We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible gym, nice staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida George Washington 218, Santo Domingo 02890, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hotel V Centenario InterContinental)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 75 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Terrible gym, nice staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

To my knowledge, Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo has substituted Intercontinental V Centenario hotel, where I stayed last year. Good things are, hotel staff is friendly and attentive, rooms have been renovated recently and wi-fi connection has the same god signal quality throughout the hotel. Bad things are, the gym is terrible (it is a small, hot room; fitness apparels are old and lacks ergonomic, ambient music is so loud I could not even hear my iPod) and breakfast is expensive for what is offered. I valued hotels which offer good gyms and unfortunately this is not the case. I was expecting more from Crowne Plaza in this sense. My rating is based on that and on cost/benefit, therefore this is an average hotel in my opinion and I plan to stay somewhere else in my next visit to Dominican Republic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Farmami 2012,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us and let know us your stay in the hotel. For our staff is very important to offer quality, friendly and experienced service.

We regret the situation of the gym, we have been renewing the equipment for our guests comfort and feel that you have not filled your expectations.

Always you are welcome to stay with us on your next visit to the city of Santo Domingo.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    118
    57
    25
    10
See reviews for
41
63
43
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a good Crown Plaza. Good wifi connection.
The rooms are nice and clean. The staff is friendly and the location is good.
The only bad point is the $20 breakfast (not worth it).
I recommend this hotel for your travels to Santo Domingo.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Alexmagic,

Thak you for your comments and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel received a great service.

We will be sure to pass your kind words to the Staff, about your comments and service.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon in your next visit to Santo
Domingo.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

First all the good things. Upgrade to a renovated room - very fresh and clean room to stay in for 7 nights. Breakfast buffet is really good - lots of options. Pool bar and pool - also very clean and renovated. Wifi working well in the hotel - in all areas. Dinner at Nabu restaurant - quick service and long menu, but food does not raise it above hotel food standards. Even if there was a chilean guest chef there with a chilean foodfestival - the food was average and boring.
But all through the week I stayed - staff very friendly and solving all issues.
Except - when check out. Paid my bill and to my surprise 3 days later - bill was paid from my creditcard - but the deposition of 1400 usd was not cancelled. Normally hotels use the deposition for payment - but not this hotel. Really irritating and a routine they should introduce!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Hans L,

We are delighted you have taken the time to comment on your experience at our hotel. We are glad to know that you were pleased with our service, rooms, food quality and menu. It's a great motivation for all our team members to know that you enjoyed the best view in the best Hotel Crowne Plaza of the Caribbean.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused to your bill.

We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay in Santo Domingo.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our visits to this hotel are usually brief, as we arrive late from Panama and usually leave the following afternoon back to the mainland. However, during these short "visits" to the Crowne Plaza I can report that the Wi-Fi works well, the rooms are very clean & comfortable, and the staff is friendly & helpful. I did find that the coffee in the cafeteria was expensive @ $5.00US; but perhaps that is normal for this area.
The value was good until the 28% taxes are included....
All in all - recommended as a business hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear TendandDoris,

Thank you very much for your coments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel received a great service. We will be sure to pass your kind words to the Staff, about your comments and service. It's perfect that you enjoyed in the best Hotel Crowne Plaza of the Caribbean.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon in your next visit to Santo Domingo.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I used to come to this hotel when it was an Inter Continental (V Centenario). My main problem is that wifi has never been working. It was somehow acceptable the first day, irritating the second and driving me mad the third. Staff was very kind, they even set up some kind of emergency service in the lobby but mine was a business trip, and I definitely lost a lot of time. Blaming the provider doesn't help, either. In any case, I would think that it was simply bad luck. I had a few minor problems (I was given an upgrade, but the room on the last floor was a hot oven, and I had to wait in the lobby until 7 PM before a standard room was available; there, I could not get a shower because the faucet sprayed water all over the bathroom.
Internet apart, the hotel is OK. The restaurant is good, even if a little pricey. There is a small outdoor pool, and the location is acceptable, relatively close both to the colonial city and the business areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Travelmx88,

We appreciate your comments and regret having had an unpleasant experience during your stay.

Unfortunately, we had problems with the internet, because the supplier of this service had a general breakdown in the area. We apologize and appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay in Santo Domingo.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I found this hotel to be clean, modern and well equipped when compared to some other Crowne Plaza properties. Staff were attentive and courteous. Great location too in the capital city. The only disappointing bit about my stay is that I did not have wifi service for half of my time there. This was however a service provider issue and not a hotel issue. Apologies were made and a make shift router was set up in the lobby area at least. Unfortunately I did not have time to visit the casino or pool whilst there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Kavita D,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to know that you were pleased with our service, rooms and cleanness.

It's a great motivation for all our team members to know that you enjoyed in the best Hotel Crowne Plaza of the Caribbean. Unfortunately, we had problems with the internet, because the supplier of this service had a general breakdown in the area.

We apologize and appreciate your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay in Santo Domingo.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The staff at Crowne Plaza is wonderful. They always have smiles on their faces and greet you by name. We stay frequently and recommend Crowne Plaza to anyone visiting Santo Domingo. If you are a breakfast lover, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Maryj1989,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to know that you were pleased with our service, rooms and cleanness.

It's a great motivation for all our team members to know that you enjoyed in the best Hotel Crowne Plaza of the Caribbean.

We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay in Santo Domingo.


Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo

Address: Avenida George Washington 218, Santo Domingo 02890, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hotel V Centenario InterContinental)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#3 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo puts you in reach of the New World's fascinating history and the city s modern culture and nightlife. You can walk to the Colonial Zone, the Cultural Centre and the business district, and the main shopping areas are also close by. A 35-minute drive will take you to the Caribbean s best beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.