We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel in the old and new tradition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental El Embajador

Save Saved
You added Occidental El Embajador to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Occidental El Embajador
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Sarasota 65, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 73 hotels in Santo Domingo
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great hotel in the old and new tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A few words to describe our fine staying experience at the Occidental Embajador hotel in the capital city of Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

My wife insists that we come here at least twice a year when we visit family, friends and associates, as well as for a short R & R period for both of us. This hotel has a long and magnificent reputation in the tradition of being one of the first and most outstanding installations of its kind in the entire Caribbean area.

We found the Embajador to be a good combination of business, tourist and family hotel.

This time we came for a large, outdoor, evening, formal wedding celebration. Attendees were from all ages, young and not so young. All were extremely happy, and in our opinion was all a great success.

We were very much impressed by the magnificent grounds and the impressive flora and fauna located with in its enormous land area.

Food and beverages were outstanding in every respect. Quality, ambiance, presentation and service were outstanding.

enrique and amalia garcia

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director of Sales at Occidental El Embajador, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Enrique,

It was a pleasure serving you and your wife during your stay with us.
As you mentioned, Occidental El Embajador has been over the years the Iconic and most Emblematic hotel of the city of Santo Domingo for 57 years.
I am glad you noticed and got to enjoy our beautiful green areas and excellent international cuisine. Once again, thank you so much for this critic and for sharing it to others.
Hoping to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    118
    25
    24
    15
See reviews for
35
63
32
268
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at this classic hotel where I had stayed before and quality remains as one of the highlights. The rooms are well kept but age is starting to show in the 3rd floor. Very clean and fantastic service. The breakfast buffet has lowered in quality a bit, service was not to the standard that they had before. In the other hand the main restaurant was very good, the lady chef from Mexico came to our table to hear our opinion on her food, it was a great experience. I hope one day to see the suite where the classic "The Godfather"movie was filmed. The pool area and bar are fantastic!

Room Tip: Rooms in the extreme wings are the quietest, ask for the ones ending in 44 or 45.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director of Sales at Occidental El Embajador, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Ricardo,

Thanks for taking your time to write about your experience at our Hotel Occidental El Embajador.
It’s a pleasure for me to announce you, that we already started a total renovation of our property. I will be glad to share your comments with our staff and we just hope to serve again in a near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The El Ebajador Hotel is one of the finest hotels in the city of Santo Domingo. If you want to enjoy yourself and really feel like royalty you must spend an additional $50.00 per night and reserve a room on the 5th & 6th floors, otherwise known as the Consierge Suits. If you are looking for a good casino, make sure to stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy yourself and really feel like royalty you must spend an additional $50.00 per n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director of Sales at Occidental El Embajador, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear SDk Florida,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us. We were thrilled to hear that you had an excellent experience at our Executive Floors. The private concierge service is popular among Executive guests, I’m sorry if you did not find enough entertainment in the Casino, however we have great night clubs close by our hotel.
It was a pleasure serving you and hope to see you in a near future.
Thanks for visiting Occidental El Embajador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashqelon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel lobby looks impressive but that is the only thing.
The stuff are arrogant and not very helpful.
The girls in the business center on groud floor were helpful.the breakfast is the only light in the hotel. Great buffet.
The rooms are large but old and one can see that many years have past since last renovation
Beds are ok and large.
Very dark and the only proper light source is the window.
Empty balcony that could be a great location.
When I receive the room it looks like no one leave there for a while.
TV was not connected to the Cable TV no water bottles mkinibar was locked shampo feels sticky and was not replaced although the used bottles were half empty.
When taking there welcome drink the bar girl let you feel unwanted as a gust.
For a hotel that claims to be four or five stars it needs to try more.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director of Sales at Occidental El Embajador, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Mr. Abasher,

We are sorry to hear about your experience with us. What concerns me most is your feedback about the service in our Reception. We pride ourselves on our service, and it is upsetting to hear that we did not met your expectations. .
I am happy to hear that you found our breakfast great and that our Business Center service was just excellent. . Also I will like to inform you that at the moment we are renovating our rooms. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity so you can experience our great service and updated décor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The second i landed in the airport of Las Americas i immediately fell in love with the Dominican Republic. I planned a roadtrip around the island for 12 days and my first stop was Santo Domingo.
I decided to Stay in El Embajador and it was definitely the right choice. LAURA BERROA, from the executive floor, was such a sweetheart and extremely accommodating... I seriously wanted to taker her in my pocket, she was such a great help in so many ways! The buffet breakfast was fantastic ( i love love love dominican oatmeal) and our server, Jency, was beyond friendly. He always made me smile!
One of my biggest concerns was the wifi, but this hotel had an excellent connection and i was able to facetime everynight without a glitch. The rooms certainly look a little run down/old but i know i wasnt in the Dominican Republic to stay in the rooms all day, so i didnt really care all that much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director of Sales at Occidental El Embajador, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Mrs. Amanda,


We are thrilled to hear that your Occidental experience and that the Dominican Republic met your expectations!!!
Also thank you so much for taking the time to write about it and noticing about our great service and the staff who served you.

Hoping to see you again in a near future!

It was a pleasure serving you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very nice hotel, clean, great food, good service, i loved it. By the way very wide lovely lobby. The backyard is one of the prettiest places ever. Very quite. Looks like paradise. I loved every moment there. I have this hotel on my top list.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director of Sales at Occidental El Embajador, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Mrs. Faridd,


Thank you so much for such a high punctuation and for you great review regarding your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in a near future, and it was a pleasure serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This should be your go to place for business if in Santo Domingo.

Good service, attention to customer needs and helo to organize event.

Food was ok and on time as needed.

Good accomodations that helped for the team to focus on the event.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora147289, Director of Sales at Occidental El Embajador, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
. Dear Mrs. Ana,

First of all, thank you so much for the excellent ranking and for sharing your comments regarding your stay at Occidental El Embajador.

It was a pleasure serving you and we hope to assist you in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Occidental El Embajador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental El Embajador

Also Known As:
Occidental El Embajador Hotel Santo Domingo
Occidental El Embajador Santo Domingo
Occidental El Embajador Hotel
Address: Avenida Sarasota 65, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
#1 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#3 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental El Embajador 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Occidental El Embajador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental El Embajador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.