We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok hotel good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo to your Saves list
Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida George Washington 218, Santo Domingo 02890, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hotel V Centenario InterContinental)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
185 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“ok hotel good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

if you want or need to stop in santo domingo you do not have many choices.
we choose 3 nights in the now called crowne plaza. people could not be nicer. room ( upgrade with terrace with confortable but had not been renovated for a while) the pool is worth the stay.
however the noise from the malecom is disturbing

Room Tip: balcony makes it nicer. none of them are quiet. nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest Annetteapproved,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments and we really appreciate the fact that you care to help us improve. We are sorry to hear you had a less than pleasant stay with us. At this time we are remodeling all areas of the hotel and the structure of the rooms is been completely renewed.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    172
    73
    32
    15
See reviews for
63
91
59
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Well located with Casine (only slot machines), good small pool area outside with sea-view. Small rooms and outdated bathroom. Hotel is changing name to Crown Plaza. Service is excellent and very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest DeKnoll,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments and we really appreciate the fact that you care to help us improve.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Recently stayed here two nights. Pleasant experience. Right on ocean front and all rooms have a partial view of ocean. Please note that the hotel is changing names. From March, 2013 it will be a Crowne Plaza. Breakfast Buffet is fabulous!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest Jerry B:

Thank you so much for your review of our Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service and our Ocean front accomodation fullpilled your expectations, given the fact it is one of our major attractions.

We will indeed change of name to Crowne Plaza, from April, 2013.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon at Santo Domingo.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times for business in the last decade. Its location is convenient. Lobby bar, restaurant and executive lounge were recently reburbished and are ok. However rooms remain as they were long time ago and need renewing. If you carry big luggage avoid staying on the top floor (15th) as lifts don't get up there. I rather prefer having a bite at the lobby instead of having a meal in the restaurant. Not impressed with the food. Staff is nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest GACH-travel:

Thank you so much for your review of our Hotel and We appreciated your visit from Peru. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service.

At this time we are remodeling all areas of the hotel and the structure of the rooms is been completely renewed.

We appreciated your comments and we hope to see you soon again!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here 20 years ago when it first opened, and nothing changed! Could use updates, but hotel was still in very good shape and well maintained.

Hotel offers great service, 24 hour room service. They serve classic Dominican food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Well I went to have my honeymoon and see the new year abroad for a change it was magical the concierge jenny was so nice keeping my husband company since I didn't arrived yet at the hotel the service was excellent he people was very nice I had a blast for my 5 days I didn't even want to leave

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Brndljason:

Thank you so much for your review of our Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It’s something our Staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback and them are on training all the time.

Thanks for choosing us!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I only stayed here for two nights, but I love Intercontinental Hotels so I really made it a point to stay here. It's a very nice hotel. I wish I could have stayed longer. The staff are extremely friendly. I spent almost an hour talking to the concierge and he was showing me a lot of photos. I appreciated that the staff spoke Spanish to me and did not just assume that because I don't look Dominican that I don't speak Spanish. One of the reasons I travel to Latin American countries is so I can maintain my Spanish. I didn't use most of the hotel amenities, but the rooms were clean and had fantastic views. There was a good selection of TV channels and a large desk and sofa. I thought the food prices and prices for the mini-bar were a little high, but I guess that's to be expected. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest Daniela 3883:

Thank you so much for your review of our Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It’s something our Staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback.

We will be sure to pass your kind words to Front Desk Staff, about your commets and service.

Its our commitment bringing an excelent service to InterContinental global Standards. Your comments makes us reaffirm "Great Hotels Guests Love" promise.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon in your next visit to Santo Domingo.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Domingo
1.0 mi away
Hilton Santo Domingo
Hilton Santo Domingo
#15 of 76 in Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 stars 766 reviews
3.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
#1 of 76 in Santo Domingo
5.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
2.5 mi away
Occidental El Embajador
Occidental El Embajador
#6 of 76 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
Holiday Inn Santo Domingo
#5 of 76 in Santo Domingo
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
99.3 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe
97.0 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo

Address: Avenida George Washington 218, Santo Domingo 02890, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hotel V Centenario InterContinental)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#6 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo puts you in reach of the New World's fascinating history and the city s modern culture and nightlife. You can walk to the Colonial Zone, the Cultural Centre and the business district, and the main shopping areas are also close by. A 35-minute drive will take you to the Caribbean s best beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.