We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location but needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Jaragua Hotel and Casino

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Jaragua Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Renaissance Jaragua Hotel and Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. George Washington 367 | Apto. Postal 769-2, Santo Domingo 10102, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #28 of 73 hotels in Santo Domingo
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great service and location but needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

First, let me preface my review and say that I am an experienced Caribbean traveler and I do not expect US standards when visiting. This was my first trip to SD so I do not have another property to compare the Renaissance to. However, a hotel of this size and grandeur needs a serious facelift. Emerald green carpet, old TV's, and a very dated bathroom greeted me upon check-in but I took it all in stride. The staff was exceptional, and my room attendants were awesome...after returning to my room I found my makeup and toiletries organized. The nightly turn down service with complimentary bottled water and chocolate were a welcome addition. My room rate included the breakfast buffet which was very good, offering traditional American and a few Dominican favorites. The omelet station and fresh squeezed juices were the highlights. Food at the hotel is quite expensive so I do not recommend eating any meals there other than breakfast. The poolside grill had more economical options but were still expensive. It's also important to note the 16% and 10% service charge and tax added on to every order which is common in many of the restaurants. The pool area is large with adequate lounges and private cabanas for guest enjoyment. Wifi was strong and speedy albeit expensive ($17 per day). Overall it was a pleasant stay but I would consider other options in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    103
    102
    56
    30
See reviews for
47
78
45
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The last time I was in this hotel, (before this more recent trip of Oct 2012) it was in 2001. The hotel was splendid, Grand, and it was THE place to be in Santo Domingo, right on the "boulevard Malecon". It is stll on the Malecon, but it is the place NOT to be. Yes, it is the very same hotel as when I stayed there, meaning that NOTHING has changed. The carpet (though clean) shows its age beyond what one would expect in a hotel carrying the Marriott name. The furniture is still the same, and the curtain in the bathroom is more what one would expect in a 2-star. Don't get me wrong: the rooms are still clean, spacious, but everything is so old that it's almost depressing, lik an old belle who refuses to retire... LOL. The TV is the same old bulky thing that they sold back in the 90s.

I was supposed to be there for 4 nights. Checked out the very next day to go to another glorious facility (that I will review later). Nonetheless, the view on the sea is still worth something. I arrived just after hurricane Sandy had shaken the island, so the sea was a dirty brown. But it was still great to watch nature's elements fighting for their own space. I wanted to cram some more nights on my Marriott Rewards account. The service was excellent and did remind of a Marriott. With my gold reward membership status, I had free breakfast (a very substantial buffet), and free internet (not sure they would have been free for any guest). So, by and large, it was a good stay "overall", but i wuldn't go back any time soon. But being in a depressing room, that is closer to a large Motel 6 suite than a Marriott room didn't cut it for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Valley, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This review title is carefully chosen. You cannot go to Santo Domingo and expect Paris, London, or even Los Angeles quality, much less Swiss quality. The DR is not there yet, at least in the Capital, and very likely never will be. The DR has its charms, it's own "personality", which many have fallen in love with. But the highest level of service in the hospitality industry is unknown. It is undoubtedly a challenge for a "quality" hotel chain to meet its normal standards in the DR, and the Jaragua is no exception. All that said, if the location suits you, it is hard to beat this hotel in Santo Domingo, and if you are flexible with your stay-dates, the Jaragua can also be an excellent value-for-money proposition.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

On our recent trip to Santo Domingo we stayed at hotel Jaragua and were very grateful to have chosen it. We loved returning to our air conditioning, soft white beds and peace and quiet. We signed up for the "club" room too, which gave us access to a plentiful breakfast buffet, snacks during the day and a light dinner in the evening as well as a nice assortment of desserts from 8 to 10. All of this for just an extra $30 US Dollars a day for three people. Definitely worth it! We ate lunch out each day, and as that is usually the largest meal of the day there, it worked out great. We used the pool several times as well, which was a welcome relief from walking through the hot streets. The staff was friendly, spoke excellent English, and very helpful with all our questions regarding transportation, money exchange, and advice on things to do. I found the city to be a little challenging, but we were visiting my daughter who speaks Spanish, so we had it pretty easy for the most part. The hotel could use some minor updates in a few areas, but compared to what you saw walking around town, it was like going back to paradise. The location is great, as it is close to the safest part of town, the cutest restaurants, a movie theater, and shopping. It looked like there were a few large conventions happening there as well, and we even got to see the most beautiful wedding take place in the garden. We popped into the Hilton, which was down the street one morning to look around, and even though it was more modern, it didn't have the beautiful grounds, water features and overall spaciousness of the Jaragua. My daughter, originally recommended it as she found the staff very helpful when she had questions when first arriving in Santo Domingo as a student, and she wasn't even staying there as a guest. Now that is a sign of a great hotel!

Room Tip: The 9th floor of the tower. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent three nights at this location. When I arrived, the drive up to the main entrance gave a positive impression of the property. The lobby area was clean and checkin quick. However, as you enter the elevator, you can see the wear and tear in the doors and floor. I was on the sixth floor. The hallway carpet had signs of age with visible stains. Entering the room, it definitely shown signs of age and required a face lift. The bathroom floor tiles was old and need regrouting. The hair dryer wires appeared to be severed and then reattached with the electrical insulation covers visible. Not the usual Renaissance one would expect.

However, the beds were comfortable, towels and linens clean. Bathroom amenities were not fully replaced daily. Air conditioning and hot water supply had no issues. Called for room service one of the nights and meal came within 15 minutes, breakfast on mornings adequate for about USD20.00 buffet option. The landscaping was maintained and also the pool area. It costs about USD5.00 or 200Pesos to go one-way to Colonial Zone from that hotel. So, careful as the taxis try to overcharge you as a tourist.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

You can tell as soon as you see the Jaragua that it was once a very nice hotel. The lobby and restaurants have been kept up to date, but our room needed updating, particularly the bathroom. The tiles were old and needed regrouting, etc. Bed was super comfy. A+ on the bed and bedding.

The service was some of the best I've ever experienced. From the moment we stepped in the door, all of the staff memebers we encountered couldn't have been more gracious and helpful. Staff spoke both spanish and english. We were greeted by everyone.

Chocolates every evening. We had a problem with the key in the minibar. We had a replacement within 15 minutes. We ate at the hotel restaurant for the lunch buffet and the food was delicious. Well prepared from soup through dessert. Pool not deep or huge, but well maintained.

Room Tip: Definitely go with the tower with an ocean view. Upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Excellent staff, very friendly the guys at the Blue Bar are the best bartenders that I had meet. The names are Bladimir Nolasco and Reynaldo Gil give them a AAA+++. Try the sancocho a local dinner the best sancocho in Santo Domingo. Ask for the taxi driver Eladio very nice and respectful man he treat us like his sons.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Jaragua Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Jaragua Hotel and Casino

Also Known As:
Renaissance Jaragua Hotel Santo Domingo
Renaissance Jaragua Hotel
Renaissance Santo Domingo
Santo Domingo Renaissance
Address: Av. George Washington 367 | Apto. Postal 769-2, Santo Domingo 10102, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Jaragua Hotel and Casino 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Jaragua Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Jaragua Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.