We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feeling” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Naco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Plaza Naco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Naco
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Presidente Gonzalez #10, esq. Tiradendes | NACO, Santo Domingo 30228, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 75 hotels in Santo Domingo
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mixed feeling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hi all,
i have mixed feeling after my stay in this Hotel.
The room was large and comfortable, the staff numerous and pleasant and the WIFI network nice and free, but several points were clearly an issue for me:
- the ventilation is a bit noisy, even with air conditioning stopped.
- no outside at all, no terrace, no patio, no garden.
- the swimming pool is closed and the work does not seem to make much progress(I hope I'm wrong but don't expect to swim there in the coming months)
- the restaurant place is very bad.There is no window, no light comes from the outside; the decor is mostly black and white with mirrors everywhere. This place is likely to give you the creeps.

As a conclusion, don't go to this hotel to enjoy any commodity, restaurant, swimming pool or bar... This makes the night rate a bit pricey all in all.

Regards
Sylvain

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPlazaNaco, E-Commerce at Hotel Plaza Naco, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. Our mission is to make your stay even better, so your feedback is very helpful for us. We will consider your comments, which help us to improve.

With regard to your observation, we inform you that the pool area is being remodeled, in fact, is almost complete. The pool area has a restaurant (Tropical Rest.) that for reasons of remodeling, was also closed. Our restaurant Tropical has a terrace and is designed specifically for what you would have preferred at your stay.

Our other restaurant, Resto Festival, is what we have currently open. This restaurant is more classic, that's why it has  that decoration.

Sorry about the inconvenience.

We guarantee that you will notice the changes when you return.

We hope to see you soon!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    35
    19
    6
    10
See reviews for
15
16
13
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel, like apart hotel with room, kitchen, living room, all new and clean.
Excellent hotel to stay for business or vacations, placed in a good district in Santo Domingo.
Very good breakfast, gym center, wifi and cleaning enviroment.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPlazaNaco, E-Commerce at Hotel Plaza Naco, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Italo

 
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. Our mission is to make your stay even better, so your feedback is very helpful for us. We will consider your comments, which help us to improve.

We hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Hotel Plaza Naco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiti
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Plaza Naco is a good value. The rooms are a nice size and the hotel is centrally located near malls and shopping plazas, etc. Breakfast is included but it isn't very good so I would pass on that next time I stay there. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed in this hotel overnight prior to proceeding inland for a mission trip. Was very happy with the accommodations which were very nice and comfortable. The food was very good and the service great. The pool was a very relaxing spot to spend the afternoon. The hotel is quiet which I do appreciate.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

If one hotel that when I travel to Dominican Republic I love to stay is Plaza Naco. I have stay in a bunch of other but nothing like Plaza NAco. The people there are special and really know how to treat thier hotel guest. Im thankful of the service that Elia Alvarado render to me and my group while our stay there. She is the best at what she does. I would recomend this hotel to anyone anytime.

Room Tip: Whatever room they give you you will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Former Clarion Hotel - not any longer.
Reservation was booked through our business network. This had been my second trip.
General a good basic hotel with all basi services.
Rooms are spaceous, with tiled floors only. King Size bed, very fomfortable. Nice apointed bathrooms with showers only. The hotel seems to renovate step by step. Therefore ask for the new rooms! Nevertheless some of those even have a little a moldy smell - thems the do not operate he central AC all the time, and when the climate ishumid the rooms are affected.
Pool are - old and no ambiance!
Restaurant with a small menue, staff could be friendlier - I felt like abmience is like in a former East German MITROPA restaurant.

For little more $$ you get better places!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel two weeks ago on my first trip to Santo Domingo while on weekend get-away with two friends. I frequently travel domestic and abroad for both business and pleasure and I have to say this was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff is friendly, warm and extremely service oriented. My room was large, clean, modern, with a very,very,very clean bathroom with great toiletries and the beds are VERY comfortable. If you are a first time traveler to DR and speak little or no Spanish I highly recommend this hotel. The staff speaks English; they can exchange currency for you; they have an easily accessible business center; and they have taxi's that are safe and will take you to where you need to go with no fuss.

I felt very cared for in Hotel Plaza Naco as if I were staying with family. Don't forget to say hello to Johnny and Alex they will ensure you are getting great service.

This hotel is great for both vacation stays and for business travelers as they have free Wi-Fi in all the rooms and around the hotel which is not common in most hotels when traveling abroad.
The breakfast buffet has a nice spread of fresh pastries, breads, an omelette bar, cereals, oatmeal, juices and other breakfast favorites like eggs, ham, cheeses, fruit, potatoes, traditional DR food, etc. There's also a quaint pastry cafe if you are looking for a lighter meal.

The hotel is located in the heart of Santo Domingo and a cab ride to get to the historic district. And cabs are very inexpensive. I think this a great hotel to stay in if you are looking for a great price with exceptional service. And if you are looking for "American type of accommodations" stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Plaza Naco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Naco

Address: Calle Presidente Gonzalez #10, esq. Tiradendes | NACO, Santo Domingo 30228, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Plaza Naco 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Plaza Naco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plaza Naco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.