We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to end our vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Las Damas , Ciudad Colonial | Cuidad Colonial, Santo Domingo 11109, Dominican Republic (Zona Colonial)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Santo Domingo
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“A great way to end our vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

After days at a resort on a beach the night that we spent at the Hotel de Ovando was a perfect end to our trip. The hotel was gorgeous, exactly what I expected of an old city. I found myself admiring its architecture, flowers and old town feel with limited modern touch. After dinner in town our night ended perfectly with a treat in our room. It was a peaceful environment filled with great character.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback wether it's negative or positive.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we hope to welcome you back in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Thomas Simonnet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    161
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
73
191
40
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Extremely beautiful hotel at a prime location near food, shopping and history. The staff is friendly and the maids clean beautifully. The breakfast was absolutely incredible and had everythin from cereal to lox. The pool is pretty and overlooks a harbor. If you can avoid don't order food by the pool, just drinks. The other resturaunt is really good and the chocalate souffle is so good. The gym is small and cool with 4 machines and weights, this is a really good hotel!

Room Tip: Go for the colonial room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Is an honor for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. Our team is in constant training for the improvement of our services, is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from our guests, not only of the hotel, but also the Colonial City.

I really appreciate your words about your experience with us and waiting for your next visit as enjoyable as the previous.

Yours sincerely,

Thomas SIMONNET
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The beautiful colonial home, now hotel is a gorgeous spot to overnight while in Santiago. Within walking distance of old town, you will enjoy your stay both while at the hotel and while exploring it's surroundings. My room was stunning, complete with all details that make a stay memorable. The fitness center is clearly an after thought here, but find a way to enjoy it as the breakfast will be more enjoyable. We had dinner the evening before and I have to admit this was the lowest point of my stay, my fish soup was incredibly salty, but everybody else seemed to enjoy their meal and the service was outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, Manager at Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback wether it's negative or positive.
I'm very surprise about your experience at our restaurant La Résidence, which is, I can assure you not an habit in our hotel and doesn't reflect our standards of service.
Be ensured that I will personally handle this matter with the Chef and the cooks and that your feedback will help us to correct our failures and get better as we strive to continuously improve
the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we hope your next visit will be make fully satisfied.

Sincerely,

Erwan DAUSSY
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City UT
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was my second visit to the Ovando property and it never fails to please. What a beautiful property with great character. It is a step back in time and is located on the oldest street in the New World for those of us with European heritage. The hotel is located in a very old structure with 30" thick stone walls. It is located on the oldest street in the city, Calle Las Dammes. It is only steps away from the home of Columbus, the monument to Columbus and the oldest church in the Americas built in 1502.

The hotel staff is very friendly and the rooms are comfortable with modern comforts without loosing the old world feel. The pool area is comfortable and a great place to unwind with a drink at the end of a busy day. Many great restaurants and night clubs are with a few minutes walk.

When is Santo Domingo, make sure you visit this hotel. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Most all rooms are very dark and quiet making for a great nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thomas Simonnet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We booked through American Airlines Travel Vacations and booked lowest room rate with full breakfast. The room was great and much better for us than the more expensive rooms. Mainly because there was a balcony that overlooked the water and cruiseships. You can sit outside. The room had a lot of light compared to the Colonial room. Booking thru AA and having breakfast included saved us a lot of money. The breakfast bar was great. Santo Domingo was very expensive and there is a 18percent tax plus a 10percent tip on all bills for eating out. The waiters will tell you that the tip is not the ten percent but it is. A concern we had ...was all the windows in the whole area had bars on them to keep out burglars. It appears that the native Dom. Rep. People are not making the high money like the tourist industry owners. Everyone that we spoke to told us to be careful while walking, or with our money. Not normally a place I would go to too relax because of the safety issues and always feeling like someone is going to rip you off. We drove to Punta Cana and on highway you see many guys with shotguns on side in the fields.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here in February for three nights for work. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are excellent. Very good sleeps, comfortable bed and great bathroom. Had loads of space and enjoyed waking up here and coming back after work. Food at the breakfast buffet was very good and service as well. Also when I would come down in the morning I could get a fresh pot of coffee and some hot milk to bring back to the room while I dressed, you can't beat that and the coffee was superb. Location to downton was good and easy walk to everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thomas Simonnet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SXM
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just return from this hotel last night. Must admit its a nice hotel. There was a few problems such as there is no Internet in the rooms you have to come up stairs around the pool or the bar area and also the breakfast is very very expensive. We paid US 30 a person for Breakfast. Thats very expensive. As they advertise it 20US but they add the taxes. We did the breakfast 1 time and that was it. We went to the Mercure and other small cafe for a cheaper breakfast which was only $6 a person which is a normal price. My advise to them is make the breakfast more affordable or include it at an affordable cost. However all in all the hotel is nice and the rooms are well clean and also the grounds. Also you have to becareful if you are walking back late at nights as i was attacked by 3 dogs. I had to pull a parking sign otherwise i would have been bitten by the dogs. I did went and complain to the front desk and they said they will look into the matter but the next night the dogs were back. This is a 5 star hotel and they have stray dogs outside and thats not nice.

Room Tip: Room 2023 is a nice big room. It comes with a sofa and a nice huge king size bed. However there is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando.
I will share your comments with our team.
I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
On behalf of the taxes, the 18% is our legal goverment tax and the 10% is the legal tip, both of them are standarized and obligated in every service and tourist companies.
Like in all big cities, streets dogs are part of the enviroment, but we will send the message to the municipal office about their behavior.

Thanks a lot for writing your experience, and we hope to welcome yoou back in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Thomas Simonnet,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection

Address: Calle Las Damas , Ciudad Colonial | Cuidad Colonial, Santo Domingo 11109, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#3 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#4 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection 1*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the colonial quarter of Santo Domingo, set among remarkable buildings, stands the Nicolas de Ovando hotel, the former home of the Governor of the same name, a contemporary of Christopher Colombus. Built on the first paved street of the New World, where beautiful Spanish ladies strolled to display their rich costumes, the hotel's guests will enjoy an outstanding stay in a unique place where the stones, patios and fountains will take you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Nicolas De Ovando-Mgallery Hotel Santo Domingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Nicolas de Ovando Santo Domingo - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.