Colonial, Santo Domingo 10210, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 75 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
96 rooms, 2 for disabled guests. Located in the heart of the colonial area of Santo Domingo, the hotel building was completely refurbished in 2000 and is an ideal base to visit all the historical monuments in the old town centre. 30 km from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo Hotel Santo Domingo
Mercure Santo Domingo
Accor Santo Domingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Comercial Santo Domingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.