We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo to your Saves list
Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida George Washington 218, Santo Domingo 02890, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hotel V Centenario InterContinental)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good location with views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a nice hotel overlooking the sea, I arrived pretty late but the front desk were happy to help with room service. The room was good with a nice view of the sea, but unfortunately no balcony which would have been a bonus. Bathrooms are pretty good if a little dated. Breakfast is a buffet however beware espresso coffee attracts a surcharge- this I always find very strange in a hotel of this standard. As always the please recycle towels made me laugh since the shower also ran the bath tap which was a bit ironic given the environmental piece!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Mr. Nickg450,

Thank you for your review and we appreciated your visit from England. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay through your positive comments about the great service received.
At “La Brasserie” restaurant, we serve a delicious Dominican Coffee which is included in the breakfast buffet cost. Additionally, we offer a recognized brand espresso coffee for an extra charge.

In the room we implemented a program called “save the planet “which allow to our guests to help us to save energy and avoid pollution letting us know the towels to be replaced. Through this program as part of our “Green Engage” program, we have reduced considerably water pollution and consumption plus energy associated with heating the water. In your next stay, we invite you to join us in this program and, in case that you need extra towels, do not hesitate to contact our Instant Service department.

Thanks again for your stay and we would appreciate that you reserve with us in a very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    134
    60
    27
    11
See reviews for
46
67
50
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

the atmosphere is great. the rooms were amazing and bathrooms are great with a boday... overall experience especially during a hurricane was great. however, we paid extra to get upgraded for $65 and that deal is not worth it...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Traveler Gemilka 79,

Thank you very much for your comments, We appreciated your opinion about our Hotel, Its very important to us your feedback.

Thanks for chossing us!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed here twice before and will stay there again. We brought friends again and recommended this hotel. We made it clear we wanted an ocean view and balcony for smoking. With all the smiles and friendly nature he selected our rooms. Offered to upgrade at a price to the suite but we said no. We are club members so always stay above the 10th floor so I can say what the lower rooms are like. BUT the rooms he booked not with a balcony so back we go to the desk to start the process again. Very annoying. I don't know if the guy spoke as much English at it appeared or if he really can't tell from his computer which rooms have balconies. Either way, changing it with friendly service doesn't make it right.
Then the lowest the air conditioner would get was 24. And would not cool the whole room to that. Sent a non-English tech at 8pm to fix it, said it was fixed, had the desk tell us in English it was fixed, but it wasn't. It was close enough to comfortable so we stayed. But not what we wanted again.
The place is updated, pool worked but drinks and food were slow to come. They could have sold more drinks if anybody came back to the table. Again, with my standards lowered a bit anymore, that was about right.
Food was okay.
So we'll probably stay again. Mainly because Marriott has that no smoking thing now. And even if they allow it somehow, it's typically by herding smokers to one floor with no balcony. I like their restaurants and casino better.
As others say, the people are great. But as teachers would often tell my folks, he tries real hard but misses too many questions to get a B.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest:

We appreciated your detailing comments, It's very important to us readed every kind aspect about InterContinental V Centenario Santo Domingo, its Public Areas, Rooms, Restaurants and our all services.

Our commiment wiht the Clients is to offer Quality Service and Excellence and providing excelent Foods, ambience and the Internet 's service 24 hours, like wise Room Service, Business Center and Gym. Evey details that you describe in your comments is the Vision of our Company, Great Hotels Guests Love and We are updating all the time the Services's Standards from IHG (InterContinental Hotels Group).

Thanks for choosing us and We hope that you come back to Santo Domingo, one Hotel awaits for you, InterContinental V Centenario Santo Domingo.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

stayed 5 nights for pleasure/business. Great central location on the Malecon. Offered and accepted upgrade to suite on Club floor $50 per night includes breakfast and cocktail hour, well worth it. hotel is not new but well maintained. the staff could not do enough to cater to my wife and I. Pool area small but will suffice.
will stay there again when visiting Santo Domingo in the future

Room Tip: Chose higher floors as the noise from the Malecon is quite loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have no comlaints at all,the staff were well trained and attentive. The Ac in the room worked great. The rooms were spotless, as well as the public areas. Sure i saw some areas that may need some physical attention,but nothing to detract from the overall experience. The pool area was great,very comfortable lounge chairs and nice bar area.Nice excercise room.
The hotel is located within walking distance to everything you need to see.i stayed at the Boutique Hotel Palacio on my last visit and preffered this hotel in all categories.very comfortable beds,good hotel ammenities, and great service

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Myall
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I love IC hotels,but it is not one of their best. It is a little tired. Staff are excellent and a great credit to the hotel. I was looked after well, very well, and would stay here next time. I stayed twice in the one week, and the bar fridge did not work in either room. Restaurant is fairly average too. Internet was slow in the room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest:

We appreciated your comments, It's very important to us. The Hotel have been remodelating and refreshing like wise their Public areas too. Thanks for chossing us !!

We hope that you stay with us in your next time.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel has not been renovated in a long time. it is dark, dirty, dingy, with humid and uncleaned carpets. Not a 5 star hotel by any stretch of the imagination, and certainly well below the quality expected at an Inter-Continental. Not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGS, Guest Service at Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guest:

We appreciated your comments, It's very important for us, because your situation will be investigate it .

We appologize for the inconvenients, InterContinental V Centenario Hotel had been renovated one year ago, Club InterContinental Floor, Presidential Suite and our publics areas are refreshing up and cleaning up all the time.

Thank you very much and We hope that when your come back to our Hotel your experience will be different.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo

Address: Avenida George Washington 218, Santo Domingo 02890, Dominican Republic (Formerly Hotel V Centenario InterContinental)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#3 Casino Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#7 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo puts you in reach of the New World's fascinating history and the city s modern culture and nightlife. You can walk to the Colonial Zone, the Cultural Centre and the business district, and the main shopping areas are also close by. A 35-minute drive will take you to the Caribbean s best beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Intercontinental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.