We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok hotel good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo to your Saves list
Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida George Washington 218, Santo Domingo 02890, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hotel V Centenario InterContinental)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 75 Hotels in Santo Domingo
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“ok hotel good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

if you want or need to stop in santo domingo you do not have many choices.
we choose 3 nights in the now called crowne plaza. people could not be nicer. room ( upgrade with terrace with confortable but had not been renovated for a while) the pool is worth the stay.
however the noise from the malecom is disturbing

Room Tip: balcony makes it nicer. none of them are quiet. nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest Annetteapproved,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments and we really appreciate the fact that you care to help us improve. We are sorry to hear you had a less than pleasant stay with us. At this time we are remodeling all areas of the hotel and the structure of the rooms is been completely renewed.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    125
    57
    25
    11
See reviews for
41
65
47
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Well located with Casine (only slot machines), good small pool area outside with sea-view. Small rooms and outdated bathroom. Hotel is changing name to Crown Plaza. Service is excellent and very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest DeKnoll,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments and we really appreciate the fact that you care to help us improve.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Recently stayed here two nights. Pleasant experience. Right on ocean front and all rooms have a partial view of ocean. Please note that the hotel is changing names. From March, 2013 it will be a Crowne Plaza. Breakfast Buffet is fabulous!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest Jerry B:

Thank you so much for your review of our Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service and our Ocean front accomodation fullpilled your expectations, given the fact it is one of our major attractions.

We will indeed change of name to Crowne Plaza, from April, 2013.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon at Santo Domingo.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Hotel located on tourist stretch of hotels across from the ocean (no ocean access due to corals and retaining wall along the Avenida George Washington. Hotel nice from the outside and lobby area. Rooms small, outdated furniture and decor (probably original from way back), bathroom outdated (need renovation), also need new carpet. Breakfast good choices but expensive (around 25 dollars per person). Outside the hotel nice walking along the ocean path, street vendors nearby selling food and drinks especially at night wher the area becomes alive. Lots of ice for drinks is used by original ice bags so safe to drink juices and coctails. Recomend to use bottled water even for brushing teeth. You can easily walk to old town (about 30 mins walk) and it is pretty safe even during night however best judgement prevails. You can also take taxi (10 mins) or drive to old town and park (parking might be a problem plus traffic is really bad, so recomend taxi - negotiate price before you go).

Old town is really great, lots of historic sites, restaurants some with outdoor cabanas, some accross from the oldest church, or accross the plaza/house where Christopher Columbus once lived. That plaza (former pirate enclave) was transformed into trendy restaurants and lofts. Lots os choices there and very alive and romantic and most of all safe around.

Room Tip: Higher the better, nice view and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest Pdokulil:

Thank you so much for your review of our Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It’s something our Staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback and them are on training all the time. Your experience "In The Know" local Culture, around the hotel is unique and fascinating.

We are pleased to hear that our Ocean front accomodation fullpilled your expectations, given the fact it is one of our major attractions.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,




Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times for business in the last decade. Its location is convenient. Lobby bar, restaurant and executive lounge were recently reburbished and are ok. However rooms remain as they were long time ago and need renewing. If you carry big luggage avoid staying on the top floor (15th) as lifts don't get up there. I rather prefer having a bite at the lobby instead of having a meal in the restaurant. Not impressed with the food. Staff is nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest GACH-travel:

Thank you so much for your review of our Hotel and We appreciated your visit from Peru. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service.

At this time we are remodeling all areas of the hotel and the structure of the rooms is been completely renewed.

We appreciated your comments and we hope to see you soon again!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here 20 years ago when it first opened, and nothing changed! Could use updates, but hotel was still in very good shape and well maintained.

Hotel offers great service, 24 hour room service. They serve classic Dominican food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Well I went to have my honeymoon and see the new year abroad for a change it was magical the concierge jenny was so nice keeping my husband company since I didn't arrived yet at the hotel the service was excellent he people was very nice I had a blast for my 5 days I didn't even want to leave

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Brndljason:

Thank you so much for your review of our Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It’s something our Staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback and them are on training all the time.

Thanks for choosing us!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo

Address: Avenida George Washington 218, Santo Domingo 02890, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hotel V Centenario InterContinental)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#3 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo puts you in reach of the New World's fascinating history and the city s modern culture and nightlife. You can walk to the Colonial Zone, the Cultural Centre and the business district, and the main shopping areas are also close by. A 35-minute drive will take you to the Caribbean s best beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.