We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Santo Domingo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Save Saved
You added Occidental El Embajador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Occidental El Embajador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Sarasota 65, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 73 hotels in Santo Domingo
Parkland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel in Santo Domingo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

After many years of constantly traveling to Santo Domingo, Occidental El Embajador is clearly the best hotel choice in Santo Domingo. Since the moment you arrive, friendly bell boys greet you with a smile and warm welcome.
I always choose to stay on the Royal Club Level which is located on the last two floors of the hotel which provide a great view of the city, pool and garden area, and a full view of the beatiful caribbean water coast. Extra perks include several hors d'oeuvres settings during the day as well as local drinks and beers.The best part of the Royal Club is the staff which are by far the most professional and friendliest people you can find at any hotel. They are always working hard to make sure that you feel like home.
The hotel is currently under a complete renovation. The new rooms are modern and comfortable, but maintain that classical look. The terrace on the Royal Club was just re-opened today and provides a great place to sip on that glass of wine at night while enjoying the carribean breeze.

Thank you to the Hotel Embajador and its fabulous staff for always making me feel like home!!!.

Room Tip: Always select room facing the ocean (south side). Not only will you have a great view, but you avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    118
    25
    24
    15
See reviews for
35
63
32
268
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel staff was very helpful and always available from the time I arrived through check out. The hotel is centrally located to all of Santo Domingo. The restaurant has a big variety of delicious food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. I highly recommend the Occidental El Embajador.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

First time I stayed at this hotel. I loved it, it is exactly what I need for my business trips to Sto. Domingo. Well located, excellent restaurants close by (3 minute walk), safe, clean and excellent service. It was worth every penny I paid.
The hotel was doing some renovation work and this did not bother at all, it was very well contained. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms above the 3rd. floor might have a better view, but they are all noise proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great location and cost price effective. I have stayed a couple times due to business and definitely I will come back. We stayed at the Executive floor, but later upgraded to the Royal one. (7).

Local Drinks and snacks (Salmon, cheese, ham, etc) are free at the Royal Lobby at the 8th floor. Two Conference Room are available for private meetings which you will need to book in advance. Food. You can't go wrong with great meals at this place.

If you are traveling with elders, I would keep an eye on the pool. It is slippery when wet in the surroundings. The Bar close to the pool provides a great variety of drinks.

Room Tip: Request a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My company organized a big business meeting at the Hotel Occidental Embajador. We had over 100 delegates from different countries in the Caribbean. The conference services were excellent. The food was delicious and the staff very friendly and efficient. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of very good restaurants. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I must say that the treatment me and my family received in El Embajador was one of the bests I´ve ever had. We were leaving the country after living in DR for more than 5 years and selected this hotel as our base while we were doing all the packing and move of our goods. It was a pleassure to arrive to this wonderful hotel for a relaxing time and a 10/10 service level.
We were in 6th floor, suite 615 and room 616 two connetcting rooms with 3 bathrooms in total (perfect for a family of 5 like mine). People at the front desk and the 5th floor (executive floor reception) were outstanding, with a very professional but at the same time warm approach.
My recomendation for everyone visiting this city full of contranst.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We last stayed here in July 2012 and quite frankly, I was not ready to come back again. However, this hotel is in a very convenient location for us, so we decided to try again. I have got to say that it has vastly improved. We reserved the executive floor room, which is well worth it. They have a good selection of breakfast items and the wait staff (except for one) has vastly improved their service. At breakfast, they will serve you iced water (safe to drink) without charge. However, be aware, that unlike most executive floors, you have to pay for bottled water ($1.00 per bottle). Not sure how much the beer and other beverages were, as we only bought the water. Our room this time was impeccable. The first room they gave us was loud as they were having a wedding party, but they were very helpful, and transferred us to an impeccable room, we even had a welcome tray of fruit and water & 2 chairs on the porch (yay!). The room was quiet and lovely. No problems with the bed either! They have finally gotten it that most travelers like wash towels and are supplying these (at least in the room we got). We got full amenities in our bathroom which had a tub/shower plus a walk in shower. We ate at Las Porchas and this time got very good service, which was also a vast improvement from last year. You must try the chicharrones de pollo with tostones, oh, so good here! Careful if you order a club sandwich, as they sometimes confuse it with a kind of ham and cheese sandwich vs. a true club, you need to specify. Also, if you want to eat by the pool you will have to move to a table by the pool bar, which is an understandable policy for cleanliness, etc. but don't expect to eat right at your pool lounge chair. Thanks to the management for improving the rooms and service.
Also, thank you to Christopher Hamra, Food and Beverage Manager, for the lovely fruit tray when we switched rooms. We will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Occidental El Embajador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental El Embajador

Also Known As:
Occidental El Embajador Hotel Santo Domingo
Occidental El Embajador Santo Domingo
Occidental El Embajador Hotel
Address: Avenida Sarasota 65, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#3 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental El Embajador 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Occidental El Embajador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental El Embajador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.